We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

J D Wetherspoon The William Owen

6 Quay Street, Haverfordwest SA61 1BG, Wales
+44 1437 771900
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good38%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (12 reviews)
“rice” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Quay Street, Haverfordwest SA61 1BG, Wales
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

We are regular users of the restaurant and usually are impressed by the quality of food and service for the price. However, I think the chef needs to stop ruining the Steak and ale pie, the filling is really tasty but the pastry is rock...More

Thank DJmustard
JDWOwen, Public Relations Manager at J D Wetherspoon The William Owen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hi, Firstly thank you for taking your time to review The William Owen, Haverfordwest. To hear you are regular customers is fantastic news because returning customers generally equates to happy customers and we always try to met and exceed our customers expectations. We apologise that...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Came here on Easter Weekend. Pub was busy but we managed to find a table. There was an app you could download to order drinks and food which saved queuing at the bar. Whole process was very efficient . Friendly staff and very nice foodMore

Thank Reality123
JDWOwen, Public Relations Manager at J D Wetherspoon The William Owen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hi, Thank you for visiting the William Owen over the Easter Weekend, we're glad to hear that you found a table during what was a very busy time. The new Order & Pay app is a great tool to allow the customer to relax at...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

There wasn't a Wetherspoon here when I last came. The decor is nice and it is well suited for everyone. We ate there a couple of times and the first I've my chicken was over cooked. However the second time my burger was lovely. Like...More

Thank Linda J
JDWOwen, Public Relations Manager at J D Wetherspoon The William Owen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hi Linda Thank you for taking your time to review The William Owen, Haverfordwest. We are glad to hear you liked the decoration of the pub, that your burger was so lovely and you found the price to be good value for money. We do...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to eat, with quick coming, delicious food and is definitely affordable! The bar provides a variety of drink options which is great throughout the day to go with food or just for drinks at night! the staff are also always...More

Thank Olivia L
JDWOwen, Public Relations Manager at J D Wetherspoon The William Owen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Hi Olivia, Thank you for your recent review of The William Owen, Haverfordwest. The team were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our pub and that you not only found the food to be outstanding but the service too. Our kitchen and...More

Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Food can be good and then on occasions you have to send it back. Portions appear to be smaller! Just wish they could be consistent and be able to keep their staff!More

Thank Suziered
JDWOwen, Public Relations Manager at J D Wetherspoon The William Owen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Dear Suzie Thank you for taking the time to review The William Owen, Haverfordwest. We are glad to hear that you do like our food on the whole, although without further details I couldn't respond to you having to return your food to the kitchen...More

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Went here specifically for Tuesday night steak night. I've found food in Wetherspoons to be quite hit and miss in the past, but this one didn't disappoint. Steak was cooked perfectly with a lovely topper and with it including a pint, made for a tasty...More

Thank alwaysblue12
JDWOwen, Public Relations Manager at J D Wetherspoon The William Owen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Hi Thank you for your review of our very popular Tuesday 'Steak Club'. we feel all the JD Wetherspoon Club Deals to be fantastic value and to hear that our customers do too is brilliant news. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit a...More

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Welcoming and cosy especially in the room with the open fire the beer is very good and the food is also goodMore

Thank Martin G
JDWOwen, Public Relations Manager at J D Wetherspoon The William Owen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Hi Martin Thank you for reviewing the William Owen, Haverfordwest. We are very glad you like our side rooms which during the colder temperatures both have lovely open fires lit to keep our customers warm and cosy after a cold stroll outside. We are glad...More

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We eat here regularly with the family, we love it decent food and a reasonable price. Staff are lovely also, they are very welcoming of children and the atmosphere is good. Overall we love it and rate it as a firm favourite x

Thank Therese B
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Still probably my favourite spoons. Clean and comfy and staff are very friendly, usual cheap drinks and food, highly recommended.

Thank Daleybaby
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Very busy but didn't have long to wait food was good, typical wetherspoons food. Always get a warm welcome and a bargain.

Thank Lynne R
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Georges Restaurant & Cafe Bar
285 reviews
.15 miles away
The Bristol Trader
217 reviews
.11 miles away
Cafe Rio
94 reviews
.11 miles away
Coffee No.1 Haverfordwest
69 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Creative Cafe Haverfordwest
24 reviews
.09 miles away
Haverfordwest Castle
38 reviews
.11 miles away
Haverfordwest Leisure Centre
23 reviews
.28 miles away
Haverfordwest Town Museum
24 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
SharonVictoria
Can dogs eat outside ? Our local Wetherspoons doesn't allow it
29 May 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Suziered | Reviewed this property |
No, very disappointing!
0
Votes
GJandS
Do we have to book for sundayvsrounf 6.30 /7pm for large party for a meal
26 November 2015|
Answer
Response from SharonVictoria |
Can dogs eat outside?my local Wetherspoons doesn't allow it ?
0
Votes
cazbazwalk
is there a kettle in room
29 August 2015|
Answer
Response from JDWTWO | Property representative |
hello there, We do not have any rooms at this venue we are only a pub. Kind Regards
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$17
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Quay Street, Haverfordwest SA61 1BG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Haverfordwest
  • Phone Number: +44 1437 771900
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing