We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bar Boulud

££££
Neighbourhood:
Upper West Side
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
1900 Broadway, New York City, NY 10023-7004 (64th Street)
+1 212-595-0303
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 10:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 23:00
Fri 11:30 - 00:00
Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 575: English reviews
syosset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We went to Bar Boulud before an opera matinee performance. The perfect start to a wonderful performance. There was absolutely nothing that could be criticized. The food was excellent. Service was the best I have had recently.

Helpful?
Thank LIerSyosset
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

New York restaurants are usually good, but this one is exceptional. Fabulous selections and a very excellent wine list. We recommend the coq au vin and the salmon. Fabulous desserts.

Helpful?
Thank 73Dwight
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

No offer to check coats on arrival in a NY winter followed by distracted service followed by a disapproving huff from the waiter when we indicated we would not be drinking not an auspicious start to a weekday lunch visit. My wife's Nicoise salad however was well made; the onion soup, though small, likewise while my burger with an excellent,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ted m
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

Dear Ted, Our intention is for the service you receive to be welcoming, attentive, and professional, and your entire meal to be excellent. So while I thank you for your kind comments, I am sorry some of your meal was not satisfying, as we want you to have a great time here, whether you stop in to enjoy a meal,... More 

Rockville Centre, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Any place that sports the Boulud name had better have phenomenal food and Bar Boulud did not disappoint on that score. Steak Tartare, Le Tarte Flambe, Onion Soup Sea Bass, Chicken-It was all grand (as Daniel would expect). My only quibble (and really that's all it is) was the fact that the Overseers outnumbered the people actually waiting table and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
338 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Simplified Boulud compared to his other establishments, and affordable (for NY). Three of us before a show. We started with shared oysters which were fresh and delicious. After that I had the escargot, which was not overly buttered or garlicky. My scallops were excellent with a some white Rhone. The beet salad was particularly well received as well as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cybersebor
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

Knowing you enjoyed your entire meal, as well as your wine, gives me great pleasure. Thank you for your terrific compliments for our cuisine and ambiance, and be assured, each of Chef Daniel’s restaurants is designed to be unique and exceptional. Gratefully, Kelly Armstrong, Bar Boulud More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place across the road from The Met Opera. Very calm atmosphere with extremely helpful staff. Loved it. Be prepared to spend four times the UK retail price on the wines and, although the wine list is lauded, it is far from breathtaking. Not bad either just not quite up there like I'd expected but then I know and LOVE... More 

Helpful?
Thank John L
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

Dear John, I am glad you enjoyed our ambiance, and thank you for your gracious compliments, as well as your high recommendation. We appreciate your feedback, so I thank you for letting us know you did not find our wine selection to your expectations. And, while we do have quite a unique and extensive list, we are always looking for... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely menu but food poorly prepared. Mussels over cooked and the sauce tasted like vinegar. Service was indifferent. Difficult to catch the waitress's at two. To be fair, when we gave feedback about the mussels, they offered to bring something else and not charge for the mussels.

Helpful?
Thank et1012016
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed in your recent visit here, and that the mussels were not prepared and served as they should have been. We always desire to serve excellently prepared cuisine with attentive service, but we let you down this time and would like to make things right. Kindly send me your email or phone number to karmstrong@danielnyc.com... More 

rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

And pushy American service! A friend and I picked up Boulud for a pre-opera dinner. As soon as seated, we were "hassled" by a waiter to order an expensive imported bottle of water. We declined. Instead, I ordered a Kir with white wine. A Kir royal (with French champagne) was delivered instead. I complained, the waiter told me enjoy it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank cariocaleblon
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

I am glad you chose to dine with us before the opera, and want to assure you our intention is to be helpful, never pushy, so I am sorry you felt pressured in any way by our team member. Thank you for your kind words for our ambiance, as well as your Moules and Boudin Blanc. And though we do... More 

New York
Level Contributor
226 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food here never disappoints. The selection of charcuterie is excellent, the soupe à l'oignon is perhaps the best in New York, and the selections of appetizers and main courses are all very well-conceived and executed. The same is true for the desserts. I particularly like the plate of petits fours. The back part of the restaurant can get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter R
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

Dear Peter, We are very happy you always enjoy our authentic French Bistro cuisine, and thank you for your kind and thoughtful compliments. Please be sure to ask for me the next time you dine with us, so I can welcome you personally. Gratefully, Kelly Armstrong, Bar Boulud More 

Jericho, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have been there at least five times, but this last time....was not up to par. It has been a great place to go before a concert at Lincoln Center but this past Saturday, it wasn't as good. The waiter kept pushing us to order expensive items we did not want. When we said we weren't interested, he was visibly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jessg_10
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

Dear Jess, Thank you for dining with us often; we appreciate your patronage, and are sorry your recent visit did not live up to your expectations. Our intention is to consistently serve you exceptional food, and always be helpful and transparent, never deceptive. I would like to discuss the details of your visit further, to make things right. Kindly send... More 

Travellers who viewed Bar Boulud also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bar Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$25 - US$100
Cuisine
French
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 10:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1900 Broadway, New York City, NY 10023-7004
    (64th Street)
  • Public Transportation: Columbus Circle and Lincoln Center subway stops are within blocks of the restaurant. Local Broadway bus lines stop directly in front of the restaurant.
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  New York City>  > Upper West Side
  • Neighbourhood: Upper West Side
  • Phone Number: +1 212-595-0303
Description
Bar Boulud is Chef Daniel Boulud’s casual wine bar and bistro located across from Manhattan’s Lincoln Center. A sumptuous array of house made charcuterie complements classic bistro cooking at both lunch and dinner. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner seven days and offers pre- and after-theater dining as well as a four-course weekend brunch for $32.00. Outdoor dining is available on the Broadway sidewalk terrace seasonally. We offer a 3-course prix-fixe at lunch for $29.00 and a $45.00 price fixe menu for dinner, as well as a la carte options. Three private wine themed dining rooms adjacent to the walk-through wine cellar are available for private events.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bar Boulud and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bar Boulud staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Upper West Side

Neighbourhood Profile
Upper West Side
Nestled between Central Park and the Hudson River, the Upper West Side offers iconic architecture and a quiet, residential respite from the buzzing energy of downtown. Along Central Park West are many of the city’s most iconic apartment buildings, as well as the American Museum of Natural History, which has been welcoming visitors to its historic exhibit halls for over 140 years. Culture fans will love Lincoln Center, home to some of the world’s best opera, dance, film, and theatre performances, all centrally located around a beautiful fountain. Spanning the entire length of the Upper West Side, Riverside Park is ideal for a long, leisurely stroll in a quiet green space.
Explore this neighbourhood