We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub

££ - £££, British,
125 Monnow Street | Old Monnow Bridge, Monmouth NP25 3EG, Wales
+44 1600 713890
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (16 reviews)
“vegan burger” (2 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
125 Monnow Street | Old Monnow Bridge, Monmouth NP25 3EG, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Came here with my partner on 10th July it was early evening so not many people inside but there was lots of people outside in the riverside garden we dined inside the bar staff were friendly when we had found a table my partner went...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ambrose34
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Lovely pub with a great chef who does lovely food, people are friendly & you can watch the wildlife in the river while sitting in the garden, beautiful

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Viv W
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

I'd visited the wye valley on holiday and went to Monmouth as part of this. After a pleasant day I found an unpleasant experience in this pub. The prices were extortionate, the management was very rude, and I witnessed first hand why this place has...More

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Ranimia
Two_IC_PR, Owner at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Your review comments are totally meaningless. We sell premium products for a very fair price, when using the term "extortionate" please advise what items, such that we may comment. "Management very rude", I'm sure you never met any of the management and, again, give us...More

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

My partner and I found this place by accident as we came off the main road looking for a place to eat. We were not disappointed. The food was absolutely superb. Cooked to perfection and presented on the plate well. Portion sizes were just right....More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank appydaze
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Hot day travelling home from a short break in Carmarthen pulled off into Monmouth and found this gem by the side of the river, warm welcome from staff, ordered Sunday Roast Welsh lamb followed by summer pudding with clotted cream. Excellent meal I will defiantly...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Trevor C
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Beautiful Pub in the heart of beautiful town. We've been recommended this place recently. This was our second visit. First time we have had mixed fish meals and couldn't forget the amazing flavours. This time were lucky to come on the live music evening. My...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank anettatraveller
Two_IC_PR, Owner at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for taking the trouble to respond so positively, Chef will appreciate your comments, as do all staff. We look forward to seeing you soon. Many thanks

Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Came here with family for an evening and had a lovely time listening to live music and enjoying the Riverside location. However, this was completely ruined when the landlady appeared screaming over a broken glass and throwing items making the whole pub feel terribly awkward...More

Date of visit: June 2018
5  Thank 721mholloway
Two_IC_PR, Owner at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

I reply to this review as the Landlady and Proprietor. Your post is vexatious and a blatant and obvious reprisal for dismissing your daughter from our employ. YOUR behaviour was unacceptable and fuelled by alcohol, as is recorded on CCTV. You and the family member...More

Reviewed 20 June 2018

Had fish and chips here whilst meeting up with family, but would not do it again - we ate in clean bright surroundings but were very disappointed with the food. Pity we also felt we were an inconvenience to the proprietors when we took our...More

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank sukiBretagne
Two_IC_PR, Owner at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Have tried to message you for more info such that we can understand your comment. Firstly, we are concerned about disappointment at the food, you could have notified us at the time to rectify. More importantly, "an inconvenience to the proprietors" due to taking drinks...More

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

The Gate House is the perfect place to sit outside and soak up the glorious Monmouth sunshine whilst enjoying an ice cold drink 🍸. With it’s elevated position above the river and right on the Over Monnow Bridge which is just beautiful. The food is...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Louise H
Two_IC_PR, Owner at The Gate House Riverside Restuarant and Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Many thanks for your comments, see two below of people complaining about the direct sunshine and lack of parasols. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience and thanks for saying so! Too many will always complain, but few will always comment on the positive. Look forward...More

Reviewed 5 June 2018

Called in with our dog for another great Sunday lunch, delicious lamb, all well cooked and beautifully presented. Staff very friendly and efficient. Will recommend to all and take friends and family back to The Gate House.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lesley S
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Riverside Hotel
201 reviews
.09 miles away
The Whitebrook
199 reviews
3.70 miles away
The Paddocks Hotel
374 reviews
4.11 miles away
The Old Court Hotel
606 reviews
4.26 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
La Piccola Italia
407 reviews
.07 miles away
Estero Lounge
273 reviews
.06 miles away
Jewel Balti
343 reviews
.10 miles away
Salt & Pepper Coffee Shop
153 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Monnow Bridge and Gate
173 reviews
.03 miles away
Savoy Theatre
118 reviews
.34 miles away
Shire Hall Monmouth
63 reviews
.28 miles away
Monmouth Museum
78 reviews
.32 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ambzwass
28 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Louise H | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do. Including Sunday x
1
Vote
Gingegg
26 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Two_IC_PR | Property representative |
Not sure what time this was posted but only just seen! We stop serving approx 4 pm (or when we have sold out prior to ). From 4.30pm we switch to our steak deals. Thanks Phil
1
Vote
patlightfoot
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Two_IC_PR | Property representative |
Hello Mr & Mrs Lightfoot, Regret to advise that we currently do not have any accommodation, the two very large en-suites that we have are being totally refurbished. I can advise that there is a brand new Premier Inn located... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 125 Monnow Street | Old Monnow Bridge, Monmouth NP25 3EG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Monmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1600 713890
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing