We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Welsh, Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (193)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
89
47
18
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
89
47
18
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice cream sundae bacon roll sandwiches barry island friendly cafe lovely dog looked clean brought to the table dogs strawberry vegan
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

We visited this establishment attracted by its great location and the promise of a pleasant interior ambiance. However, our experience was marred by poor service. The young girl, who appeared to be in training, was unfortunately not well-versed with the menu or our order. Seeking...assistance from the manager, Amy, only added to our disappointment as her demeanor came across as condescending both towards the trainee and us, the customers, when addressing our inquiries. While we understand that every team can have an “off day,” this encounter left us feeling undervalued as patrons. Moreover, the food, though satisfactory, was basic. Ordering a combination of meal deals and a kids’ meal, we were surprised to find that children’s crisps were unavailable without any alternative offered, merely being informed that they were priced the same. Regrettably, we’ll be exploring other options during our next visit.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024 via mobile

Lovely gem of a place with excellent service. Spotlessly clean too, We had 2 toasted sandwiches with side salad, 2 bags of crisps and 2 cans of coke for £12.50 so very reasonably priced. Ice cream on the way out was an added bonus. Big...shout out to Amy who served us she was so friendly and welcoming and is a credit to this establishmentMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Have been to this cafe several times service and food always good but dissapointed today Ordered sandwiches with garnish on brown bread,came with white bread no garnish £5.95 when complaining was told should have asked for garnish,which previously came automatically.What is on the menu should...be served.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2023

Unfortunately today was a zero mark up from me. I love Cadwaladers, it's usually very dog friendly and so are the staff.. The place is not 100 % clean... Could be down to lack of staff.... However when I called in today for just a...coffee, the young lady who was serving mega stressed out, apologised that I would have to wait as she was preparing 2 food dishes... This I didn't mind as she was on her own.... 10 mins later she asked me what I wanted. I asked for a latte. She told me there was only decaff as the filter machine was not working.. Anyway, off to Marc's.. Not her fault of course but cor blimey, what's occurring 😊More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

My friends and I have been taking our children on as many FREE day trips as we can throughout the school summer holidays. On this occasion it was one of the children's birthdays and she wanted to spend the day with her friends at Barry...Island. We packed the cars with beach toys, drinks and picnic food and set off early. We arrived at Barry Island for 9am and the beach was very quiet, so the children enjoyed playing cricket and football, and run around with their kites. After lunch, the children wanted ice-cream, so we took them for a treat to Cadwaladers. Cadwaladers was very busy with a queue outside. After a short wait we were shown to our table which was wiped by the young friendly waitress. The restaurant area looked clean and dogs were welcome. We browsed the menu and the children were amazed by the array of desserts on offer. The birthday girl ordered a warm chocolate muffin melt sundae covered in vanilla ice cream, chocolate sauce and cream. She was over the moon when her mother placed an unlit number 5 candle in it and took her photo. The others chose mars, mint, strawberry and twix sundaes, the banana waffle stack and Knickerbocker glories. The adults in the group just ordered drinks. The sundaes were brought to the table in quick succession and they were enormous. The younger children shared because they would have struggled to finish the sundaes. The children reported that the ice-cream tasted fantastic. The sundaes were nicely presented with fresh fruit (where applicable). There were lots of flavours, cream and sauces. The average cost of the desserts was about £6. We would recommend Cadwaladers if you are looking for ice-cream or snacks such as bacon rolls, sandwiches, homemade pizzas or toasties.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine Thomas, Owner at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 31 July 2022

The staff were rather slow at tidying tables, and our order for sundaes took quite a long time ti come out - but they were delicious once they did!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T, Other at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Hello :) Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sundaes, we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 23 March 2022 via mobile

I am lucky enough to visit this cafe with my friend and our four dogs most weeks! The coffee, muffins and service are all excellent. The dogs are made to feel welcome too. We are super happy when one of the sofas are free. Just...a really nice place to chill, especially when the weather is not so great!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2022

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 17 March 2022 via mobile

I ordered a vegan muffin by mistake and didn't like it. Not only did they refund and give an alternative, but they offered another coffee and complimentary ice cream. Very apologetic even though it wasn't their fault I didn't like it! Just absolutely excellent response....Dog friendly and a really nice place to sit and chill. 10/10More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 14 October 2021 via mobile

Stopped here for a bit to eat. My husband had tea cake and coffee. I ordered a double waffle cone with 2 flavours of ice cream. When it came it was the same size cone as the man ordered infront of me.which was a single...scoop Cost me £4 was a ripe off I thoughtMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate feedback, good or bad, we are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't the best. Please, could you email feedback@cadwaladers.com with more details including the date, time and the exact items...More

Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

Arrived early and needed some breakfast. A few places didn’t serve much and came across this place. Staff were welcoming and helpful, place lovely and clean. Desserts looked lovely as well but it was only breakfast time so had bacon sarnies and pancakes which my...daughter thoroughly enjoyed!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T, Marketing at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2021

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 16 August 2021

When visiting, the place was chaos, waited for ages to be seated and wish my family and myself never bothered now... Food and drink took a while and overpriced for the quality, I understand it was busy but there was no communication and the manager,...Tamzin I think her name was (?) looked clueless. The staff looked stressed which was awful to see because they looked like kids themselves, I really felt for them... Chairs were tatty looking also, especially for how much you pay for food there and the toilet was not kept to a standard I was expecting.... Would not recommend visitingMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2021

Took children out for ice cream at barry islands Cadwaladers and was left seriously gutted. It was very dirty. Tables were dirty, menus, walls had stuff splashed up them, floor was bogging. It was quite, only 2 other customers in there yet tables were left...dirty piled with plates, not cleaned etc. Over priced badly, other ice cream please you can get way nicer ice cream for half the price. One sundae didn't really have any ice cream it was all cookie. Looking it up the person who served us was a supervisor, so that dirty with a supervisor in? Service could be way better. Said it was a table serve and to wave her over for the bill yet she hide behind the till not looking up, when paying on way out there was a comment for next time stay at table... sorry won't be a next time which is sad. Gutted, terrible I do not recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate feedback, good or bad, we are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't to the high standards we expect as a company. Please, could you email feedback@cadwaladers.com with more details including...More

Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

We were served by a lovely lady called Tegan today! The staff here are all so lovely and service is always great with delicious food and drinks on the menu. Well worth visiting!!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2021

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

I've eaten ice-cream in cadawaders from Stoke to Tenby but today in Barry I was served by a polite young lady by the name of Tegan and needless to say I had the lotus sundae and its the best so far

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Barry Store. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

My ice cream chocolate sundae was so good!!! My sever Bethan was very helpful and checked on us to see if our ice cream was nice! Thanks for a pleasant visit! X

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catherine T, Marketing at Cadwaladers - Barry Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mount Rooms Hotel
497 reviews
.70 miles away
Tadross Hotel
193 reviews
1.47 miles away
Travelodge Cardiff Airport
583 reviews
1.63 miles away
Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
193 reviews
2.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Johns Cafe
341 reviews
.17 miles away
Whitmore+Jackson
296 reviews
.16 miles away
Usta Turkish Restaurant
90 reviews
.18 miles away
Zio's Gelateria
109 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Whitmore Bay Beach
284 reviews
.12 miles away
Barry Island Pleasure Park
818 reviews
.15 miles away
Barry War Museum
54 reviews
.15 miles away
High Street
85 reviews
.83 miles away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CADWALADERS - BARRY ISLAND - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cadwaladers - Barry Island

Yes, Cadwaladers - Barry Island offers takeaway services.

Cadwaladers - Barry Island is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4