We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Y Sgwar

12-16 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
+44 1766 515451
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (33 reviews)
“lamb” (32 reviews)
“pavlova” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
European, British, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
12-16 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a fantastic restaurant. Lovely Mother’s Day meal. Freshly cooked food x lovely atmosphere and great service. My mum and all the family had a very nice time. We will return. Thank you 😊

Thank NickyGaffers
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyable visit to Y Sgwar this evening. We'd read the reviews and had high expectations. Usually that sets you up for a fall but not on this occasion. Beautiful food served by an excellent member of the team. We were throughly impressed and will...More

Thank Finchy40
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently visited Michelin star restaurant in London ... Y Sgwar won hands down . This restaurant really is worth visiting .

Thank keithwright1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is one of the very best I've ever been to. The food was delicious - every item tasted devine. It's a well thought out and interesting menu. The restaurant is smart yet cosy and the staff were delightful - from Yoli the owner...More

Thank RoWroe
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we entered to the moment we left we knew we were in a special place and were so well looked after by Yol. The food was superb and extremely well presented. I know why this was voted best restaurant in Wales. Thanks...More

1  Thank Phil H
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Two of us were looking for somewhere a bit special to celebrate a birthday and we couldn't have chosen anywhere better. The service, the atmosphere and the food were all first class. From the moment we stepped through the door until the moment we left...More

Thank Amanda S
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Tucked in the corner of the square of Tremadog you will find this lovely restaurant. This place is a must visit, it has a great atmosphere. There is lot's of choice on the menu. It may seem on the pricey side compared to other restaurants...More

Thank HPSL
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Unpretentious, friendly restaurant with excellent food and service. We make a point of dining here every time we visit Wales and have never been disappointed.More

Thank Dave F
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your continued custom. We are really pleased that you enjoy what we offer. We launch our new Early Bird menu and A la Carte menu this weekend and I hope you can come and enjoy it soon. with best regards...More

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

6 of us went for a meal whilst visiting wales for the weekend. The menu offers great variety & although a smaller restaurant there’s a good atmosphere. The rose wine choices are limited, which would be my only criticism. The food was lovely, esp the...More

Thank 2008-sl
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I am really glad that you enjoyed your evening with us on your visit to Wales. We have four rose wines on the menu, this includes our house choice too. However, I will take a look at this again when we re-do the wine list...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018

Been coming to this area for years and somehow missed this tucked away little gem. Service was faultless and food delicious, nothing in the area to rival it.

Thank Jayne M
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Well.... thank you very much! We are glad that you have finally found us and delighted with your five star review and high praise. Many thanks once again, Lorraine

Nearby HotelsSee all Tremadog Hotels
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
544 reviews
.60 miles away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
728 reviews
.85 miles away
Castell Deudraeth
456 reviews
2.53 miles away
Hotel Portmeirion
1,553 reviews
2.58 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Breaktimes Cafe
487 reviews
.71 miles away
Chippy Dre
175 reviews
.01 miles away
The Golden Fleece
313 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Madog Quads
325 reviews
.84 miles away
Welsh Highland Heritage Railway
197 reviews
.50 miles away
Purple Moose Brewery
91 reviews
.91 miles away
Porthmadog Tourist Information Centre
79 reviews
.77 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
7 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from friendly0ne | Property representative |
We have a small step up on entrance. Wheelchairs can move easily inside the restaurant and we have space to store them out the way if need be. Wheelchairs do not fit into the toilets despite toilets being fairly spacious. I... More
27 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from friendly0ne | Property representative |
We don't I'm afraid. Both our neighbours have covered outside areas if that's any help. The Golden Fleece and The Union Inn.
Optional F
I was wondering why you didn't treat your cousin to their anniversary dinner if they were having financial difficulties? Also, I would be very embarrassed if you 'outed' me as having financial problems, just to get sympathy for your dining experience. Their financial status is nothing to do with your review. It was a bit unfair to criticize the restaurant for things you didn't give them a chance to fix.When a restaurant is busy - like on Easter weekend, it's chaotic in the kitchen and things will go wrong even though the restaurant normally has higher standards - that's just the nature of any business. You said that the host told you they don't open till 6pm, but you didn't say you had to wait - so this comment is just a report on a conversation - it seems that you're looking for any negative ammunition you can find. I wonder if you're having a difficult time yourself at this point of your life or if you're always so unforgiving. I would think that your attitude would have ruined my anniversary dinner if i was your cousin - instead you could have been a little less rigid and a bit more fun. I am planning to visit this restaurant, so I am taking your review with a grain of salt - with over 350 excellent reviews, your experience isn't indicative of what this restaurant usually delivers.
7 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from DebbieRose0404 | Reviewed this property |
I repeat, please delete your comments. They do not relate to any review that I have put in and are offensive
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12-16 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Gwynedd  >  Porthmadog  >  Tremadog
  • Phone Number: +44 1766 515451
  • E-mail
Open seven nights a weeks offering Early Bird menu, excellent value at £20 for three courses. Children are welcome and children's menu is available Fantastic Traditional Sunday Roast every Sunday with a choice of Roast Beef and Roast Lamb. Fish and vegetarian options also. 1 Course £12.50 2 Courses x £16.50 And 3 courses £21.00 Lunches served on Wednesday through to Sunday, snacks and meals offered. Dietary request are no problem to us!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing