We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sovereigns

Is this your business?
££ - £££, British,
Guildford Road, Woking GU22 7QQ, England
+44 1483 751426
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good41%
  • Average20%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (7 reviews)
“pies” (2 reviews)
“peas” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Grill, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Guildford Road, Woking GU22 7QQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

I've been coming here for years. It's a nice comfortable pub with friendly staff and a great place to meet for a drink, but unfortunately the food can be really hit and miss at times. Sometimes the service is great and the food is well...More

Thank Carl T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped into this Hostelry for a pint of ale on a Woking revisit and enjoyed an excellent pint of Adnams Ghost Ship. The pub continues to serve a good range of real ales kept in tip top condition. It is always well staffed and clean...More

Thank normanbarber00
General Manager A, Manager at The Sovereigns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Norman, Great review for us and so glad you like the Ghost Ship, it is one of my favourites too, and on permanently at present. Our menu has not long changed, so please do try it soon. Will be sure to share your kind...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for a drink, the beer was O.K. The menu was not very exciting, very much mass produced food offered by a chain pub.More

Thank Alan M
General Manager A, Manager at The Sovereigns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Alan, Thank you for taking time yo complete a review. I would be interested to know what your choice of beer was on the day, as OK is certainly not what we aspire to be and not what we think is acceptable for The...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Drinks and food after work. Very busy. Decent enough food esp the onion rings. Vibrant. Plenty of seating areas. Tv screens for different sports. Short walk from the station.

Thank shahsampler
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

They did it well. I planned my baby shower in Sov. Mainly as I had guest coming from London - close to The train station. My guest were really impressed with the place and did enjoy them self. It was really nice of them to...More

Thank Elwira M
General Manager A, Manager at The Sovereigns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Elwira- best wishes to you and your baby

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Went to this pub for my Nans 70th birthday today, drove all the way from Ramsgate and was really looking forward to it. First of all, the male bar tender was rude and they were so understaffed! There was about 15 of us and all...More

Thank paige22711
General Manager A, Manager at The Sovereigns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hello Paige, i was the lady who tried to put right the bad situation on sunday. I really cant apologise enough. I felt awful that you were celebrating such a special occasion and that we let you down. To say that we don't usually ever...More

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Have been here a few times and it's been good every time, good pub grub first class service. No complaints and good prices.

Thank westham16
General Manager A, Manager at The Sovereigns, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Hi Westham, Thank you for such a positive review, it gives a lot of pleasure knowing our guests enjoy our service. Will be sure to share these kind comments with the team. Regards Chris

Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Great pub, great food, lots of TVs and lots of people. Well heated friendly bar staff. Ask for Luke and Fran :)

Thank kirk385
General Manager A, Manager at The Sovereigns, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thanks for your comments. Wil pass on to Lucas and fran 🙂

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Our 2nd visit here and another great night out. Arrived about 19.30 and got a table for four straight away. We were told food would take up to 90 minutes as very busy with Xmas bookings. We had table 39 next to the fire. While...More

1  Thank tonybasing
General Manager A, Manager at The Sovereigns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Ah see I knew the 2 bottles of bubbly would make the time go quicker 😉 Thanks for the review! Merry Christmas from the Sovereigns 🎄🎄

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

This review covers a couple of meals. My friend and I had a mini birthday celebration, so took her for a meal. It was Sunday - I had roast Turkey, she went for the half chicken with the dressing and chips. She was brought the...More

1  Thank Melissa A
General Manager A, Manager at The Sovereigns, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Melissa, So glad your Experience at the Sovereigns was a good one. Will be sure to share with the team. Regards, Chris and the team.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Woking
Travelodge Woking Central
400 reviews
.20 miles away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
517 reviews
.21 miles away
Metro Hotel
28 reviews
.27 miles away
Woking Hotel
106 reviews
.38 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Soya Woking
146 reviews
.15 miles away
Araceli's
223 reviews
.18 miles away
L'Aroma
377 reviews
.20 miles away
Las Iguanas Woking
439 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
John Pinkerton Canal Cruises
32 reviews
.41 miles away
The Lightbox
201 reviews
.43 miles away
New Victoria Theatre
305 reviews
.35 miles away
Woking Park
36 reviews
.41 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mukhasben
26 November 2016|
Answer
Response from chriskel40 | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Mukhasben, Yes the Wheatsheaf is in Woking and it is an Ember Inn too. It has an Innkeepers Lodge attached to it as the accomodation. It is approx half a mile from us.
1
Vote
FairySweetness
7 September 2016|
Answer
Response from chriskel40 | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Hi, unfortunately we don't allow dogs in the pub, however they are very welcome in our secluded back beer garden and patio area. I have two Labradors myself and even they are not allowed in the pub, which they are not very... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Grill, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:30
Monday
11:30 - 00:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 00:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 00:30
Thursday
11:30 - 00:30
Friday
11:30 - 00:30
Saturday
10:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Guildford Road, Woking GU22 7QQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Woking
  • Phone Number: +44 1483 751426
Description
Located a short walk away from the heart of Woking. A part of an ever-growing chain of Ember Inns Gastropubs and is managed by Mitchells & Butlers plc, the largest operator of pubs and restaurants in the UK. The Sovereigns Offers the biggest, most unique selection of Real Ales in town and perfectly poured every time. Provides a wide variety of good pub food, brunch and something sweet never goes a miss. Chris, Lucy and the team would like to welcome you to our home!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;