We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Tavern

££ - £££, ,
1645 Burwood Hwy, Belgrave, Victoria 3160, Australia
+61 3 9754 2222
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good40%
  • Average4%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible14%
25 Feb 2017
“Great pub grub”
2 weeks ago
“Dinner with Bogans included”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1645 Burwood Hwy, Belgrave, Victoria 3160, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Please do not eat here. I had pulled pork burger and half a hour later was acutely ill. I was sick for 4 days ruined my time away in Belgrave. Also had to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke as a heap of people...More

Thank Katdav1960
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Has a good choice of specials on week nights....typical pub atmosphere....cosy in both summer and winter

Thank Bob C
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We ordered four meals three arrive all up after an hour and three request for the meal it arrived Garlic Prawns 5 medium sized prawns it was unedible only ate the prawns so never again. If there was a nil rating they would get itMore

Thank Jenny Z
Richard F, Owner at Bell Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Jenny, I apologize for your appalling experience at The Bell Tavern. I unfortunately have not been working for the last few months due to illness and have just seen this review. There is no excuse for our poor performance on the night, but I...More

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Started attending this tavern, however whilst the food prices seem to be reasonable, I am convinced they dont have a chef - just a cook and even I cook better myself! Tried the spaghetti - the worst I have ever had and I can not...More

Thank Marilyn S
Richard F, Owner at Bell Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Hi Marilyn, I am sorry that it has taken so long to get back to you, I have been off work for a while due to illness. We did have some kitchen staffing problems however we do seem to have them fixed now. I would...More

Reviewed 17 June 2016

Group ordered parmas as had received positive recommendations. Two were fine however two were half raw. Only noted after second bite and tis made most of group highly dubious of the rest oft he meal as it is crumbed [naturally]. The hotel were apologetic and...More

Thank ChrisGoldy
Richard F, Owner at Bell Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Hi Chris, I apologize for your experience at The Bell Tavern, as you mentioned it was an off night for the Chef, but there is no excuse for serving chicken that is not thoroughly cooked. We have taken measures to make sure that this should...More

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

All in all The Bell Tavern looks like your standard Aussie town bar... Relaxed atmosphere, fairly worn appearance, good selection of tap and bottled beers... Decided to stay for a spot of lunch and were genuinely delighted with the food. So often the Veggi burgers...More

Thank MissMcTavish
Richard F, Owner at Bell Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank You for your kind review, we really appreciate it.

Reviewed 18 January 2016

We went for a feed and to check out a band at the Bell Tavern... The Food was good and the beer was cold.having said that There's limited parking and The price of the Beer was expensive, I guess that's to pay for the Band!...More

Thank WinnieG123
Reviewed 25 November 2015

We had our lunch at the Bell Tavern before going on the Puffin Billy. It was a wonderful meal. There was 27 of us and they served us all at the same time. The food was tops, with very friendly service, very friendly people. If...More

1  Thank Maree E
Reviewed 13 October 2015

dropped in for a meal here and a beer...chicken parma was average as was my partners steak..but a nice little pub to have a drink in...also has a beer garden..good ambience..will return.

Thank fletch531
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Up in the Dandenong's North East from Melbournes CBD, is the small village of Belgrave, home of the Puffing Billy steam train which drives our visitors through the beautiful Dandenongs hills and forrest. Bell Tavern is the pub were you go for a beer, a...More

Thank Rudi844
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bensons Cafe and Restaurant
102 reviews
.10 miles away
Le Voltaire Bistro Francais
78 reviews
.05 miles away
Earthly Pleasures Cafe
116 reviews
.08 miles away
Babaji's Kitchen
16 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Puffing Billy Railway
1,398 reviews
.22 miles away
Trees Adventure
147 reviews
.44 miles away
Cameo Cinema
69 reviews
.09 miles away
Belgrave Big Dreams Market
7 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bell Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1645 Burwood Hwy, Belgrave, Victoria 3160, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Yarra Valley  >  Belgrave
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9754 2222
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing