We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (885)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
312
166
124
130
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
312
166
124
130
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza pub food lovely meal birthday meal sunday lunch lisa
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of us about 18f have been visiting Smithfieldbell for the last 20 years. We visit on our arrival to Wales and on our way back home. We have seen many management through out our visits. But this time most of our friends were...disappointed with the quality of the food It was over cooked... Especially the fish and chips Smaller Quality .....Small portions We did mention to the staff but they were not accommodating.. Which was a shame... Basically our group will not be going back... As we found a nicer Pub which has... Larger Portions.. Quality Food Friendly Staff Shame for SmithfieldBell Welshpool They lost Our custom.....More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kirti, as I explained via phone and in response to your google review, my team do not tolerate being spoken to rudely, as per my direction. You received multiple checkbacks where you said the food was to your liking. Also, the pub has only been...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a group we normally use smithfield bells twice a year. Most of the time food is fine, basic and good place for a group to gather. This time however it was different. Quite a few of us ordered fish and chips, over cooked fish...or rather re cooked fish was terrible. We tried to bring to the attention of lady who seemed to be managing the place, she just said well that was cooked. We went to get some beers, they were not cold from the tap agin she said its fine no one said anything. So sorry smithfield bells, after many years of bringing many groups we don’t feel like returningMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Rakesh K, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decent workaday pub meal with friendly staff. I had the mixed grill which was a reasonable £15 or so. I asked for it to be cooked “medium” and it all came “well done” though. Plenty of room inside and out, although outside seating didn’t have...any shades. Also had a good quality play area for kids.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Railway_chap, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that the steak was overcooked, and will do our best to improve. Vinay

Reviewed 10 May 2024

Food was lovely. Waitress at our table had zero people skills Dumped our food without speaking Collected our plates, didn’t even ask if we enjoyed ,have we finished just marched up to the table and whisked the plates from under us Off putting to say...the least. We like a friendly face. There isn’t one here anymore now the other lovely welcoming waitress seems to have leftMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2024

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at Smithfield Bell, but will take this opportunity to improve. We hope you are willing to give us another chance, Thank you, Smithfield Bell

Reviewed 6 April 2024

Omg call this soup staff not helpful when I asked was this it. baguette was dry tough to eat . would of got more in a tin of soup than what I've had to day

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024

Probably wise to call in advance to check food is actually being served as we arrived at 7:55 pm on Tuesday March 5th to be told they were only serving drinks.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Grantpm2847iu, we regret to hear that this was the case for you. Please contact us at 01938 559472 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around.

Reviewed 8 February 2024

Great lunch here, friendly staff, excellent service, good pub grub and nice clean facilities will come again. Fairly priced to.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Journey41049857145, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Smithfield Bell! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Smithfield Bell

Reviewed 6 February 2024

Came here for Sunday lunch when passing through and it was a great experience from start to finish. The service is prompt and welcoming, the pub is nice and the food was amazing. Will definitely be coming back!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Aaronha3683er, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed 24 January 2024 via mobile

Six of us met for lunch and wanted somewhere easy to get to with parking. This was perfect for us. Everything was good, the food, staff and atmosphere. Really enjoyed ourselves and will definitely go back.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

D5367itjuliab, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed 3 January 2024 via mobile

Food was ok but the service was appalling. However, this isn’t due to the staff and their efforts but down to the amount of staff on duty. One person on the bar and one young lady waiting on. Over 70 people dining and drinking. Completely...unacceptable from the management and Marstons. The poor staff were doing their best but there is only so much patience from customers. 20 minutes stood at the bar waiting to order with so many more people waiting after us. Sort it out Marstons. No managers working either. Staff deserve better and more protection from complaining customers (who were within their rights to do so). And finally, no food offers any longer so not a value option any more.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Hi Eternopt, we regret your most recent visit with us was not up to the standards we strive for. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Reviewed 2 January 2024

Fantastic service. food served very quickly and tasted lovely. The staff are very helpful and always get fantastic service. One of are favourite places for pub grub.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Sarah W, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed 26 December 2023

I had arranged to take my partner and family for Christmas Day dinner to celebrate her birthday. After paying out alot of money, I feel a little let down by the Smithfield Bell as the meal was a little disappointing. The soup as a starter...was only luke warm, the main was as if it had been plated up and left standing for to long was cold to touch, the gravy as been the hottest thing we had did warm it up slightly. As for dessert, I suppose they did get that right as it was mainly ice cream. The "manager" did come around to ask if everything was OK, but before any of us could say anything, he was gone, plus we were told he wanted the table empty by 2pm, which we were aware of anyway, but it was the way he asked. As you can gather from this I won't be returning there again, and hope other customers don't get the service we did, also that Marstons can get they're act together and stop this happening to people who pay good money.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Hi Rob, I'm sorry yourself and the rest of you party that have made similar remarks on trip advisor didn't enjoy you experience on Christmas day. I spent weeks trying to ensure everything was perfect and while everyone else enjoyed their food and their experience,...More

Reviewed 25 December 2023

Worst Christmas dinner I’ve ever had, the food was Luke warm at best the hottest thing about the meal was the extra gravy. Majority Vegetables were teeth breaking worthy and felt very rushed to get in and out. For the price it was I expected...better, a lot better. Very poor and awful atmosphereMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Hi Lilly, I'm sorry yourself and the rest of you party that have made similar remarks on trip advisor didn't enjoy you experience on Christmas day. I spent weeks trying to ensure everything was perfect and while everyone else enjoyed their food and their experience,...More

Reviewed 25 December 2023

It was a meal for my 60th Birthday as it is My birthday on Christmas Day, so my Children and my Grandchildren were all excited as was I as it was a surprise. We were met by the Manager who was very rude and abrupt...and told us our table was from 12 to 2 and he needed our table to be empty by 2pm. He said 'Your starters will be served at 12 so be ready at the table for them!' We sat and were ready....Soup arrived and it was cold, next the main Turkey meal 😳, cold and in my 60 yrs I have never had a load of fat on my Turkey(which was cold), it was like Pork fat.....under cooked Yorkshire Puddings and don't get me started on the veg 😤.....the only thing that was warm was the bloody gravy... it was supposed to be a beautiful meal for my big birthday as I have cooked every Christmas Day for all of my family so my 60th Birthday treat for me and my family was a total disaster. So would I recommend to eat here....NOT A BLOODY CHANCE AND THANK YOU FOR THE WORST AND MOST EXPENSIVE CHRISTMAS MEAL I HAVE HAD.....DIGUSTING🤬🤬🤬🤬More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Hi Caroline, I'm sorry yourself and the rest of you party that have made similar remarks on trip advisor didn't enjoy you experience on Christmas day. I spent weeks trying to ensure everything was perfect and while everyone else enjoyed their food and their experience,...More

Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

We visited the Smithfield Bell on our way through Welshpool to Oswestry for some lunch. The restaurant was quite quiet but the staff were slow and didn't look very happy. We had the fish and chips (I'll rephrase that. The overcooked batter with not much...fish). Next time we make this journey we certainly won't be calling here.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Smithfield Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2023

Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. We take our reviews very seriously and we regret that you had a negative experience with us. We would like to learn more about your experience to give us a chance to turn it around. If...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Royal Oak Hotel
1,702 reviews
.26 miles away
Talbot Hotel
168 reviews
4.98 miles away
The Dragon Hotel
499 reviews
6.92 miles away
The Cain Valley Hotel
213 reviews
9.19 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Spice Fusion Indian Restaurant
318 reviews
.25 miles away
New Inn
39 reviews
.32 miles away
Fabrizio's
416 reviews
.33 miles away
The Cornstore
248 reviews
.26 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Powysland Museum And Welshpool Library
36 reviews
.22 miles away
Welshpool 1940's Weekend
13 reviews
.34 miles away
LLyn Coed y Dinas
35 reviews
.59 miles away
The Witch of the Willows
14 reviews
.26 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
libby F
1 November 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Clare J |
I did a search on TripAdvisor on my phone and then clicked the phone.nhmber link
0
Votes
David E
7 December 2019|
Answer
Response from Smithfield Bell W | Property representative |
we allow dogs in the beer garden but not inside
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SMITHFIELD BELL, Welshpool - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Smithfield Bell

Yes, Smithfield Bell offers takeaway services.

Yes, Smithfield Bell is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Smithfield Bell is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5