We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lancaster Arms

) #2 of 5 Restaurants in Desford ££ - £££ , British,
Station Road, Desford, Leicester LE9 9FP, England
+44 1455 824265
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (11 reviews)
“steak” (18 reviews)
“minted lamb” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Station Road, Desford, Leicester LE9 9FP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

After a busy day, myself and partner decided to go down to the Lancaster again for a carvey! The manager, Sharon was very accommodating as we showed up 45minutes before service ended on a busy Sunday! Pate for starter was faultless as usual and my...More

Thank Elizaxxxx
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for your kind review, pleased to see you are still enjoying our food. Look forward to seeing you very soon.

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Only eat here if you want to throw your money down the drain, or more likely toilet as I imagine poisoning isn't unlikely. Can honestly say I have never been served such muck in all my life. Glad I didn't take the landlords recomendation of...More

4  Thank 771tim
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Considering you've eaten at our premises before and enjoyed our food I'm shocked and outraged at the nastiness of your review, completely uncalled for. Under the circumstances we would appreciate you not coming to our premises again.

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Disappointed with the food I had garlic mushrooms for my starter and it wasn't very warm. The carvery we had was ok the meat was very nice but you couldn't get the mash potatoes off the spoon when trying to get it on the plate...More

1  Thank Julie T
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us. I feel it's such a shame you didn't mention any of these problems on the day as I'm sure we would have gone out of our way to address your issues. If nothing...More

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

What a hidden gem. We had a brilliant meal here for my birthday. Totally unplanned due to another restaurant letting us down. But a great success. The food and the service was second to none. The manager was very very attentive made some great recommendations...More

Thank Oneleggy
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We pride ourselves on our freshly cooked food as you order. I'm pleased you enjoyed it and look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 6 March 2017

After living in Desford for a couple of years (went Bosworth College when younger) finally went and tried both of the locals for some food. Been twice now to the Lancaster, and both times been impressed with the food, but the service could be slightly...More

Thank Scott B
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our food but a little disappointed with your other comments as this should not happen. I was not working on these occasions but will have a word regarding menu choice, and the waiting times...More

Reviewed 1 March 2017

Visiting family in the uk again from Australia. Always drop into the Lancaster Arms Desford for a meal and never disappointed. Great atmosphere, great cheerful staff and a wonderful meal again. Highly recommend this restaurant .

Thank Beverherington
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you for your kind review, such a compliment to us that you enjoy our food so much. Make sure you visit us again when you return to Leicester.

Reviewed 27 February 2017

Absolutely brilliant Sunday lunch great food and excellent friendly service.sunday Carvery to die for😀😀

Thank JanetWhittaker
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you so much for your review, very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Reviewed 25 February 2017

Excellent food, reasonable price, very good service, welcoming staff. Staff even sang happy birthday, will be going there again, thank you for making my birthday even more special.

Thank julielongmuir
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. It's lovely to hear that, not only did you enjoy our food, the staff did a good job and looked after you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We come here fairly regularly for food and a pint or 2 as it's fairly local to us. Always good food and homemade pies! I had the rib eye steak sizzler again this time- second time I've had it and it was really nice. Landlord...More

Thank misc101
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal, we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

So so upset and frustratingly embarrassed today. Been visiting for years with always a large table. Regularly bring Roger discounted wine to sell on. Today was completely humiliated by Landlady Jan at the carvery bar. There were 11 people on our table, 3 oap's and...More

2  Thank aytchc
Jan3123, Owner at The Lancaster Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

I'm sorry you felt humiliated by being asked to pay the normal price, the same as everyone else, for your carvery. I asked you if you were going to order an oap meal as I noticed you'd done this before to which you said you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hollow's Farm VintageTearoom
17 reviews
.13 miles away
The Blue Bell
106 reviews
.23 miles away
Village Balti & Pizza
6 reviews
.58 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Tropical Birdland
673 reviews
.49 miles away
Mallory Park Racing Circuit
32 reviews
2.51 miles away
Thornton Reservoir
56 reviews
2.58 miles away
Kirby Muxloe Castle
77 reviews
2.62 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nigel T
5 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Jan3123 | Property representative |
I am the landlady. The child was not autistic he apparently wanted to sit on the floor. The problem was the adults wanting to do the same. The customers present at the time were upset and uncomfortable seeing this strange... More
0
Votes
keljonuk
12 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Eileen C | Reviewed this property |
They certainly can. We recently had a party of 16 cricket umpires for dinner. They seated us on our own in the conservatory, and we were able to pre-order our meals. Ring them to book - 01455 824 265
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Desford, Leicester LE9 9FP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Leicester  >  Desford
  • Phone Number: +44 1455 824265
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing