We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sailmaker, Gosport

Claimed
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
215
197
195
131
179
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
215
197
195
131
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast play area car park food was lovely pub meats
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 917 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Have been on numerous occasions waited ages to get served and yet to have beef on the carvery... Sold out at 6.30, was told "its popular". If its that "popular", then get some more or am I missing something...

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Danny O
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was the worst place we could of chosen arriving just after 7pm expecting a carvery were told all finished all out of steaks also ended up having a lasagna which was terrible I think a cheap microwave one would of been better, very poor...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank JustinB1533
Sailmaker, Manager at The Sailmaker, Gosport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, sorry we disappointed you on your visit, we had a very busy day which was unexpected which is why we had run out of carvery, it was just the mixed grill we had ran out of on your visit sorry for the inconvenience

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met here with my group of friends. Had the small plate carvery and for an extra £2 a lovely desert of Apple pie & custard...yummy

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank PWILBY
Sailmaker, Manager at The Sailmaker, Gosport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your visit

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went there to try out the new Vegan menu. Opted for Mushroom Bourguignon Pie. They brought out our side dishes as started 🙄 Then came the mains. Cold and pale veg, a few nin-frest chips, and a very disappointing pie. All pastry, no filling. Asked...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Michelle276
Sailmaker, Manager at The Sailmaker, Gosport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry for what happened on your visit to us I will look into why this happened, if you would like please could you email me so I can make amends - Sailmaker.Gosport@Marstons.co.uk

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely tender meats and tasty vegetables plus a ginormous Yorkshire pud. Second time I've reviewed just as good as last. Plus an extra for mention for very efficient staff.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank martynmarlow26
Sailmaker, Manager at The Sailmaker, Gosport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another venue I haven't been to in a while, and once more I've reminded myself why. Although the place itself is fine, the food has again let the place down. Cheap and cheerful, but even still, when you order a steak from the menu and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Scott L
Sailmaker, Manager at The Sailmaker, Gosport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, sorry the meal was delivered as stated on the menu this was an issue with our till system which has now been resolved. I hope this hasn’t put you off of visiting us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here today for the first time ever. The place is very warm and inviting. Staff were very friendly. Food was lovely. Great deals! Dessert menu is just amazing, so much choice & it all looks so good! Would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Natasha30044806
Sailmaker, Manager at The Sailmaker, Gosport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review, glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely carvery at the Sailmaker with two of our Granchildren. The barman was friendly and courteous. We had our meal at 1700 so the facility was not too busy at the time.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Frank H
Sailmaker, Manager at The Sailmaker, Gosport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review, we're really glad you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was walking by and saw the sailmaker thought I’d have a try at it I went in and Kacey made me feel very welcome and I felt right at home I ordered the carvery the beef was soo nice and tender perfect Sunday roast

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Deigo B
Sailmaker, Manager at The Sailmaker, Gosport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for tour review, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

the food, atmosphere and service here was great and not one thing to moan about ! The whole team work extremely well but a special thankyou to Kacey who helped me the allergy menu and provided us with amazing service... would highly recommend!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Caitlinrock0202
Sailmaker, Manager at The Sailmaker, Gosport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your visit.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
629 reviews
.03 miles away
The Old Lodge Hotel
300 reviews
2.13 miles away
The Anglesey Hotel
289 reviews
2.44 miles away
Red Lion Hotel
774 reviews
2.54 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 192 nearby restaurants
The North Star
221 reviews
.67 miles away
Oriental Express
22 reviews
.89 miles away
Carisbrooke Arms
14 reviews
.83 miles away
Broadway Fryer
20 reviews
.86 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 50 nearby attractions
Little Woodham Living History Village
134 reviews
1.27 miles away
WicorMarine Yacht Haven
5 reviews
1.88 miles away
Made by Me Crafts
20 reviews
2.06 miles away
Explosion! Museum of Naval Firepower
338 reviews
1.61 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nicky S
5 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sailmaker | Property representative |
Hi, Dogs are not allowed inside (except from guide dogs) Dogs are allowed in our beer garden
0
Votes
epnixon
19 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Georgiades1 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I’m a customer
0
Votes
Nicki D
10 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gareth M | Property representative |
Suitable for toddlers only
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing