We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Trecastell Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bull Bay | Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
+44 1407 830651
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel couldn't be closer to the sea. Watching both the moon and sun rising was spectacular. The rooms are extremely comfortable with the bed especially so, the pillows were so soft, lovely. We decided to eat at the hotel on both nights. The food is good and well cooked. The vegetarian fish and chips with mushy peas were most... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wonnie B
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and hope to see yoiu again soon. More 

Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

Visited for lunch and were pleased to be able to take the dog with us. They gave her a Bonio which was very welcome and we chose from the special's board. Good food and pleasant staff.

Helpful?
Thank jmd457
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a King Room with Sea views. The staff were helpful, food good, really nice breakfasts, order taken individually as you sat at your table. A little disappointed that the cups and glasses we used in our room didn't get cleaned or replaced but the hotel was very clean if a little dated. Beautiful views... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. The cups are normally cleaned each day and I will be reminding the cleaners about this. Shame that cups not cleaned mean't that you marked us 3 out of 5 when all esle seemed good!!!!! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

Having been conned into being the last guests ever at the Bull Bay Hotel we were fortunate the Trecastell was close by. Service and food were excellent and restaurant and bar area were very pleasant with great views. We should've stayed here

Helpful?
Thank DaveK2016-JHB
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to you returning More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Although I don't eat out much, when I do I like to come to the trecaslte!! The Sunday roast I had a few weeks back was by far the best I'd ever had! Outstanding!! There was a choice of three different meats then you can help your self to the rest! It was like Christmas Day!!! All different types of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hayley F
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

It's like Christmas every day at The Trecastell More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

Food great, cant fault the breakfast. we ate in the restaurant every night, loved the food, so tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and look forward to you visiting again More 

birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We dropped in without making a booking and asked for a table for seven. We were seated in the main building rather than the conservatory part which I felt was a stroke of luck. The dining room was spacious and airy. We ordered starters and the carvery which were excellent and huuuuuge. Kids (4 and 9) were very happy playing... More 

Helpful?
Thank buckeyebrit
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for you comments See you again More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

I wanted to start my review by saying the staff at trecastle are excellent, nothing is too much trouble. The place is lovely with the best restaurant view on angelsey. A very relaxing atmosphere. I started coming to the trecastle a few years ago and the food was outstanding, we would eat here every night on our Anglesey visits. Unfortunately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela C
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your considered response and sorry you found over priced but is no more expensive than any other places on the island More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016

We were staying at the hotel and ate here on one of the nights. We were impressed at the quality of the food. Well cooked ensuring that local produce was used. The staff were very friendly. Worth booking - even midweek.

Helpful?
Thank LitsaStJohns
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Booking is a must most night as we are full most nights. Hope to see you again More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016

Definitely recommend, you don't have to stay there to eat at the restaurant. Lovely friendly staff, nothing too much trouble.

Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your experience with us More 

Travellers who viewed Trecastell Hotel also viewed

Amlwch, Island of Anglesey
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey
 
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey
 
Cemaes Bay, Island of Anglesey
Pentraeth, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Pub, Welsh, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bull Bay | Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Island of Anglesey  >  Amlwch
  • Phone Number: +44 1407 830651

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Trecastell Hotel and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Trecastell Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?