We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Cafe

7 Chapel Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LX, England
+44 1395 442962
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good20%
  • Average12%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (62 reviews)
“burger” (3 reviews)
“pastry” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Chapel Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We thought the long long queue was an indicator of a good fish and chip shop but now realise it was just due to slow service. Small portions and not particularly nice. Staff slow and a bit grubby. People waiting for service in the sit...More

Thank twyford4
Reviewed 4 days ago

We visited the chip shop on a very warm evening, it was a squeeze to get in, however everyone was nice to each other. My friend and I ordered from the ordering point. There are plenty of notes which say they cook fresh, so we...More

Thank kahlan77
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Drinks slapped down on the table so hard they slopped. My glass had tomato sauce smeared on it, replacement glass had grease on it. I sent it back only to be told it was condensation. Grumpily given a third glass. Dinner slapped down on the...More

Thank Ian H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good honest fish and chips in a clean and friendly environment, can really fault it. Polite and friendly staff Fish batter to die for.More

Thank PhilipMoller
Blissetts, Owner at Premier Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I read with interest your review on Trip Advisor and feel it necessary to give another point of view. Firstly, I would like to apologise if your drinks and meal were slapped onto the table and am sorry you didn’t have a good experience. That...More

Reviewed 25 May 2018

Really sorry to say that this was not a good experience. There were 6 other people in the cafe/restaurant and the food took over 45 minutes to arrive. It was luke warm and the chips were not good, fish overcooked. The place was cold and...More

Thank Bluebell501
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed the over priced fish and chips (large haddock was tiny). Can you believe that my wife was charged £1 extra to have no batter???????!!! This needs to be looked at because you are very expensive for fish and chips. As said good quality but...More

Thank Tim A
Blissetts, Owner at Premier Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Firstly, I'm glad you enjoyed your meal however your comment regarding the additional £1 charge for grilled fish I feel is unreasonable. This is a totally different process to cooking a pan full of battered fish and is only a small contribution to the extra...More

Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Very expensive and it took 30 minutes to arrive. The whole process was chaotic and slow with fish occasionally appearing from the pan at a mind-numbing rate. The queuing area in front of the counter is an incredibly claustrophobic experience and while we enjoyed eating...More

Thank Wayne O
Blissetts, Owner at Premier Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Hi Wayne O I'm sorry you had to wait - obviously a busy time and as you know our food is cooked to order. Unfortunately we are a chip pan down at the moment and we are waiting for parts in order to repair which...More

Reviewed 8 May 2018

We live locally and have used them occasionally for last minute takeaways. Never again - chips were dreadful; sogggy and I suspect cooked in old fat. Fish was tasteless. Staff scruffy ( coughing into her sleeve too as she was serving,,!) Such a disappointment for...More

1  Thank Jill D
Blissetts, Owner at Premier Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Jill D, I am sorry you had a bad experience; this should not be the case. We do appreciate your feedback. I can assure you that we do not use old oil and that our oil and will address the issues raised with our...More

Reviewed 4 May 2018

Visited for a takeaway a week ago, rather expensive and although the chips were ok the fish was one of the worst I have ever had The fish was rather small and covered in so much batter it was not cooked through, soggy batter is...More

2  Thank Mjlworld L
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Prices up!! Quality down!! This used to be the best in the West and now just another Chippy, we used to look forward to getting our weekly take away from the Premier Cafe but not anymore, the food is full of grease! The Customer Service...More

2  Thank MPT1111
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Budleigh Salterton Hotels
The Long Range Hotel
103 reviews
.42 miles away
Ladram Bay Holiday Park
1,178 reviews
2.92 miles away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
952 reviews
3.22 miles away
Ashton Court
179 reviews
3.91 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bowmers
243 reviews
.05 miles away
Tea and Tittle Tattle
227 reviews
.04 miles away
Earls Coffee House
100 reviews
.14 miles away
A slice of lyme
323 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lily Farm Vineyard
104 reviews
1.02 miles away
Otterton Mill
331 reviews
2.32 miles away
Brook Gallery
42 reviews
.06 miles away
Hawkridge Bird of Prey Centre
140 reviews
1.85 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Premier Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Chapel Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Budleigh Salterton
  • Phone Number: +44 1395 442962
  • E-mail
Description
Fish cafe serving local fish as well as award-winning fish and chips.Also has non- fish and veterinarian options and is licences. Along side the restaurant is a busy fish and chip take-away
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing