We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mooring

) #7 of 163 Restaurants in Newport ££ - £££ American, , Seafood
1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-846-2260
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“doughnuts” (215 reviews)
“seafood” (344 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
Write a Review
Reviews (2,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great meal, great location, great ambiance. Try the bag of doughnuts. The oysters were also very good.

Thank Julian H
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Julian, Thanks for the five-star review and happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. Our seafood doughnuts seem to be a popular choice. Hope you can come back and try them again. Sincerely, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to eat at this restaurant because it was close to where we were staying and sat right on the water. They have a nice outdoor deck overlooking the water, and the interior was nice as well. I had the Braised Beef Cavatelli which...More

Thank bruwest
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear bruwest, Thank you for the review and your honest feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed our setting here in Newport. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your meal. We strive to deliver the very best. I will share your feedback with our culinary...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We all ordered 2 lb Lobsters. They seemed a bit smaller than 2lbs we believe. Taste was good. One of us of 4 had the lobster taken apart in kitchen and just got the meat. That is when it really seemed light. Good salads.More

Thank Irwin37
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Irwin37, Thank you for the review and I am sorry to hear you felt that your lobsters were light on the meat. Our lobsters are all weighed prior to cooking so they are all at or above the stated weight however the amount of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Reservation was for dining room. Chose to have drink in bar while waiting. Most engaging bar staff and nice crowd made us decide to eat at bar. Food was fabulous. Lobster/crab coated sole was mouth watering. My partner's salmon surpassed expectations.More

Thank 793sandy
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear 793sandy, Thank you for the nice review and I am glad to hear our bar staff was so engaging and nice. We want our guests to feel relaxed and welcomed at every seat in the house so I am happy to know that this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to The Mooring Restaurant for Father's Day lunch and the food was wonderful. We were seated on the patio area (which was covered in plastic due to the weather) where we could see the beautiful yachts coming and going. The restaurant was full...More

Thank leonard889
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear leonard889, Thank you for the nice review and for celebrating Father's Day at The Mooring. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. Sorry we couldn't do anything about the weather. We look forward to seeing you again. Gratefully, Dan Fischer...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Ben here a number of times. Professional waitstaff. Table reservation honored in a very timely fashion. Cherrystone Clams nice and fresh. Great presentation. Scallop chowder delicious. Lobster croissant packed and tasty. Order the uptown salad. Sole portion very large and tasty. Great deserts! Pork-up a...More

Thank RoboReviewer45
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear RoboReviewer45, Thank your for the nice review and the five-star rating. Glad to hear that we made such a favorable impression. We look forward to seeing you again. I'll talk to our chef about porking up a little too. Sincerely, Dan Fischer General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Out for a walk on a lovely day, hubby decided he wanted a cocktail. Went in and were greeted nicely, and directed to the bar. Not a warm welcome at the bar, the one closer to the back. We basically went in also to check...More

1  Thank NJTink
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear NJTink, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and sorry to hear about your recent visit. We will discuss your feedback internally with the team to make sure we are always providing a welcoming atmosphere. We hope you can visit us...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We'd return to The Mooring in a heartbeat! The setting is lovely, the food was superb, and our service was attentive without being overbearing. We started with the crab cake appetizer, served with aurora sauce. Delicious! My entree, swordfish served atop crispy polenta, was grilled...More

Thank CollegeProf_9
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear CollegeProf_9, Thank you for the review and for recommending our restaurant. Your review is just what we like to hear about a guest's experience: superb food, attentive service and lovely setting. Plus you capped it all off with some Take Five Pie - a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Prime location in the heart of Newport and updated decor brings back memories of the golden days of sailing and partying in Newport. I had lunch here a year ago and it was delicious. This time the food was bland. The seafood taco this time...More

Thank Singlethreaded
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Singlethreaded, Thanks for the review and for returning to The Mooring. I was sorry to hear we did not live up to the same standard of excellence that you experienced on your last visit. Our goal is to provide that same top-quality experience on...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped in for drinks at the bar with friends while in Newport last weekend. While the place itself has a nice vibe, the bartender, Rebekah was downright rude to our group. Her lackluster personality left us with a bad impression. She wasn't overwhelmed when we...More

Thank dgr1968NewJersey
Dan F, General Manager at The Mooring, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear dgr1968NewJersey, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and sorry to hear about your recent visit We pride ourselves in providing the best in customer service and I was dismayed to hear this was not what you experienced. We will discuss...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Landing Restaurant
22 reviews
.07 miles away
22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille
1,208 reviews
.05 miles away
Fluke Wine Bar & Kitchen
551 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bowen's Wharf
277 reviews
.05 miles away
Bird's Eye View Helicopters
101 reviews
.11 miles away
Gansett Cruises
395 reviews
.11 miles away
Sailing Excursions Adirondack II
492 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Rhiirhi
If I have dinner plans at the mooring where is there a good hotel or bed and breakfast to stay at walking distance in downtown Rhode Island ? Thank you !
30 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Cheri N | Reviewed this property |
The Marriott is excellent.
0
Votes
oceanstar9
Does their Sunday brunch include traditional brunch menu items? From the menu online it looks more like lunch than brunch: no egg dishes, etc.
21 March 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from momof4RhodeIsland | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure about the brunch menu as we were there for a late afternoon lunch. The view is outstanding, maybe calling ahead will give you an idea of the brunch menu items.
0
Votes
njdattilo
Could you accommodate 20 -25 for a wedding rehearsal dinner on a Thursday in June 2017.
31 October 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Marsha L | Reviewed this property |
You will have to ask them, but I know they have private dining area as we saw a large group come in the same time we arrived.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$80
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
    (America's Cup Ave.)
  • Location: United States  >  Rhode Island (RI)  >  Newport
  • Phone Number: +1 401-846-2260
  • E-mail
Description
The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing