We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (286)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
212
34
17
7
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
212
34
17
7
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch jacket potato cakes sandwich lemon meringue welsh rarebit cafe today safe environment excellent cafe pot of tea food is excellent booked a table gazebo huts fiona christmas
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 December 2023

Just tried to book a table for 2 people for coffee and cake for tomorrow as per instructions on the website which states bookings are to be made 24 hours before. I tried using the online booking form which doesn't work. When I finally got...through I was spoken to by a very curt and unhelpful lady. I know its a busy time of the year but Customer service should be pleasant all year round.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Hello, we are disappointed to hear your review. We are sorry to hear the booking form on our website wasn't working when you tried to book, we will certainly look into this.

Reviewed 9 December 2023

A lovely time with my mum and dad at the woodlands garden centre on Wednesday we all had turkey stuffing and cranberry panini was delicious and excellent quality the staff also were very attentive, my Mum and myself attended the wreath making workshop where you...get a hot drink of your choice and choice of cakes , what a lovely afternoon we had making our wreaths the lady who ran the workshop made it so enjoyable can't recommend it enough and can't wait to return!! Thank you for a lovely experience we really enjoyed it !! And our wreaths look fantastic!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Hello, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our garden centre and enjoyed one of our festive wreath workshops. Please send us a photo of your wreath, we'd love to see! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 November 2023

Called today for breakfast, having been several times before my husband choose the big breakfast and I choose the smaller one, excellent quality of food so tasty! We also had coffee which was up there with the best I’ve tasted and in a mug which...I love, would definitely recommend eating here. Staff are very accommodating and pleasantMore

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Hello, we're glad to hear you both enjoyed your breakfast with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 October 2023

The Woodworks cafe is by far my favourite place to go for lunch and/or just to meet friends for coffee. It’s so popular that booking is definitely advisable to save disappointment, but I should point out that the staff do their utmost to accommodate those...who do decide to go on the off-chance. You can eat in, or if you prefer to eat outside surrounded by greenery there are a number of lovely gazebos to choose from. I have been going for a good number of years and have never failed to receive a warm welcome from the management and staff. In fact I’m greeted like an old friend now, and since the lockdowns it’s not unusual to get a phone call from the manager, Fiona, to check if everything is ok. She started doing it then and still does when she’s noticed I’ve not been in for a few weeks. This is so thoughtful, touching and very much appreciated. To access the cafe you have to walk through a fabulous gift shop which is certainly worth a look around! A member of staff always escorts you to your table and then advises as to the delights of that particular day’s specials, which are of course in addition to their usual fare. A particular favourite of mine; a baked jacket potato - which is a proper oven-baked potato, not a microwaved one! - is offered with a range of fillings and always comes with a generous portion of freshly prepared side salad. My favourite coffee, a latte, is always served hot and strong, and they even do a loyalty card! Collect 7 stamps and you get the 8th tea or coffee free. Brilliant. They offer a fabulous choice of cakes, but without doubt the freshly made scones are definitely *the* ones to order as far as I’m concerned, either to eat in or to take away for later. The scones come with portions of butter, jam and a pot of delicious clotted cream. The ambience there is really lovely, and the place is always spotlessly clean. I’ve never once sat down at one of their tables that has needed cleaning. Cutlery is brought to the table once the order has been taken - I only mention this because a personal dislike of mine is seeing cutlery in pots already on the table! In all the years I’ve been going nothing has ever been too much trouble for the lovely staff no matter how busy they are. I’ve always received service with a smile and a friendly attitude. Lastly, for anyone who likes the welcome of a log fire, well this is definitely the place to go, especially as it’s getting close to that time of the year when a blazing log fire will be burning away in their huge log burner. The quality and quantity of the food served here, together with the always warm and friendly welcome from the hardworking staff is more than enough for me to keep returning as often as I do.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. It is always a delight to welcome you and it always brightens our day seeing you. We will share this with the team and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 26 September 2023 via mobile

A nice relaxed atmosphere with a menu for all tastes using locally sourced produce, whatever we chose it's always of top quality and really tasty with ample potions. The Woodworks Cafe team are always very obliging, friendly and always give us a great welcome. It's...very popular with a respected reputation, so booking is always recommended, Mold is a thriving couny town and Woodworks Cafe is certainly one of the jewels in the crown! Well done to all at Woodworks Cafe!! Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 20 September 2023 via mobile

Visited this place with family were were visiting. The shop area before go in was lovely. Then you hit the cafe area and what can I say. The lady that took us to our table was miserable. We sat near the kitchen area only to...hear staff bickering not something I wanted my young family members to hear. Staff not happy which the atmosphere spilt out into the cafe area. It’s a shame the lady overseeing the cafe seemed to be the problem according to the staff well that’s what we heard! The food was ok though overpriced or the quantity you got but apparently local produce is expensive. Given we had visited on recommendation I wouldn’t bother again purely that I don’t want to sit and listen to work place issues on my weekend breakMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

We are disappointed to read your review, would you be kind enough to confirm the date of your visit so we can investigate your comments and ensure this never happens again. Many thanks

Reviewed 15 September 2023

Booked a table for lunch, arrived on time, no-one seemed interested in taking our order so we left. Also a very noisy environment.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Thank you for your comments. Having investigated this the member of staff has assured me that she did acknowledge your table, letting you know she would be with you shortly, after taking an order from a table already in. We do not like to rush...More

Reviewed 11 September 2023

Lunch in The Orangery on Saturday 9/9/23. Chose two course menu for £25. I had beef ragu which was average. My wife had seafood pappardelle. Very disappointing - 3 prawns, no pollock and little salmon.Looked as if they had missed off the sauce so pasta...was dry. left two thirds of it. We have been coming here for 15 years as we live in west cornwall. Only second time in Orangery and disappointing both times. Food was better in old restaurant as was the value for money. No point in investing in new facilities if the standard of the food you offer has declined significantly. Suggest you review your food offering and the kitchen staffing, it's not good enough currently. We won't be back in a hurry!!!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Hello, we think you may have left this review on the wrong page. We are The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe based in Mold, North Wales. If you are ever near us, please do call in.

Reviewed 23 August 2023

Called one morning for breakfast with daughter on way back from a early hospital appointment. Really quiet and probably due to the price increases! To be fair everywhere is doing the same I see, but there will come a point in time whereby something will...have to give out eventually… both myself and daughter ordered a breakfast Bap ( have had in the past and was spot on) but this occasion although stated a bap on Menus… we received sliced bread instead? Bread tasted awful! Really cheap doughy bread! The fact that their prices are up and also not a true description of the menu items… perhaps would have been better had they used a good quality sourdough instead if substituting the said bap! I did not say anything at the time ( staff are very pleasant tbf ) but if I were to return I would now ask on ordering if it would be the bap as advertised and not cheap sliced bread.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2023

We are sorry to read your review, sadly yes our prices have increased but you can be rest assured the quality of our products remain the same. I believe that your order was taken incorrectly, as we have sourdough buns available daily. Thank you for...More

Reviewed 1 August 2023

I’m usually a big fan of the Woodworks Cafe, but I went last week and was so disappointed. The quality of the food was average, they’ve put their prices up, and now they no longer use free-range eggs. The service is still friendly, always a...plus point. I won’t be returning unfortunately.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2023

Hi Suzanne, sadly with the raising costs of everything, we like other businesses have had to act accordingly, we continue to support local suppliers but with that comes a cost. We had to change our choice of eggs due to the lack of availability and...More

Reviewed 9 July 2023

Been here before, for breakfast. That was absolutely brilliant. Today, however popped in for coffee and cake. Service was excellent , we were offered a seat within minutes and served within 5 mins. My apple pie was lovely. The garden centre itself is a bit...different than others as it has more than just garden furniture . It specialises in lots of other wood products such as sheds and wooden containers for plants and trellis as well. This garden ctre is 11 miles away from where I live but well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Hi Alan, Thank you for such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 July 2023 via mobile

Came for a Saturday lunch with a friend. We sat outside in one of the gazebos, it was a pleasant experience. We both had jacket potatoes, then we both had gluten free scones with jam and clotted cream. I will be returning.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2023

Hi Bethan, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 28 May 2023

Thought we would give Sunday roast a try here as I visit often for breakfast or lunch…. Slightly disappointed… no choice but what small amount we had was ok… didn’t get asked if we wanted desert so we just paid and left.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2023

Hello, we are sorry to hear about your experience on your last visit to the cafe. We hope that this won't affect any further visits. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 27 April 2023

We were on a day trip here we called at the cafe for a hot drink and noticed they did Sunday lunch so we booked a table for later in the day we returned and had a delicious roast beef lunch I had lemon meringue...pie for my pudding and I have to say it was probably the best I've ever tasted! The staff were very pleasant and friendly they made you feel welcome I highly recommend it!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2023

Hi Chris, thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the lemon meringue pie as much as we love it. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 25 April 2023

Visited the cafe today, the food and service were both 10/10! All staff helpful and friendly. The food tasted absolutely amazing as well as being presented gorgeously!

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P & A Group, Owner at The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2023

Great photos! Thank you for such a lovely review. We're glad to hear you had a lovely visit and we hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Beufort Park Hotel
21 reviews
1.76 miles away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1,265 reviews
1.81 miles away
Plas Ifan Hotel & Restaurant
20 reviews
1.90 miles away
Plas Hafod Hotel
481 reviews
1.95 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Parivaar
448 reviews
.75 miles away
Pen Y Bont Farm
1,271 reviews
.58 miles away
Deadwood Smokehouse
321 reviews
.75 miles away
Queens Head Mold
207 reviews
.63 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mold Market
55 reviews
.87 miles away
St Mary's Church
22 reviews
.82 miles away
Bailey Hill
38 reviews
.92 miles away
Infunity
39 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
hylarid
27 October 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheWoodworksGC | Property representative |
Hello, booking is always advised to avoid disappointment. However, we will always do the best that we can to find you a table if you haven't booked. Bookings can be made via our website.
0
Votes
PercyAdv
18 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheWoodworksGC | Property representative |
Hi, yes we welcome dogs. Although dogs are only allowed to sit in the outdoor areas of our cafe. I hope this helps. We look forward to seeing you and your furry friend.
0
Votes
j p
2 May 2015|
Answer
Response from TheWoodworksGC | Property representative |
Hello, really sorry but we are a Garden Centre & Café and unfortunately don't have a swimming pool. I think you may have contacted the wrong profile. Thank you.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE WOODWORKS GARDEN CENTRE AND CAFE, Mold - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe

Yes, The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Woodworks Garden Centre and Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4