We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Three Pigeons Inn

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Graigfechan, Ruthin LL15 2EU, Wales
+44 1824 703178
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 235: English reviews
Denbighshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having eaten here a few times recently I have to say each time the food has been very disappointing .Sunday dinner was dry , vegetables so hard they may as well have been raw , roasters small and dry and the Yorkshire puddings were like a supermarkets bargain brand . The pub is wonderful and the staff great but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Welshfairy
Mold
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Came across this pub by chance. There is ample parking. On first entry into the pub we were greeted in a friendly manner by staff.The pub has a very cosy feel to it and the warm glows of the various lights scattered around the venue help complete the atmosphere. My friend and i chose a chicken madras curry with rice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ghostcymru13
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently enjoyed a walk through this area of North Wales culminating at the 3 Pigeons. It is a great little pub with lots of atmosphere, friendly staff, good food and a good variety of Welsh and English ales. I would definitely go there again.

Helpful?
Thank RogerSabrina
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in today for New years eve lunch what a lovely surprise,a gorgeous old Drivers Inn full of age and charm we were greeted with a lovely warm welcome ,were given advice on the real ale and had a lovely chat about the history of the Inn which is amazing We both had salmon terine to start (delicious) I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Houseuphigh
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's always great here, the service, food, atmosphere and the portions are huge! The steak I had was done perfectly and the chips were really tasty, highly recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lowri D
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked here for our Christmas lunch, as we were staying in the area on holiday. We had a real warm welcome from the Landlord, Landlady and staff, and the pub was suitably decorated to reflect its character. The food was excellent and considering the amount of covers the chef had to cater for, was delivered to the tables in... More 

Helpful?
Thank 103ChrisK103
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We are here with a big group of friends for a Xmas night out. The place has great character & the staff were helpful & friendly. The food was delicious - the pork got rave reviews but everything was tasty. The Timothy Taylor Landlord beer was in excellent condition & they have other beers on hand pump too. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Scousepeasant
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went for our Gardening Club xmas dinner, after a series of poor service events during the meal the final straw was when the owner tried to charge our organiser for more courses than we had, luckily our organiser was so efficient with our order and payment details she stood her ground and refused to be brow beaten by 4 members... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank njconnah
DE W, Owner at Three Pigeons Inn, responded to this review

I was most disappointed to read your review and would appreciate a little more information. a review like this can seriously damage a business and we feel that we work very hard to keep this Inn alive and open. Firstly, I was under the impression that your Caffreys was replaced by a gin & tonic by Llio who brought it... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016

I booked to take my elderly mother for a celebration lunch based on the reviews. We travelled 30 miles to the inn only to find that the chef had not turned up for work and the restaurant was closed. The owner had tried to phone but only 30 minutes before the booking time and due to poor mobile signal in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AELtraveller
DE W, Owner at Three Pigeons Inn, responded to this review

Sincere apologies for your wasted trip. I would just like to explain the circumstances. Unfortunately on that day the staff were not made aware by the chef that he would not be . He sent a text message to us, (we were in Scotland), half an hour before service was due to start. The staff got a message to you... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

Mied feelings after our dinner here. Wanted a cosy pub dinner by a fire but when arrived was told there was no fire lit, so we were moved to a table in the restaurant. Chair seat was uncomfortable and felt like it had partially sagged leaving me sitting on the frame, so just swapped it one from the adjacent vacant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eclipse2008

Travellers who viewed Three Pigeons Inn also viewed

 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Been to Three Pigeons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Graigfechan, Ruthin LL15 2EU, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Denbighshire  >  Ruthin
  • Phone Number: +44 1824 703178

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Three Pigeons Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Thingwall, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Swansea, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Three Pigeons Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?