We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
82
59
21
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
82
59
21
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak vegan burger sunday roast yorkshire pudding parsnips pot roast coleslaw pie chicken overlooking the river both meals were excellent ordered baguettes open mic night welcoming smile good selection of ales outside seating new chef
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off here on our way to Hereford with a 5 year old and a large dog and the lady behind the bar could not have been nicer. Great menu as well. Also does coffee and muffins. Nice location by the river.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gayle M
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Early for an appointment, I popped in here for a coffee to pass some time. Honestly, £3.60 for a lukewarm latte, what a ripoff.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank N101e10
Reviewed 23 November 2018 via mobile

This is a strange review in that we did not actually come into the pub. We had just arrived for a short holiday break and decided to grab some fish and chips next door. We sat at a large bench in front of the pub/takeaway...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Coastal45606195094
Reviewed 15 November 2018

looks nice on the surface but décor is tatty Meals were to expensive for a average pub Drinks a little dear and don't feel the service was great

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank familyunitedkingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We went for a drink with a view to eating. A large group had put together some tables. When they left they didn't put the tables back. The landlady blew a fuse shouting and complaining about how rude they were. It was very unsettling and...More

Date of visit: September 2018
4  Thank briane145
Two_IC_PR, Public Relations Manager at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

I see from your tag that you are from Monmouth! You posted on 6 November. I find it very strange to report that the Landlady you refer to has not, due to family illness and subsequent bereavement, had any dealings with the pub since late...More

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Came in here for a beer and a wine. We recieved good service, happy. Located just by the gatehouse brigde on the river monnow.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank rayrest
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

On arrival went up to counter to be served lovely day asked if we could sit outside to eat and we were told no food as there was no chef what does one say staff cut back on wages very poor i expect no wonder...More

Date of visit: October 2018
4  Thank SHIRLEY P
Two_IC_PR, Public Relations Manager at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

The kitchen could be, and was, closed for numerous reasons. Who the hell are you to even comment on this on the basis of speaking with great authority on a subject you know jack s"£t about. You were informed the kitchen was closed upon enquiry,...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely setting on the riverside and a nice outdoor seating area, great in the sunshine, sadly the day we visited the chef was off sick so no food available which was the reason we’d gone there, fortunately a very nice chippy next door!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rob170217
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

The food was amazing with lovely little flourishes that made it even more tasty! Really good attention to detail everywhere in the pub as well as with the food. The helpful and friendly staff also made it a really nice experience. Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Matt H
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful. We took our puppy as they are also a dog friendly pub and the staff gave him cuddles and treats. The food was also really tasty and good value for money, we will definitely be going again.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Familywithadog
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ambzwass
28 June 2018|
Answer
Response from louisehN9610FB | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do. Including Sunday x
1
Vote
Gingegg
26 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Two_IC_PR | Property representative |
Not sure what time this was posted but only just seen! We stop serving approx 4 pm (or when we have sold out prior to ). From 4.30pm we switch to our steak deals. Thanks Phil
1
Vote
patlightfoot
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Two_IC_PR | Property representative |
Hello Mr & Mrs Lightfoot, Regret to advise that we currently do not have any accommodation, the two very large en-suites that we have are being totally refurbished. I can advise that there is a brand new Premier Inn located... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing