We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (293)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
120
52
36
37
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
120
52
36
37
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welsh rarebit macaroons afternoon tea tea shop loose leaf tea car park unicorn strainer
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 August 2023

Lovely food and service for lunch with my family. Really yummy sandwiches, cake and a brilliant kids lunch for my daughter.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2023 via mobile

My mum and I went with my 2yr old daughter in March 2023 as a Mother’s Day treat. The first time we have done something like this, I choice Pretty Things for afternoon tea as I had heard great things about it and wanted mum...and I to have a treat. My 2yr old daughter is under medical review for autism and because of her autism she is very picky with food, I bought bread and ham from home for her to eat (no branding visible, anyone else could have seen and assumed we have purchased the food from this establishment) and the manager/owner came over to us, stood over us and was confrontational in her tone of voice when telling me that outside food was not allowed. She was not kind or understanding in her approach, she did not seek to find out why I had separate food for my daughter, I tried to explain but she was not interested and kept reiterating that outside food was not allowed. In the end I order ham for my daughter, which my daughter did not eat because she is used to eating thinly sliced ham and this ham was thick sliced. I was reduced to tears from how confrontational and unkind this manager was and embarrassed for how she had spoken to me in front of other customers. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone who has children with additional needs and picky eaters. And to think we were treated like this when we had paid £60 for 2 afternoon teas!! Absolutely disgusting behaviour AND we did not get out £10 deposit back. Terrible experience, no point of having a such a pretty place if your staff are not able to have an element of empathy and or kindness to ensure customers have a nice experience. All the manager needed to do was to show me the courtesy or crouching down to my level, the dignity of not speaking over me and with a raised voice and to show some understanding with a gentle approach…it doesn’t take much to be kind.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan Melbourne, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2023

Hello We have answered this already once with your Mums review however we are sad to see that more lies are included in this review 3 months later. Every booking and especially our Mothers Day Bookings we ask ALWAYS if there are any allergies or...More

Reviewed 14 May 2023

Absolutely fantastic venue for my tweens birthday afternoon tea. Fabulous venue, wonderful food and great staff. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2023

One of my close friends couldn't make my hen weekend so want to treat me to an afternoon tea. This was my first visit to Pretty Things and it was brilliant. The quality of the food was amazing, plenty of fillings in the sandwiches and...tea topped up frequently. The staff very attentive. The venue is appropriately named, it was so pretty inside and out. I will definitely return! If you are thinking about it...book it!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2023

I never left a review but felt I needed to on this occasion….Came today for my daughter’s birthday. Not very welcoming on arrival when my other daughter came with her 2 children in a double pram- was told no room for her pram and it...would need to be stored in the courtyard! Outside, which got rained on and were told they had cctv camera so should be safe, not very helpful or forthcoming with help getting a toddler and baby upstairs but was told I didn’t state “mobility “ issues… 2 children are not classed as mobility issues in my eyes!!! We asked to share an afternoon tea but was charged £29.95 each for a sandwich 1 scone and 2 small treats! We didn’t even get a plate to eat it on and had to find the 1 waitress to top up our tea- definitely not worth the 10% added onto the bill! All looked very pretty- more of a case of style over substance- definitely not worth £60 for what we got- see picture attached that tray was £60! Was extremely shocked … please don’t waste your money not value for money. Very disappointed if we had know we were paying that we would have gone elsewhere … surely you can’t think that is acceptable for the price?????More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan Melbourne, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2023

Hello so sorry you felt you were not offered value for money. The menu clearly states the price and what is included. When the waitress asked you which cakes you would like you all said that you were too full up to eat them and...More

Reviewed 2 April 2023

I have a baby shower in this place today and I’m actually very disappointed as I pay £34 it was for a person and we didn’t even have a sandwich each the tea was very weak it was water the coffee was even worse it...was watery and didn’t test the coffee ready it was not even a scone age you have to share skin between two people it was a few cakes very few and water from the tap and nudges at all if you want to have juice you need to buy extra if you wanna have a proper coffee you’ll have to pay extra and I did ask for a tuna sandwich because I didn’t like any of the sandwich and the manager come over to the table and said if you wouldn’t have if you would like a sandwich as like a tuna sandwich you need to pay extra. After all of that I need to go home and eat because I’m hungry and I spend £34 plus if you go to this place you have to pay for the car park and have to spend £34 go home eat because you’re hungry it’s really upsetting didn’t like didn’t definitely definitely I don’t recommend this place it’s really disappointed don’t waste your money there.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan Melbourne, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2023

Olga you did not have a baby shower with us you were an invited guest. If you are going to do a review its best not to lie about what actually happened. You made one of my staff members cry with your rude manner. You...More

Reviewed 26 February 2023 via mobile

I have just popped in to the shop with my Mum for lunch. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. The food is so well presented and such value for money. On another occasion I took a friend for a surprise afternoon tea, the choice...of sandwiches and cakes was totally amazing. A perfect little place for all occasions, it is a little gem of a shop.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan Melbourne, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2023

Karen thankyou so much for your kind review. X

Reviewed 4 February 2023 via mobile

I want to say that the owner/manager was not very happy. She is one of the people who comes late and needs to get a grip. Other than that all of the staff are so very nice. Any of them could be the manager. All...those tips should be spread around fairly. I hope they do. This one staff member was so very pleasant I forgot her name but she was so very lovely. I recommend this cafe the only big thing is the manager to get a grip and work a lot harder.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan Melbourne, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2023

Thankyou for your review my staff are indeed the most lovely people so glad they gave you great service and made your visit extra special. To put your mind at rest all the tips are shared equally along with the kitchen staff who work tirelessly...More

Reviewed 28 January 2023 via mobile

I have been to Pretty Things on two occasions, both special events with family and friends. Unfortunately both have been underwhelming and far below the standard expected, with very slow service (slower than excused by preparing food fresh). For privacy I don't want to go...into detail on this review however, I was extremely disappointed that following a traumatic incident whilst visiting the venue the owner didn't even bother to follow up with a care call. Having read some of the other reviews mentioning the customer experience and service received I felt compelled to share our experience. I'm a great advocate for independent, locally run businesses and will quite happily pay for a good experience and quality food, this is not what you get at Pretty Things. If the ownership prioritised and invested as much time in their customers as the window displays I believe they'd be a lot more successful. We'll stick to South Lodge in the future.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melabb, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2023

So sorry you feel this way. I hope you give us another try x

Reviewed 10 January 2023 via mobile

I’m not one to usually write reviews but I left here today feeling extremely unsatisfied. The lady who I assume is the manager was nothing but rude, the minute we walked in she was on the phone, looked at me and said we need that...table back in an hour- not even a hello. For a small area there wasn’t much space for my double pushchair which was clearly in the way as I was told several times they needed to get to a draw, Instead they just proceeded to lean over with my baby asleep in the buggy. The windows have lovely drawings on which for a 2 year old are very attractive to want to look at- the manager again proceeded to ask me to keep my son away, he only wanted to look and was well behaved the whole time we were there. My friend and I had been looking forward to meeting here and we felt rushed to get out. The minute my plate was taken the bill was brought over! For a place with such great reviews in the heart of our town I am saddened by our experience.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melabb, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2023

Hello so sorry you felt put out with your visit to us. We would never intentionally make you feel uncomfortable. As much as we love children and babies visiting as you saw we do have very limited space downstairs. We have made it known on...More

Reviewed 12 December 2022 via mobile

I recently made a booking of 20 for a family celebration and whilst booking with a lovely lady on the phone i was really impressed with how much they helped and catered when i had a few dietry requirements with the booking.when the day finally...came we got to come in earlier than agreed to set up even though it was really busy and the staff working all were really kind to direct our guests to our table apon arriving.the afternoon tea was outstanding,tasty and really pretty not to mention the cakes were to die for! All the staff were always on hand to top up our drinks and make sure everything was ok.i can honestly say pretty things made me and my familys afternoon! I would really reccomend pretty things to anyone! Thank you all! I will definitely be returning! XxMore

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2022 via mobile

Such an adorable, quaint little place! The staff go above and beyond to help you while visiting, one of the members of staff went through all of the variety’s of tea that they have and explained in detail what was Welsh rarebit! Delicious by the...way… two of my party had the afternoon tea and wasn’t it beautiful and very filling, they were rolling out by the end. I could not recommend this place enough for food, teas and a little shopping as there is the most perfect gifts for sale dotted around this stunning little place. It’s a must go!!!!!More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2022 via mobile

Absolutely nowhere on the menu does it state that the price for afternoon tea is PER PERSON. All it states is a ‘selection of sandwiches, scones, nibbles, cake, refillable tea or coffee’ which at £30 leads people to believe that is more than adequate to...share with someone. My friend and I are we’re under the illusion we were ordering afternoon tea to share for £30 and had I been made aware at any point by the menu or a member of staff that that price was for 1 person I would have walked out! I was charged £60 for what is in the picture below. How do you sleep at night?! I have never been so godsmacked in my entire life. £60?! And not only that, the food wasn’t of great quality the bread was cheap and stodgy and the member of staff working in the kitchen verbally displayed her displeasure when she was informed she had ‘another’ afternoon tea to make. I will never return and I will make sure I spread the word to friends and family they will have to take out a loan if they wish to visit your cafe! You should be ashamed for being so greedy!More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melabb, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2022

I am sorry you felt that our menu was misleading. We don’t tend to print “for one” or “for two” on our menus as unless stated our prices are for one. The menu clearly states single items not plural, which I feel is standard to...More

Reviewed 5 December 2022 via mobile

Pretty Things lives up to it’s name perfectly. It’s a beautiful venue and we had a fantastic afternoon tea, my girlfriend loved it. Could not recommend more!

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melabb, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2022

Hello glad you had a lovely time.... glad to hear your girlfriend was impressed x

Reviewed 5 December 2022 via mobile

Amazing cafe, the best staff and lovely experience! Really recommend visiting, fab customer service and coffee!

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melabb, Owner at Pretty Things, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2022

Hi Sarah thankyou so much for your kind review x

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Horsham Town Centre
204 reviews
.05 miles away
Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel
734 reviews
.29 miles away
Wimblehurst Hotel
126 reviews
.76 miles away
Roffey Park Institute
30 reviews
3.04 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Carmela Deli
333 reviews
.09 miles away
Brewhouse & Kitchen - Horsham
553 reviews
.03 miles away
Filippo's Italian Restaurant
1,321 reviews
.02 miles away
Zeytin
390 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Horsham Park
147 reviews
.22 miles away
St. Mary’s Church
58 reviews
.18 miles away
Swan Walk Shopping
27 reviews
.20 miles away
Ceramic Shack
16 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
620ladye
27 July 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Melabb | Property representative |
Hello sorry only just seen this....yes we do x
0
Votes
vintageperson
21 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 685staceyd | Reviewed this property |
They have no parking straight outside as far as I am aware 🤔
0
Votes
Ewilko88
18 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jaden K | Reviewed this property |
As far as I am aware no dogs are allowed. Sorry
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PRETTY THINGS, Horsham - Photos & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pretty Things

Pretty Things is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4

<