We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cafe Sandspit

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1440 Sandspit Rd, Warkworth 0982, New Zealand
+64 9-425 9475
Website
Today
09:00 - 15:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 09:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Located at the tip of a spit of land jutting out into the bay, it feels like you are eating on a boat! Wide panoramic East views, fresh delicious food, we will go again. Really easy to find (go to sandspit and just keep driving until you run out of land!) Good to enjoy fresh fish with a sea breeze,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan M
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have had some very good meals here in the past. Turned up with some friends for Thursday lunch. Big sign outside saying " yes we are open" went in and asked for a menu. Only had one take-out menu on a clipboard with very meagre offerings, no "eat in" menu at all. My companions had sat down and found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Pat_and_Paul
S.Glos.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you sit at the few tables in the window, it's like you are actually on the water as this part overhangs to sea. Lovely setting and scenery. Food very enjoyable but problem is that restaurant is not always open.

Helpful?
Thank Margarita2008
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We popped in to grab a coffee before taking the Kawau Island Mail run cruise & wow what a disappointment. Asked for a flat white and got told "no we do lattes", the coffee tasted burnt and was so hot that I couldn't hold the cup. Sad as they're the only coffee shop at the jetty. The other goods they... More 

Helpful?
Thank nomadmattm
rva1441, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

hello again.... lets be accurate, you asked for a large flat white and i explained that we only have a flat white at 190ml or a latte at 250ml.. you ordered a flat white in a large cup, which is a latte. secondly you asked for your coffee to be extra hot. i explained that we heat the coffee to... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly staff, great chips and good coffee. This was a good stop with kids as we headed to Kawua island on the ferry.

Helpful?
Thank ShaneDooley
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't understand the owner's attitude, but it seems that the customer must pass his rudiments of politeness test. Very inappropriate and unpleasant. Almost a Fawlty Towers type persona.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nihonihoohura
rva1441, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

i think you understand us perfectly well... if you're gonna come here and be impolite to us we will be impolite back.. most of our customers are nice people and therefore have a nice experience... a small percentage of our customers are not nice and have a not nice experience. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great spot to sit for a good coffee. Very entertaining with a full cafe, lots of friendly banter with the staff. A bit noisy when it's humming. One big guy in the cafe was making enough noise for everyone but the cafe owner settled him down with a free coffee. He was with me so I also receive a second... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I run a small tour company taking kiwis around NZ and have been taking people to this cafe for these reasons.The views and the food and service that my customers get makes me look good.In all the years that I have been going there I have not had one bad experince .

Helpful?
1 Thank BRENT L
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location was cool, coffee was good, food was reasonable - BUT the owner's rude/obnoxious attitude to his customers sadly ruined it all.

Helpful?
4 Thank 313stepheni
rva1441, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

we get hundreds of comments a month on our good service... however if you are going to be rude to me i will be rude back... it is such a shame that in such a glorious country we have this small percentage of people who think hospitality workers are beneath them, and are then shocked when that rudeness is mirrored... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Coffee and food (which consists in muffins and ham/cheese croissants) wasn't bad. But the owner is rude and unfriendly. During the 30 minutes we were there we saw him kick out a customer who complained about the food, and abused another one. It made us very uncomfortable and we didn't enjoy our time. This place has nothing else to offer... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank whknz
rva1441, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

we get hundreds of comments a month on our good service... however if you are going to be rude to me i will be rude back... its all you deserve More 

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sandspit also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Sandspit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$17
Cuisine
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 15:00
Monday
09:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 15:00
Thursday
09:00 - 15:00
Friday
09:00 - 15:00
Saturday
09:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1440 Sandspit Rd, Warkworth 0982, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Warkworth
  • Phone Number: +64 9-425 9475
Description
A pretty seaside cafe with the water coming right up to below the conservatory window at high tide. All meals are cooked freshly to order or chose a quick home baked snack. Fully licensed and open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner. If you would like to come for dinner due to our scenic location please be sure to book so we know you will be coming along.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Sandspit staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?