We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bears Head

37-39 Windsor Road, Penarth CF64 1JD, Wales
+44 29 2070 6424
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good39%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“beans” (3 reviews)
“steak” (6 reviews)
“meet friends” (2 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:30 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
37-39 Windsor Road, Penarth CF64 1JD, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Awful service Kerrie the manager and her shift were the worst ever ..... television too loud please don't cone hereMore

Thank Gareth7293
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for leaving us a review. We're sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience and that you will no longer be visiting us. As advertised, we will be showing all the World Cup matches (with sound). Again our apologies. Thanks The...More

Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Came in with my friends and we were told by the duty manager that we were not allowed to sit upstairs because some people from my school made a mess up there a few weeks ago. We were treated like criminals despite being regular customers...More

Thank H_Travel_H
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately due to an ongoing issue we had with a large group of students misusing our family area, we have asked that students did not use the area to prevent this issue from reoccurring. This...More

Reviewed 17 March 2018

Had an early evening dinner with my daughter in the upstairs family area this week. Every single table up there had dirty plates on , some looked they had been there hours. Mess everywhere and we had to clear a table. Ordered food at bar...More

Thank Sara_the_Explorer
The Bears Head P, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our apologies that you did not have a positive visit as customer service is highly important to us. We would like to investigate this matter further so we can take the appropriate steps to...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a nice breakfast but on walking into the pub it’s not very inviting. There must be a distinct lack of staff as there are lots of dirty tables and the kitchen area which you can see downstairs was a complete mess with plates piled...More

Thank Sarahlucy13
The Bears Head P, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Unfortunately on this particular morning we were short staffed so our apologies that it did not seem up to our normal standards! We do try and keep our customer area as clean as possible and...More

Reviewed 22 February 2018

When we went upstairs to the family area, there were dirty dishes everywhere and we had to clear our own table. When my husband used the app and the drinks showed up, the staff member just put them down on the table and left, not...More

Thank sarahcrobrien
The Bears Head P, General Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our apologies that you did not have a positive visit as customer service is highly important to us. We would like to investigate this matter further so we can take the appropriate steps to...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

I suppose I have fairly modest expectations, but a good quality tasty burger with great chips and a pint of Abbott Ale for £8 seemed like good value to me; £7 with a soft drink. The atmosphere on a Sunday evening was friendly.More

Thank Stewart M
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thanks for leaving us a review on your visit to The Bears Head. We're glad to hear that you were pleased with our great value offers, on your next visit why not check out our new Christmas Menu with similar offers! Many Thanks The Management...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017

A group of five related retirement pensioners chose diverse things from menu - all good, reasonably priced meals. Rapid, cheerful service even though pub was reasonably busy. Great value for money.More

Thank 456David
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thanks you for leaving us some feedback on your recent visit. We're happy that you felt there was enough choice to suit everyone in your group, we do aim to please! May I suggest if you're planning to visit again soon, our new Christmas Menu...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017

What a difference! I've not visited the Bear's Head for the past six months . . . mainly because it was not good for me . . . I visit a pub for three reasons - good service / good beer/food / and nice people...More

Thank VinneyMontana
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit to our establishment. We're really pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience! Customer service is incredibly important to us, and passing on comments like these gives the...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017

It was very busy on our visit but we managed to secure the last free table upstairs. Unfortunately we had to clear away the mass of dirty dishes and glasses which had not been cleared. We put them on another table which had been vacated...More

Thank JAC446
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your visit to us. We're sorry to hear that is wasn't altogether a positive one. Unfortunately sometimes we do get incredibly busy, so finding a table can be a struggle. On the plus...More

Reviewed 28 September 2017

A great place for lunch or dinner. Food was good and so was the beer. Service was pretty fast. I had a burger and fries and the wife had a pride Beef cottage.

Thank Jeffrey M
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to us here at The Bears Head. We're pleased to hear that you had a pleasant visit and that you enjoyed our products and service! Many Thanks The Bears Head

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Penarth
Glendale Hotel
117 reviews
.24 miles away
Cefn Mably Hotel
15 reviews
.69 miles away
The Manor House Hotel
179 reviews
1.06 miles away
The St. David's Hotel
4,186 reviews
1.50 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Busy Teapot
211 reviews
.11 miles away
Bar 44
434 reviews
.05 miles away
Blue Pelican Cafe
225 reviews
.08 miles away
Ocho Lounge
288 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Penarth Pier Pavilion
384 reviews
.49 miles away
Glass By Design
34 reviews
.26 miles away
The Golden Lion
41 reviews
.20 miles away
Challenge Wales
12 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bears Head staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:30
Thursday
08:00 - 23:30
Friday
08:00 - 23:30
Saturday
08:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 37-39 Windsor Road, Penarth CF64 1JD, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Vale of Glamorgan  >  Penarth
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2070 6424
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing