We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cwtch*

22 High Street, St Davids SA62 6SD, Wales
+44 1437 720491
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (100 reviews)
“terrine” (17 reviews)
“creme brûlée” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Welsh, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
22 High Street, St Davids SA62 6SD, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were away in west Wales for the weekend and had to stop by for a cwtch* Sunday roast before heading home. As usual I was not disappointed. I had a two course meal as did my boyfriend. We both had the beef which was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sally M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have eaten here several times this years whilst visiting St Davids. Whilst the menu does not change a lot it is interesting and the food is very good. Whether busy, when we were there in June or quiet in November, the staff have been...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jenny L
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us and delighted that you have enjoyed another evening with us. Our menu follows a format, there is always the steak, the lamb rump features as a duo; with shoulder and shank pie; stuffed lamb breast; suet...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a couple of days in advance and i would recommend doing this even in November. We chose from the early diner menu and were not dissappointed. We did not feel rushed at all even though we had been told they may need the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank applejo60
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review and delighted reading your comments. We do suggest booking in advance as evening during quieter times we can be busy and we also prepare and staff accordingly too. The Early Evening Offer, does tend to be a very popular...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Luckily, we managed to get a reservation on the day for dinner. Staff were very knowledgeable on food allergies. Most of the menu was suitable/could be made suitable for a gluten free diet.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank pvglutenfree
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for such lovely comments. The more we understand about a guests requirements, the better we can advise and thank you for mentioning your experience. We do try to ensure our menu can be easily adapted...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great place. It's well located, and although it is not large, the tables are well spaced. It had a bistro decor and fittings are complemented by soft lighting creating a cozy and inviting atmosphere. The menu is small and interesting with a...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Stephen B
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review and delighted that you had such a great evening and delicious food. Thank you for mentioning service too. We want our guests to enjoy a lovely cozy evening and so pleased this was your experience. Thank you once again,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you aren't a local but a visitor you will feel like a second class citizen. The food was very good and good value - but as a 'non local' we weren't left with a warm glow after the meal.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank sunnybankvines
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for reviewing us, and of course very disappointed by your comments. Our guests probably consist of around 98% visitors and converting that to our reviews we would expect that to follow. Please would you mind dropping us an email to provide us with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic restaurant. The food was totally amazing. The staff were very friendly and the ambience of the restaurant was so warm and relaxing. The food was was delicious and cooked to perfection. The quality of the food was also excellent! An extremely enjoyable evening. I...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Japaco
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a glowing review and your comments have delighted us. So wonderful to read that you had such a fantastic evening and that your meals were amazing. We want our guests to experience cwtch* with friendly, professional staff, gorgeous food and that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant is lovely and has a nice ambience. Food is very good overall and they do a fair deal at two courses for £29. Not flawless food but very, very good if you are wanting something a bit special in the area. Lovely homemade...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 295josies
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to review us. Delighted to read that you found the food very, very good. Best regards from all at cwtch*

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Mid week experience. Food ok,wine list ok,service ok , ambiance good . Would return but.book early bird before 6-45 pm to avoid disappointment with menu choices.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Valerie V
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, albeit a tad unfair. For readers of this review, we ran out of fried potato dumplings (one of the accompaniments on a full plate of food) on our lamb dish for the last 3 orders of lamb. All 3 guests...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a very good Sunday lunch here a couple of weeks ago. Can recommend Cwtch for dinner too. Lovely food and ambience although I prefer the downstairs restaurant as the back room can become very noisy if there’s a party in there and upstairs...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank pruj2016
JackieandJohnHB, Owner at Cwtch*, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for a lovely Sunday Lunch review and your evening dinner recommendation. Thank you for mentioning booking ahead and especially where there is a preference of dining rooms and tables. Best regards from all at cwtch

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in St Davids
St. Davids Cross Hotel
425 reviews
.07 miles away
Grove Hotel
415 reviews
.10 miles away
Glan Y Mor Guest House
10 reviews
.21 miles away
Twr y Felin Hotel
303 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Gianni's Ice Cream
574 reviews
.02 miles away
St Davids Kitchen
479 reviews
.10 miles away
Oriel Y Parc Cafe
219 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St. Davids Cathedral
2,140 reviews
.15 miles away
St Davids Bishop's Palace
460 reviews
.05 miles away
St Non's Chapel and Holy Well
189 reviews
.30 miles away
Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre
296 reviews
.13 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lynne H
19 September 2018|
Answer
Response from JackieandJohnHB | Property representative |
Unfortunately we only allow assistance dogs, regards all at cwtch*
0
Votes
Lynne H
19 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from JackieandJohnHB | Property representative |
Unfortunately we only allow assistance dogs, regards all at cwtch*
0
Votes
LaugharneLady
31 July 2017|
Answer
Response from jackieh876 |
Hi, we only open during the evening. Kind regards Jackie
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$37 - US$44
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
Wednesday
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 High Street, St Davids SA62 6SD, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  St Davids Peninsula  >  St Davids
  • Phone Number: +44 1437 720491
  • E-mail
Description
St Davids' award-winning restaurant, our food is described as British classics with a contemporary twist focusing on quality sustainable locally sourced seasonal produce. Served in a relaxed, informal setting with an emphasis on warm friendly service. Big flavours cleanly presented.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing