We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tudor Rose

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Set in a old fishing village a hidden gem down a lovely cobbled street,a little bit of Cornwall in the Medway towns backing on to the historic Upnor castle. Now open all day and serving food from 12 to 9 (light bite menu 3 - 5)Monday to Saturday and Sunday 12 to 6, now with 2 en-suite letting rooms, please phone to book to avoid disappointment.
PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
520
144
39
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
520
144
39
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast seafood platter steak pie mixed grill whitebait ham pudding salad potatoes upnor castle the pub cobbled street butchers board large garden food was lovely birthday meal feel very welcome
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Had a Sunday roast here as a table of four and was without a doubt one of the best we have had. the food was very tasty and the staff serve and attended with care and ease, 5 stars in every way

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Attended a friend's birthday. Venue was superb and staff attentive and polite. Food was excellent. Plenty of room in the walled garden. This is a hidden gem of a venue.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sunday afternoon meal with friends to celebrate my sons birthday. Got there early and had a couple of drinks in the beautiful garden in the sunshine before heading inside for our table of 10. Bar staff Amy & Molly really looked after us. Food was...lovely, Some had starters that were perfect. I went for the Sunday roast that was bang on and a few of us had deserts that were lovely. After eating we moved to the back bar where we had some drinks and were made to feel really welcome and had a really lovely eveningMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you Mark and Linda for an amazing evening celebrating my 60th birthday. Nothing was too much trouble from gourmet food to bar service and outside dance floor. Venue was absolutely perfect. The garden was amazing with plenty of seating, hard standing dance area, beach...huts, heating and lights. We had the best time and will definitely be coming back for more. 😁👍👍👍👍👍🥂More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?3  
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, What a nice evening it was our pleasure see you all again very soon. Mark and Linda.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We phoned and booked on the morning of our visit. When we arrived, we ordered our drinks and sat in the garden. It was a really lovely day We ordered our food. Despite there being a few people in the garden and bar, the pub...was by no means busy. There were 7 adults and two children in our party. We order fish and chips and burger and chips and pasta's for the two little ones. We patiently waited an hour and a half for our food to arrive. Not once did we complain or chase the food as we were all enjoying our drinks in the sunshine, when the food finally did arrive, it was brought out in dribs , we asked for cutlery but it wasn't until the final plate came out that she then when to get the cutlery. It took ages for her to return, we chased up one of the kids missing pasta and were told they had forgot and would bring it out when it was ready. we asked for condiments which was met with a huge huff. We sat an ate our meal, which was reasonable. However my little girl was hungry and ended up having to eat off our plates or go without. Her pasta finally.arriged long after we had all finished eating. When it arrived, I apologised and said can we return this and explained that due to the wait for it she had to make do with bits from everyone else plates. To this there was no apology for the delay, the woman laughed in my face and walked off back inside the bar. I could not believe how rude the waitress had been so I went inside to ask her, what was going on and why she felt it was acceptable to be so rude, the manager was present and I explained how awful the service had been, it would appear they were all firm friends and it did not matter how the waitress spoke to customers or how rude she was. Which sadly explains why the service was so poor. I have written a review previously praising how lovely this pub and th service was, but based on the last visit we will not return.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your Terrible review from June 2021, The member of staff mentioned is no longer with us we also now have heated el fresco dining areas in the garden two en suit letting rooms the pandemic is nearly over we have a war...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was excellent, as was the service. However, it is full of steps everywhere, there are no handrails anywhere, and the gents' WC and cubicle were very cramped. I walk with the aid of a stick, and this is the most awkward place I've visited...in recent years. Granted, they may not be able to do much about the steps, but a few handrails would help - and the WC definitely needs a rethink!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your 3 star review i will pass on you comments to english heritage and also ask if we can raise our low oak ceilings widen our ancient passage ways and tarmac over the cobbled high street. many thanks Mark.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very impressed with the vegan Wellington roast! Great taste and good ingredients. Amazing vegan pastry too

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review as flexitarians ourselves we always have a varied choice of vegetarian and vegan options on offer.thanks again Mark and Linda.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have eaten here before and the food/service was great but on this visit we were slightly disappointed. I rang to book on Friday and was surprised to actually get a table for the Saturday evening. When we arrived there were only 2 other couples,...again this surprised me so wondered if the pub had changed owners as it just didn't have the same feel as previous visits. Cheesy garlic bread was undercooked as was the mushroom starter special, which we pointed out to the waitress but the prawn cocktail was plentiful as was the pate. The red thai curry was not spicy at all. Having ordered fillet steak I was then told that there were no fillets so changed to sirloin which was mediocre with a very non descript peppercorn sauce, plenty of chips though. Lamb shank came with a very lumpy mash potato. Our waitress was pleasant but food was "plonked" on the table and when the wine arrived the bottle was put on the table, unopened, no offer to pour or taste so we served ourselves. So sorry to sound harsh with this review but as I say we were quite disappointed with this visit, I just wondered if something is different due to lack of customers, food quality and staff service.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, Saturday was fully booked but because of the nice weather a lot of tables chose to eat el fresco on our new heated patio area , we are sorry you had some issues with your meals but all the food...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food is e excellent all food is cooked from fresh we went there for a meal as I am gluten free , every thing is gluten free exept the bread All food is really good good quality. Booking is advisable

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?2  
Mark W, Owner at The Tudor Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, We normally have gluten free bread onsite but with all aligen intolarances we will try our best to accommodate if at all possible. Thanks again Mark and Linda.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An absolute gem of a pub. Friendly, welcoming staff who were absolutely on it, in terms of service and orders. The pub is lovely, wonderful balance of being a traditional local pub, that isn’t cluttered with brasses etc but also hasn’t been de-characterised it like...most other pubs. The garden is like a large courtyard with plenty of space and a lovely lawn. The kids seemed to love the resident ducks. The selection of local beers was a massive bonus. We’d have eaten everything on the menu but plumped for a 3 meat roast which came with all the trimmings. Everything was wonderful. Will definitely come back again an again. I’ll mention the staff again, because they were so good.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ship & Trades
545 reviews
.50 miles away
King Charles Hotel
824 reviews
1.18 miles away
Gordon House Hotel
162 reviews
1.52 miles away
St. George Hotel
473 reviews
1.70 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Popadom
412 reviews
.46 miles away
Dynasty Chinese Takeaway
15 reviews
.68 miles away
The Pumproom
167 reviews
.30 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Historic Dockyard Chatham
2,600 reviews
.66 miles away
Copper Rivet Distillery
225 reviews
.31 miles away
HMS Cavalier
130 reviews
.78 miles away
Upnor Castle
407 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lilipies
23 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from MarkW616 | Property representative |
the main restaurant holds 30 please phone the pub on 01634714175 for available dates.many thanks Mark.
0
Votes
chewy485
20 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from markwI5344OU | Property representative |
Plenty of outside seating ,Sorry no views of the river from the garden .
0
Votes
IainWirral
28 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from sarahlL1285SC | Reviewed this property |
Hi IainWirral, I am sorry your experience wasn’t as good as our own. We are not regulars in the Tudor Rose however we have ate at the pub several times and we have always had a good time. Pubs and restaurants are always so... More
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Tudor Rose

Yes, The Tudor Rose is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Tudor Rose is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5