We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dirty Al's

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33396 State Park Road 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6412
+1 956-761-4901
Website
Today
11:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,052 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,027: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I ate at Dirty Al’s on 05/21/17 after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. I was attending a Conference for work at the South Padre Island Convention Center. The restaurant is a “hole in the wall” however do not be fooled because the food is FANTASTIC! Service is GREAT! Atmosphere is fun!!!! I have never eaten flounder before and Dirty Al’s was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Came here two years ago and just loved the location and the food. It was near the state park where I was fishing. Last time I raved about their blackened fish collars. Unfortunately they were sold out both times I was there to my disappointment. A must if you are there. I had the blackened calamari both times I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lukiliko
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I love, love, love the food, the special sauce is amazing! Never disappointing, friendly staff. Just Great overall!!

Helpful?
Thank Carmen R
Centerburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friends told us about a Local Joint called Dirty Al's down by the Pier. We had fresh Fried Fish and Grilled Shrimp. The Meal was outstanding. I've ate a lot peoples Fried fish in my life and these guys rank #1

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The waitress was nice and I believe the items that came previouly frozen were fine but the oysters were the worst I've ever had. They definitely were not fresh and tasted rank. The atmosphere or environment is fun, just don't get anything fresh here.

Helpful?
Thank chefzach82
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Returned to this fave for seafood lunch. Shrimp is always good here as is the grilled fish. This time I was a bit disappointed in the onion rings. They were greasy and a bit droopy. I don't remember having that happen before so will give benefit of the doubt this time. Overall it's a good, very casual place to meet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oldiesrgreat
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased you like the food and service. It is an honor to be your favorite restaurant in the Island. We look forward to your continued support. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a fancy restaurant and not real expensive but good sea food. If you sit outside Do NOT feed the birds 😂

Helpful?
Thank Nanabgl
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us at Dirty Al's. We are glad you enjoyed the food. We hope to serve you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to Dirty Al's for shrimp after googling the best shrimp places in South Padre. We were seated quickly and our waitress was nice and provided overall good service. We ordered the New Orleans style boiled shrimp and that's when it went downhill fast. The shrimp were overcooked and the shells were stuck to the shrimp making it hard... More 

Helpful?
Thank KyemanF
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

I apologize that you did not like the shrimp. It is not the norm, we are known for the best fried shrimp and I am sorry you were not able to experience that. We do however invite you to visit us again. More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There were 5 of us. We ordered the fish, oyster and shrimp Bontana. More than we could eat. Loved the French fries. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Stennis S
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the fish, oyster and shrimp botana. I hope you come back to enjoy another one soon! More 

Texas Hill Country
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I know...I know...don't order a burger at a seafood place. Probably the worst burger I've ever had. Another member of our party had chicken tacos...also not impressed whatsoever. Grilled shrimp very good and fried oyster sandwich good. Drinks were average.

Helpful?
Thank LlanoJean
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's, responded to this review

We thank you for your honest review. I apologize that the food was not to your liking, which is not the norm. We aim to please every customer with excellent service and delicious food. We hope that you may consider giving us the opportunity. More 

Travellers who viewed Dirty Al's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:00
Monday
11:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 20:00
Thursday
11:00 - 20:00
Friday
11:00 - 20:00
Saturday
11:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33396 State Park Road 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6412
  • Location: United States  >  Texas (TX)  >  Texas Gulf Coast  >  South Padre Island
  • Phone Number: +1 956-761-4901
Description
About Us
Dirty Al’s has been in operation since 1986 and has always provided the freshest seafood to thousands of visitors from all over the world.
As a family owned and operated business, we have always taken great pride in taking care of each customer and providing them with a unique experience that they can only get from eating at Dirty Al’s. Dirty Al promises every customer that they will only be served the absolute freshest seafood caught in the wild off the Gulf of Mexico.
A Father and his Sons Make a Great Team!
Alfonso Salazar, better known as “Dirty Al” originally started shrimping as a young man with his father and 6 brothers. In 2003, he and his youngest son, Cameron, who graduated from Culinary School, transformed his bait stand into a restaurant where together they have been known for having “The World’s Best Fried Shrimp”! In 2005, his other two sons returned home to help grow the business. To this day, they now own 6 restaurants on beautiful South Padre Island and continue to bring only the “best” Gulf Seafood to each customer’s table.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dirty Al's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?