We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Summer Kitchen Restaurant

10425 Water St, Ephraim, WI 54234-9501
+1 920-854-2131
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“breakfast” (74 reviews)
“soup” (98 reviews)
“sandwich” (18 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
American, Soups, Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
10425 Water St, Ephraim, WI 54234-9501
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed breakfast on the patio. The flowers were beautiful and the food fresh. Service was quick and friendly. The sausage links were big and the salsa homemade. It had the perfect kick of heat!

Thank slwhite243
OnBehalfOf, Owner at The Summer Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's great to hear you enjoyed everything -- thanks for coming by! I'm thrilled our team did a good job taking care of you, and we hope that means we can look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then -- take care!

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Different options of getting taster size and all you can eat to getting a large bowl. Many entries to combine with soup.Large sandwich portions, friendly service. Place could use an upgrade since the men’s room is outside the building and women’s rest room is inside....More

Thank billp422
OnBehalfOf, Owner at The Summer Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for letting us know your thoughts! We are happy​ to know you enjoyed our food and service. We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

The food is way over priced even though it is a tourist stop. Over six dollars for a little cup of soup is ridiculous. The staff was friendly, but the soup really wasn’t that great. Wouldn’t stop again.

Thank Rachel P
OnBehalfOf, Owner at The Summer Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We sincerely apologize that you felt your experience with us was less than excellent. We always strive to make our customers happy with ​delicious food at a good value. Hopefully, you will reconsider and come back to try us again.

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We had a group of 16 people. They took our drink and food orders quickly. $17.95 for 1/2 roasted chicken is a bit steep. They had excellent soups. The lasagna was also great.

Thank Mikebear62848
OnBehalfOf, Owner at The Summer Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We always appreciate hearing feedback from our customers, and we're happy you thought our soups were excellent. Thank you for the review. Hope you stop by again the next you're in the area.

Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had the Taster's Cup... an unlimited number of trips to their buffet of five delicious soups. It was really good. Maybe a few dollars on the high side at $17, but we had happy, full tummies when we left and that's what matters most....More

Thank paculliton
OnBehalfOf, Owner at The Summer Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for the nice review and kind words. We know Clarissa will be flattered. ​We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Reviewed 21 September 2017

We had breakfast while two chipmunks romped outside our window view. The breakfast was large and good. Our waitress was from Romania and was an absolute delight. The Garden Farm breakfast was huge. It's a cute place. Lots of beautiful flowers in season. Would go...More

Thank JudyLake
Reviewed 14 September 2017

A place we go to each time we are in Door County. Their soups are delicious. Their mushroom with wild rice is my favorite. They have bakery and huge pieces of pie for dessert. They serve sandwiches and wraps also. Yum

Thank 2015Traveler49858
Reviewed 6 September 2017

the lunch i ordered came with soup. the soup had a bug in it. the chicken salad had a bone in it. the waitress was rude. the place smelled like disinfectant and the experience was absolutely awful. no apology from anyone. do not recommend.

1  Thank strandedindolphinate
OnBehalfOf, Owner at The Summer Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Well, this was disappointing to read, as the experience you described is nowhere near the one we aim to provide our customers, nor what our other reviews reflect.

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Food especially the soups were mediocre Nice people and staff. For 1 bowl of soup and a quesadilla ... $33.00 Again, better options for the moneyMore

Thank rbsavannah
OnBehalfOf, Owner at The Summer Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We always love hearing from our guests, and always appreciate the feedback; however, we are a bit confused on your pricing. It sounds like you were charged for our Tasters Choice soup bar and not for only one bowl of soup. Please contact us if...More

Reviewed 18 August 2017

I have always loved stopping here for lunch. Several soups and a host of sandwiches for any taste. Their salads are good too, but it is a bit of a challenge to find gluten free options.

Thank 4Youandyou
OnBehalfOf, Owner at The Summer Kitchen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks for visiting us again! It was a pleasure having you, and we're happy that you've always enjoyed your meals with us. We appreciate your support and can't wait to see you next time you're in the area.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Joe Jo's Pizza and Gelato
216 reviews
.09 miles away
Fred & Fuzzy's Waterfront Bar & Grill
575 reviews
.65 miles away
McEvoy's Culinaria and Paella Catering Door County
8 reviews
.86 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Fine Line Designs Gallery
11 reviews
.24 miles away
George Burr Gallery
13 reviews
.51 miles away
Red Putter Mini Golf
82 reviews
.14 miles away
The Spa at Sacred Grounds
30 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Summer Kitchen Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10425 Water St, Ephraim, WI 54234-9501
  • Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Door County  >  Ephraim
  • Phone Number: +1 920-854-2131
Description
The Summer Kitchen is renowned for its homemade soups, fresh bread and yummy desserts. At least five different soups are available daily. Order a single cup, two cups, a bowl or our Taster's cups and enjoy! All lunch entrees include a cup of soup. Dinner entrees are served with a baked potato, a side of vegetables, homemade bread and your choice of soup or salad.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing