We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cafe Sandspit

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Cafe, European, New Zealand
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1440 Sandspit Rd, Warkworth 0982, New Zealand
+64 9-425 9475
Today
09:00 - 15:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 09:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 222: English reviews
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Thanks Justin and the team for your wonderful hospitality!! The coffee was superb, the joke was hilarious, and the view was amazing. We loved the down to earth, friendly, family atmosphere and the 'real' kiwi hospitality with your awesome personality! We would recommend to all and will certainly be back whenever we can :+)

Helpful?
Thank KiwiEarthAngel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Justin is extremely engaging and gave us a free pain au chocolate with our very good coffee. A very good coffee just how I like it! Top marks for the coffee (great barista) and I'm fussy and from Auckland! Will definitely get another next time I'm visiting. Thanks Justin!

Helpful?
Thank Annie G
NZ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attended this cafe over the holiday period. Totally agree with previous poor ratings. After 9am on a busy weekend and no menu displayed, kitchen closed till 2pm notice and a general vibe that we don't really want to be here. It could be a gold mine, but no show of that without some new staff there and management. I note... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank juliababy
rva1441, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

Hello. We have now over 180 great reviews commenting on our good food coffee service ambience and view/location... We operate breakfast lunch and dinner menus, and as a small family run business work very hard and are proud and passionate about our little cafe/restaurant. We have been here for over four years now and i have worked as a fine... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic friendly welcome. Great service. Food is amazing. All this is highlighted by the amazing peaceful location. Highly recommend. Will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome coffee and super friendly staff! I come here regularly and just love it, the food is always fantastic - thanks Justin x

Helpful?
Thank Emmm1987
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a major disappointment. The location is perfect. The views amazing and beautiful. The problem is the cafe is poorly presented and lacking in appeal. It is minimalist in terms of any sort of decor or aesthetics and when we went, just after it had opened at 9am in peak season, there was a completely empty display cabinet which looked... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank AntipodeanGenes
robynkingston, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

Hello. self-entitled much??? You are one of those people eh...? You know nothing about the specifics of this business or the people involved and what is going on in their lives. However you still choose to judge them... Good luck out there... Enjoy karma.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was nice.. Hot chocolate was great too. Coming back again definitely as it is convenient with quick and easy service

Helpful?
Thank Jacob F
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016

Sandpsit cafe, the place we always head for - excellent cuisine, generous prices, best short black, extraordinary views, and the greatest Host, Conversationalist, Chef... we love it. Here is the sign that makes us Happy !

Helpful?
Thank HT0X0
Warkworth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

Got to really respect catering/hospitality staff. They have a very difficult job and most are awesome in the face of stressful work. That's why there really is no excuse for the discourtesy of this cafe manager when even his bewildered customers are being as polite as possible in the face of it. Really brings the side down and reflects poorly... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Jonno334
robynkingston, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

If you are going to come into our restaurant and be rude and self-entitled please dont be surprised if we are rude back or ask you to leave..... just cause we work in hospitality doesnt give you the right to be rude to us and treat us like your servants. More 

Snells Beach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

First off, if you're on holiday there are nicer beaches. Useful for the boat trips and Sandspit itself is ok, with some decent walks but theres plenty better. If you're looking for a place nr the marina, the cafe fine. If you're a local, skip to last para. Overall...A mixed bag. Coffee pretty good. Food - pies, salads and sausie... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo W

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sandspit also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Sandspit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$17
Cuisine
Cafe, European, New Zealand
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 15:00
Monday
09:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 15:00
Thursday
09:00 - 15:00
Friday
09:00 - 15:00
Saturday
09:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1440 Sandspit Rd, Warkworth 0982, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Warkworth
  • Phone Number: +64 9-425 9475
Description
A pretty seaside cafe with the water coming right up to below the conservatory window at high tide. All meals are cooked freshly to order or chose a quick home baked snack. Fully licensed and open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner. If you would like to come for dinner due to our scenic location please be sure to book so we know you will be coming along.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Sandspit staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?