We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seaside Restaurant

263 Main Street | Gros Morne National Park, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
+1 709-451-3461
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (49 reviews)
“scallops” (45 reviews)
“chowder” (33 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Seafood, Soups
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
263 Main Street | Gros Morne National Park, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

During our trip to Gros Morne we searched out local restaurants which had a reputation for good food. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality of the seafood our party enjoyed. All dishes prepared were excellent, served hot and with a lovely presentation. We...More

Thank SERAF54321
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

I always find it amazing how some folks, as yourselves, can really enjoy what our Seaside Restaurant staff & owners work so hard to present, while others just don't see that. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again if your happen...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017

We'd been told the Seaside Restaurant is the best in the area and were looking forward to a great lunch. Sadly, that did not happen. The pan fried scallops (3 small and 3 puny) were a total disappointment and more in line with an appetizer...More

Thank dkb60
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Sorry to hear that you left hungry - I am sure that if you addressed the fact that you were still hungry at our restaurant - we would have taken care of that for you. We, Newfoundlanders, do not like to see folks go away...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Due to the rain we chose not to hike. We had lunch here and were not disappointed. The location is really pretty (even in heavy rain). We had the seafood chowder, fish burger and the scallops. All were delicious and portions were good. The scallops...More

Thank BDFD
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for taking to time to visit our Seaside Restaurant here on the beach in Trout River. Happy to her that you enjoyed the food that was served to you. Thanks for complimenting our server, they work really hard to ensure that each and...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017

i had Turbot and my wife had cod. both were excellent. they also had a very talented woman playing harp which was very elegant. the view is incredible.

Thank davidbe57
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the harp music and the food here at the Seaside in Trout River. Thank you & Cheers, Jenny

Reviewed 10 September 2017

This small restaurant is at the end of the southern drive in Gros Morne National Park. It is located right on the beach with great views from either direction. The menu is limited almost exclusively to seafood. We tried the pan fried scallops and the...More

Thank CKT808
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Seaside Restaurant here in Trout River. The view is incredible! Cheers, Jenny

Reviewed 7 September 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended, so we drove down there for lunch. The view is nice if you are one of the window tables. The service was very slow, and one of the wait staff was quite grumpy. The chowder was thick, not cream based,...More

Thank yvonnederoller
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Our chowder is thick & cream based. I do apologize if your server was grumpy - maybe just an off day for her - I have addressed the concern. Sorry to hear you were disappointed - maybe if you are...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017

This place was recommended by local folks. The views are wonderful and the food is very tasty. Healthy choices are available as well as more traditional food. Service was a bit slow, but the view made up for it and the waitress was very good.More

Thank Jean6564
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to visit our Seaside Restaurant here in Trout River. Our food is prepared from scratch upon ordering, therefore, depending on how busy the kitchen is - it may take a little longer than your average restaurant. Happy to hear our...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Seaside came highly recommended by locals when we asked about good seafood. The location is a bit off the beaten track (even by Newfoundland standards), but we weren't disappointed. We were greeted by Jenny, the owner who provided some background on her business. We were...More

Thank Mark B
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant here by the Sea in Trout River. Our mussels, Scallops, and Cod are among the most popular here at the Seaside. We sure hope you enjoyed the rest of Gros Morne National Park. Thank You! Cheers, Jenny

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We were on a tour of Gros Morne, staying in Norris Point and a tour to Trout River was suggested. When were their we stopped at Seaside Restaurant for some lunch. There were four of us and the breaded cod sandwich and scallops were the...More

Thank TorontoRoemer
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Just one clarification - the cod is not breaded - it is lightly panfried & served on a bun. Nevertheless, we are glad you enjoyed your lunch. Cheers, Jenny

Reviewed 24 August 2017

Great mussels and a wonderful salad, worth the wait, service is a little slow and wifi didn't work for us.More

Thank TKpets
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the mussels at our Seaside Restaurant. Wifi sometimes do not work if there's a lot of folks streaming . . . and somedays the network is not what it should be - not our fault! Sometimes you just have...More

PreviousNext
12345631
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Trout River Hotels
Hotel North
67 reviews
1.32 miles away
Gros Morne Cabins
143 reviews
11.25 miles away
C & G Cabins
50 reviews
11.80 miles away
Ocean View Hotel
220 reviews
12.01 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Loft Restaurant
229 reviews
9.59 miles away
Sugar Hill Inn Dining Room
94 reviews
11.73 miles away
Treasure Box
249 reviews
12.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Green Gardens
61 reviews
.82 miles away
The Discovery Center
103 reviews
8.96 miles away
Galliott Studios
36 reviews
9.50 miles away
Bonne Bay Marine Station
153 reviews
11.42 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lynnmclean48
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Young0252 | Reviewed this property |
I highly recommend you make a reservation. First of all, it is one of the fancier restaurants in the area, secondly I find it is courteous for the owners allowing them to manage their business better, and thirdly you have a... More
0
Votes
Nick Y
11 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jenny P | Property representative |
Good Morning. Just so beautiful here in Trout River this morning. Our Menu for the seaside Restaurant is not a published one as we like to keep it unique too our place. We have a price range from $22 to $32 for dinner... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Cuisine
Canadian, Seafood, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 263 Main Street | Gros Morne National Park, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Newfoundland and Labrador  >  Newfoundland  >  Gros Morne National Park  >  Trout River
  • Phone Number: +1 709-451-3461
  • E-mail
Description
Winner of Hall of Fame Restaurant! Harp Music on Sunday & Wednesday evenings! 7 to 9 pm Seaside Restaurant is located in the most scenic part of GROS MORNE NATIONAL PARK, in the small fishing village of Trout River (Route 431), on the beachfront overlooking the ocean with its spectacular sunsets & a kilometer of boardwalk... less than a 10 minute drive from the Tablelands Exhibit. Enjoy the best of Newfoundland cuisine and enjoy beautiful sunsets over the water. After a hike up the Tableland Mountains, or a boat tour up Trout River Pond, this is a great place to come and relax with some real cultural delicacies and picturesque view. Great Food, Great Wine & Great Views of the Ocean! NEW FALL HOURS: 12 noon to 8:30 pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing