We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
American, Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (747)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
267
197
135
81
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
267
197
135
81
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs burger curly fries nacho plate pudding belly buster themed restaurant great for kids family restaurant birthday meal cowboy pint
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

Restaurant was busy and noisy because of the music being played was too loud, we asked for it to be turned down a bit, but that did not help the atmosphere. There did not seem enough waiting staff on duty to cope. Food ordered but...took a while to come out of the kitchen. When it arrived the portions were good but the food was tepid in temperature, as were the plates as well. Disappointed with the overall service. Having worked in the industry, I know how the standards in this sort of establishment should be. Except for the food portions everything else in my opinion failed. Suggest less on the ambiance but more attention to detail on food "heat" quality and table service to guests.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

From the 6th April where we had a great meal,we decided to take the family out the following Sat 13th April,honestly it was so embarrassing,the service was terrible,we had a table booked for 8.15pm & I was told nothing available (although booked) we were happy...to wait,after asking four members of staff every ten minutes we were given a table at 9.30pm,upstairs although tables available downstairs,this wasn't a problem,but the poor girl had to bring all drinks & food upstairs on her own,which took time,when I went to the ladies in between starters & mains there were staff standing around the bar area,I decided to hover as our mains were due,not one member of staff helped this girl out taking plates away or glasses & bringing our mains upstairs,there were 6 of us so 3 times she had the trip with her hands full,tables were still messy where they could of been cleared,I get they maybe on shift work,but surely your a team?? No sorry you had to wait for your booked table,no offer to say a free drink or maybe a starter for the inconvenience,the staff were oblivious to our needs & clearly felt she didn't need help & or to lend a hand,so within a week of saying how good Smith & Western was to family & friends & looking forward to a great night out,we have definitely joined the band wagon of bad reviews,I'm so sorry to write this & unfortunately trip advisor won't let you comment for a month,so I waited to comment as I felt so let down at spending over £300 for a terrible service & telling others how good it was a week before,just a sorry or discount for the inconvenience would have saved me writing this review,no yee hah this time I'm afraid,just being honest.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We sincerely apologise for the disappointing experience you had during your recent visit Belinda. Our aim is to provide exceptional service, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we assure you that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Bad service and poor food. Arrived at booking time and was left for 10 mins standing at the entrance waiting for someone to take us to our table after the girl went to go and ‘find it’. We were then taken to the bar where...we received two wrong drinks. Service was terrible from then on where we had to call a waitress over every time and was never checked upon. Burgers were cold and wait time for food was horrendous.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We deeply apologise for your disappointing experience at Smith & Western. Providing exceptional service and delicious meals is our priority, and we're disheartened to learn that we fell short during your visit. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we'll address these issues with our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great service, friendly and attentive staff. Tasty food, generous portions and value for money. It’s as close to eating out in the States as you can get in the UK I reckon.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience at Smith & Western Lucy! Providing authentic American dining is our passion, and we're delighted to have met your expectations. Thank you for your kind words about our service, food, and ambiance and we sure look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Saturday 27th of April we had a family birthday lunch for my husband 7 of us. We were really impressed, we were greeted really well, friendly staff and seated very quickly. My husband wanted a cocktail that wasn’t on the menu but Kristina our waitress...went to talk to the bar staff and they made the drink for him. Our starters , mains and desserts were all amazing and well cooked. Kristina our waitress was great we couldn’t fault her. Definitely come back.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Howdy Sue! We're thrilled you had an amazing time celebrating with us! 🎉 Kristina and the team are all smiles knowing they made your experience top-notch. Can't wait to welcome you back for more memorable moments! 🤠 - S&W Team 🤠

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for dinner for our sons birthday who is also Vegan. Group of 6 . Very pleased with the service and the food was great , staff were very good . Will definitely come backMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Yeehaw James! Thanks for saddling up with us to celebrate your son's birthday! Delighted to hear that everyone, including your vegan buckaroo, enjoyed their grub and the service. Saddle up again soon for another round of good times and great eats! 🤠 - S&W Team...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for Sunday lunch as a special treat for our daughter, had asked on the reservation if we could sit in one of the caravan tables for a little extra excitement. On arrival we waited for 5 or so minutes at the entrance, and we...were treated with a "what do you need" sort of attitude, almost as if they weren't looking for customers or annoyed that they had an extra table when the place clearly wasn't that busy. I asked if the special request had been taken into consideration, and they said all those tables were unavailable and seated us upstairs. Ok, but when we went to visit the restrooms we could see they were available, and were to the remainder of our visit. Great. The drinks order took 20mins to be asked, I ordered a refill soda, I had to chase twice for the drink glass to be supplied and eventually got it myself from the bar, the soda machine upstairs wasn't carbonating, I went downstairs to use the bar and got a drink myself from the bar staff. The food, I ordered a rack of ribs, which was £25 and tiny, not a full rack at all in my book but ok, inflation/deflation whatever. Look we weren't expecting The Ivy, but for a £75 meal for effectively a kids treat, you don't expect to be treated like a turkey which is how we effectively felt. No I probably wouldn't suggest going there again unless, my daughter specifically asked for it.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear you had a experience dining in with us on Sunday Henry. Whilst we try our best to accommodate all guests requests we can't guarantee a certain table. We do apologise however if the staff member came across rude, this is not...More

Reviewed 8 April 2024

We came here as my daughter wanted to celebrate her birthday and we sat in a corner booth which was nice and luckily this time the loudspeaker above it was turned off! Great service by Tim, with 241 cocktails between 5-7pm. Nacho platter was good,...this time they hadn’t run out of sour cream! My burrito was filling and no room for dessert although we shared the belly buster! Prices are well a bit more than you hoped for, but it is a special occasion and a good experience Good night all round, thank youMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Howdy Partner! We're delighted to hear your experience improved this time! Thank you for appreciating Tim's excellent service and enjoying our offerings, including the nacho platter and burrito. We understand pricing may be a concern, but we strive to deliver value alongside a memorable dining...More

Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Fantastic service,can't fault them,after reading the reviews we were a bit concerned,so I'd just like to say thanks for a lovely meal,will definitely be back.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Yeeha Belinda! We sure appreciate your positive feedback! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to showcase our cowboy delights. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable meals. - S&W Team 🤠

Reviewed 5 April 2024

Absolutely shocking waiting times for the drinks, food and desserts!! The quality of food was terrible. Over cooked and seriously seriously over priced for what you got. Order drinks you'd be lucky if you get them in 10 mins if at all. Seems as if...the kitchen management haven't a clue on how to run a kitchen! Nor how to cook. Waitress was the only good thing very polite and did her job. We all certainly won't ever be returning. And to anyone thinking of going don't bother wasting your time or money on such bad quality!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

We're genuinely sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. We strive to deliver excellent service and quality cuisine, and it's disheartening to learn that we fell short during your visit. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously work to improve our operations and...More

Reviewed 31 March 2024

Arrived early and got seated, lovely hosts and waitress, however it all went down hill from there. Parked in Sainsbury's carpark thinking 2 hours is plenty of a spot of lunch, well ... 2 hours later (still hadn't received our meal) I had to run...out to move the car, in which the food arrived whilst doing so and my husband and son had finished their dinner by this point. 2 hours on .. still there... 4.5 hours it took to have a main meal and pudding. Never in my life have I experienced that slower service. All our food was stone cold, and very disappointed with the quality of food. My husband and I go all the time for the ribs (normally Chichester) and never had a problem, always been really meaty and the meat just falls off. This time they were tiny with barely any meat on them, very disappointing! I write this review as it's not the first time I have had incredibly slow service in this Horsham branch. The amount of time it takes for the food to come out, whether the restaurant is busy or dead, it's still the same! Given them 3 visits and after the most recent stressful experience, particularly with a 2 year old .. 4.5 hours is not good enough. A quick lunch turned into a day trip!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

We're truly sorry for your disappointing experience at our Horsham branch. Your feedback is invaluable, and we'll address the service and food quality issues with the team in Horsham immediately. We strive to offer timely service and delicious meals, and it's disheartening to hear we...More

Reviewed 26 March 2024

Booked breakfast as my son’s choice for his birthday treat. He turned 5 and was so excited. I wrote that it was his birthday on the booking. Negatives: Waiter poured our coffee and disappeared. Came back 10 mins later and we had to ask for...milk. Milk portions was poor. Coffee cold. Excess cutlery and coffee cups were not removed from the table despite piling them up myself to stop my toddler reaching for them. Slow service. Staff only present when serving so could not ask for needs/wants. Breakfast no longer served with extra maple sauce unless this was missed. Pancakes not served with peacans as per menu.Partners breakfast served with toast instead of hash browns with no explanations. Worst of all, no one said happy birthday to my son.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

We sincerely apologise for your disappointing experience at our Horsham location Jenny. Your feedback is invaluable, and we're addressing these issues with the Breakfast team in Horsham to ensure a better dining experience for all our guests. Please accept our apologies for the oversight on...More

Reviewed 23 March 2024

Excellent dinner in a fun setting. Food was very good especially Mississipi burger and great service from our waitress Georgia.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

We're thrilled you had a blast at Smith & Western Peter! It's awesome to hear you enjoyed our Mississippi burger and the lively ambiance. Georgia will be delighted to know she made your experience memorable. Looking forward to hosting you again soon! -S&W Team 🤠

Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

Out for a friends birthday Slow service - chicken dinner was sent back as was freezing cold Asked 3 times for the music to be turned down as we were under a speaker. Was told every time it gets turned down, someone turns it back...up. Food is really Harvester quality so quite overpriced for what it is.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hi Andrew, We apologise for the disappointing experience. Regarding the volume our floor team are not allowed to change the volume as it's controlled by head office as we strive to have an equal cowboy atmosphere across all sites. We will take your feedback onboard...More

Reviewed 17 March 2024

I like Smith and Western ... BUT ... waited 5 minutes at the door with no sign of being seated. Walked out and went across the street to Cote. No wait and staff very attentive and polite. Come on S&W remember we have a choice...and there's competition.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smith and Western, Other at Smith & Western, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

We apologise for the delay in seating you. Your feedback is valuable and we will be addressing this with the team in Horsham to ensure improvements to our service. We appreciate your continued support and hope for the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wimblehurst Hotel
126 reviews
.07 miles away
Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel
739 reviews
.70 miles away
Premier Inn Horsham Town Centre
207 reviews
.70 miles away
Roffey Park Institute
31 reviews
2.87 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Olive Branch
707 reviews
.64 miles away
The Black Jug
575 reviews
.62 miles away
The New Curry Centre
324 reviews
.54 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rookwood Golf Course
16 reviews
.64 miles away
Warnham Local Nature Reserve
201 reviews
.55 miles away
Horsham Park
147 reviews
.57 miles away
Swan Walk Shopping
27 reviews
.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
173JaniceS
31 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JON61569 | Reviewed this property |
Lots of children go and have a great time, though there's not many running. I wouldn't say there's room to run around. I also wouldn't advise letting them run as waitresses are often moving around with large trays with... More
1
Vote
Max N
29 January 2015|
Answer
Response from jaddi703 | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is a car park on site circa 15 cars
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SMITH & WESTERN, Horsham - 26 East St - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Smith & Western

Smith & Western is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4