We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Village Larder

££ - £££
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
81 High Street, Woodend, Victoria, Australia
0354273399
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Waited for 40 minutes for the worst over cooked bacon and eggs coupled with a terrible coffee. Avoid the poor service and the long waits

Helpful?
Thank MoorooducVic
Helen M, Owner at The Village Larder, responded to this review

We hear you. Our 40 seat cafe was swamped with a couple of hundred people due to a concert so yes there was a long wait and most customers understood this. We were running with two brand new baristas due to unforseen illness and accidents and did the best we could under the circumstances. We are sorry your experience was... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

This place has great coffee and they serve it nice and hot. The rustic decor is very comfortable and inviting. We also had on of the chocolate brownies because they had been suggested by a friend and it was delicious!

Helpful?
2 Thank nebochard
Essendon, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This was a lovely place that has a good range and great coffee. Staff were friendly and the range of food would satisfy the fussy, the paleo, and the chocoholic! It's an eclectic vibe without hipster over the top things that can be annoying

Helpful?
2 Thank naomi3040
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

The coffee was very good, and the service friendly. All the dishes sounded really interesting but the two we had were quite bland and not constructed practically (kind of hard to eat).

Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh M
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Paid $19 for a tuna nicoise salad that I was assured did not use canned tuna. It came out with tasteless canned tuna; chef apologized; the cashier hadn't known they were out of real tuna and were using canned, so I ordered another salad of cauliflower and a deep fried egg. It was half the size; not even a main... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We both had the best coffee and home made rhubarb tart. The staff is delightful and very friendly. The atmosphere is a lovely vintage look. We will go again if we are in the area. 😊

Helpful?
3 Thank MonikaMercedes
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2016

Stopped here on the way to Bendigo for breakfast and was very impressed and a little surprised to find this place in a smallish town. The food was delicious and the service very good. Would go here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank diannefegan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

On our way home to Melbourne from Castlemaine we ventured to Glenlyon, no joy, the General store was closed. On to Trentham, only to find most of it closed. We found ourselves at Woodend to see the Village Larder open for business, phew. This is a great find, your old kitchen tables and chairs as the decor matching the interesting... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin v
Burrawang, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Since when did living in Melbourne automatically brand you an all knowing food and coffee critic !!!?? I've drank plenty of ordinary coffee on Melbourne and the village larder is far from ordinary. We enjoyed a Delicious falafel plate, a side of roasted potatoes and two large smooth full flavoured velvet coffees. We stopped here after a four hour bike... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank glitterrrgirl2006
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016

A 3-star rating for The Village Larder is a little tough as I'm comparing it to very good Melbourne cafes where coffee standards are high. Woodend is a cute town and seems to be doing a very nice job of becoming another Daylesford-type quality sojourn out of Melbourne. The Village Larder has a welcoming atmosphere with tall ceilings, quaint tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lobstertastesogood

Travellers who viewed The Village Larder also viewed

Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to The Village Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 81 High Street, Woodend, Victoria, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Macedon Ranges  >  Woodend
  • Phone Number: 0354273399
Description
Telephone + 61 3 5427 3399

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Village Larder staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?