We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Deer

££ - £££, British,
Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
+44 1363 774248
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good20%
  • Average17%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible22%
Travellers talk about
“onion rings” (4 reviews)
“pudding” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

On website it shows 2 roasts for 12 yet when we got there they were about £15 . We travelled quite away for this . Very disappointed

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank _tomkarenpyke
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely shocking waited over an hour for food when it came it was cold or over cooked the roast was like a microwave meal when we complained they offered us a desert why would we want more crap food staff were miserable hardly cracked a...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Tracyb01998
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We come here quite often and have always had a good meal this te I ordered a burger and asked for it to go XL, paid for it all and waited for our meals to come out, when it did I only had one burger...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank paulambler70
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff behind the bar seem to have no idea who is waiting in the queue next so left waiting for ages and ignored Also far too many badly behaved children running around there should be a specific area for them to play and a quieter...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Teenytiny100000
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

came in with my wife with another couple, three of us had stakes two were ok but mine was not I had to leave at least a half of it when the waitress came to pick up the plates she asked if everything was ok...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Global361006
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a party of 10 asked for a quiet area that was all implemented. Service was good took the Christmas menu as it was Boxing Day food I must say was disappointed food cold some stuff was under cooked. Yeah they came by asked...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank leed809
RobertE3190, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi leed809 thank you for this feedback, as you mentioned we did do a check to make sure if everything was ok, had you mentioned this at the time we could of rectified any issues that you had.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If aunt bessie did an entire roast itd taste like this minus any gravy horrible food If you are a chef and cant cook roast potatoes its time to give up and choose a different line of work ffs

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ferer123
RobertE3190, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ferer123 thank you for your feedback it's such a shame you didn't bring this up at the time that the roast was not up to your standards as we would of rectified that straight away for you.

Reviewed 7 December 2018 via mobile

I came here with my partner wanting some food however we diddnt have high expections as we thought this was close to a Wetherspoons, we ordered our food and saw that it was a 45 minuet wait. We diddnt have a problem with this as...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Daydream647087
RobertE3190, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi daydream thank you for your feedback, I was on shift in the kitchen that day, and yes we did have a wait on a as was a very busy shift, we are looking into changing the supplier for the sour cream as I have...More

Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Visited quite a while ago and enjoyed the visit but was disappointed with yesterday's visit. No problems at all with the staff but was not impressed with the food. One of us had fish and chips and the batter was very thick and slightly over...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Rebecca W
RobertE3190, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rebecca thank you for your feedback, I've looked into this matter and have done some constructive coaching with our kitchen team to ensure that the food we serve is up to that standards that you would expect, I wish I had known this at...More

Reviewed 12 November 2018

Plenty of choice on the menu could easily pick meals from the 2 for price of 1. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food was presented nicely and hot. The venue was nicely laid out tables not packed in so didn't feel claustrophobic. Would use the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Hazel P
RobertE3190, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi hazel , thank you for the lovely feedback we look forward to seeing you again soon

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Fingle Glen
298 reviews
3.82 miles away
Great Western Hotel
384 reviews
5.65 miles away
Premier Inn Exeter Central St Davids Hotel
1,353 reviews
5.71 miles away
Park View
143 reviews
5.87 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Ashton's Coffee Lounge
122 reviews
.92 miles away
Crediton Tandoori Restaurant
110 reviews
.89 miles away
The Three Little Pigs
182 reviews
.93 miles away
Baobab Cafe
78 reviews
.93 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Crediton Parish Church
24 reviews
.79 miles away
Planet Play
25 reviews
.53 miles away
Quicke's
42 reviews
1.92 miles away
The Crediton Inn
17 reviews
.60 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Red Deer staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Crediton
  • Phone Number: +44 1363 774248
  • E-mail
Description
Telephone: 01363 774248
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing