We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn West End

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, European, Bar, British, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings

Location and contact

About
Barons Pub Company are delighted to be the new owners of The Inn at West End; a delightful pub and restaurant with twelve boutique letting rooms located on the A322 just 3 miles from J3 of the M3 in the Guildford direction. We're open all day every day for delicious food and drinks. We've just completed a refurbishment of the pub and dining areas and offer a range of exciting new menus! Pop in and see us - we look forward to welcoming you soon :-)
PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$59
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
European, Bar, British, Healthy
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
306
138
54
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
306
138
54
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kedgeree venison pudding mash burger salad wine list gastro pub specials board lovely atmosphere for sunday lunch gerry ascot vinegar landlord pubs surrey
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really good food. Great atmosphere in the bar area where we had our dinner. Recommend the fishcakes or crispy duck for a starter. Would prefer the ham in the Ham egg and chips to be a ham steak and hot, not cold slices you get...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank lizw119
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Liz, thanks for this lovely review and feedback. I will certainly share you kind comments with the team at The Inn and we hope to welcome you again soon :o)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited some time ago. A nice refrurb, albeit formulaic. The music sounded very tinny, like being on a train and hearing it through someone's speakers. Very frustrating. Although it had gone down hill under the previous owner, it used to be a cut above the...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank DonnaSurrey
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear DonnaSurrey, thank you for your further review and feedback which I have passed on to our Senior Management Team. Apologies if you missed it on our detailed wine list but we are very proud to stock a lovely local fizz: Greyfriars Blanc de Blancs...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for a lunch time visit with my wife and a friend having visited a number of other Barons Pubs in the past. We were very pleased that we visited here under the new ownership. The pub is very welcoming with friendly staff and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank GTSSurrey
Barons D, General Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for posting this lovely review, we're delighted to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed lunching at The Inn and thanks so much for recommending us. We do hope to see you again soon :0)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here for Dinner last night with two other couples. We hadn't been for two years and had always highly rated this gastro pub. The drinks were fine but the menu is now quite limited. Three of us ordered steaks. I asked if I...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank _carolineascot16
Barons D, General Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Caroline, many thanks for your review and feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your dining experience with us was so disappointing. Apologies that you were not offered a side salad to replace the steak's usual accompaniments, this is easy to do and should have...More

Reviewed 15 January 2019

We've always enjoyed food at Baron's Pubs but this certainly isn't up to the standards they have set elsewhere. I had the oriental duck salad as a starter which consisted of iceberg lettuce with somewhat fatty duck (no crisp skin), vegetables and sesame seeds. I'm...More

Date of visit: January 2019
5  Thank Malcolm H
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2019

Dear Malcolm, thank you for your review and feedback. I'm so sorry to hear about this very disappointing visit to The Inn, which you will know from previous visits to Barons pubs, is certainly not our usual standard. Please can you email me so that...More

Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Being a big fan of the Cricketers I was really looking forward to trying The Inn having not visited since it changed management. However it was a major disappointment. An uninspiring menu, poorly presented and most disappointingly served stone cold. In the days of the...More

Date of visit: January 2019
5  Thank B9693EKpeters
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2019

Oh dear, this is extremely disappointing to hear and I am so sorry that this happened. It is certainly not our usual standard (as you will know from the Cricketers) and definitely not the dining experience we would ever want for our customers. Please can...More

Reviewed 13 January 2019

Overpriced food, served stone cold, absolutely shocking. Service was just mediocre, we will not return.More

Date of visit: January 2019
4  Thank Bohoona12
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2019

I am very sorry to hear about this extremely disappointing visit. Please can you get in touch with me so that I can apologise personally and hopefully find out more? My email address is: debbie.eke@baronspubs.com Many thanks, I do hope to hear from you soon....More

Reviewed 10 January 2019

It's finally the first time I have been to the Inn at West End since it has been refurbished and even in the past and I am a local here! Anyway, the decor is really nice and it gives a warming vibe. We were greatest...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank v1Callum
Barons D, General Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2019

Many thanks for your lovely and considered feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meals and the service and would definitely recommend getting a Diner's Card, which, as you say, for a one-off investment of £1 gives 33% off your food bill whenever you dine...More

Reviewed 7 January 2019

Firstly the positives; the service was excellent, very welcoming, attentive during the meal and both friendly and professional. The recently refurbished interior is lovely, and everything is clean and crisp. The food prices are reasonable, and comparable in the area, and the 33% Barons card...More

Date of visit: January 2019
4  Thank David R
Barons D, Customer Relations Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2019

Dear David, many thanks for your review and detailed feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your meals were not up to par and for the general lack of flavour that you describe. I will certainly feed this back to the kitchen team and...More

Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

I’m very sceptical about pub roasts as they are usually worse than a home cooked one. But my son and I have LOVED this one. Crunchy veg, delicious gravy, lots of cracking, tender and tasty meat. Absolutely loved it!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank curlys1
Barons D, General Manager at The Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2019

Fantastic! Great to hear how much you both enjoyed your Sunday Roasts at The Inn and we hope to welcome you again soon :-)

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Bagshot Hotel
534 reviews
2.76 miles away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
2,438 reviews
3.03 miles away
Gorse Hill
559 reviews
3.37 miles away
Premier Inn Woking West (A324) Hotel
627 reviews
3.43 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 234 nearby restaurants
Pa's Kitchen at Hen & Chickens
22 reviews
.95 miles away
Randalls Coffee and Wine Bar
16 reviews
1.14 miles away
Pasha Chobham Cafe
295 reviews
1.81 miles away
Adriatico - Authentic Italian Food
10 reviews
1.61 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 63 nearby attractions
Chobham Adventure Farm
154 reviews
1.57 miles away
The Spa at Pennyhill Park
238 reviews
2.67 miles away
Pine Ridge Golf Club
217 reviews
2.72 miles away
Brookwood Cemetery
150 reviews
2.84 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Simon B
30 October 2018|
Answer
Response from Maureen S |
no
0
Votes
Simon B
30 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Trampilot | Reviewed this property |
It isn't as much as it used to be. I believe they are allowed in the bar and certainly outside but I think this will change shortly so that dogs will only be allowed outside.
0
Votes
Charlie007123
25 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from nosher01 | Property representative |
Children that will sit at table for breakfast lunch or dinner are welcome, but not if only for a drink. We don't have a children's menu but happily make a smaller portion of something for them.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing