We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The City Wall

£
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
120 High Street, Rochester ME1 1JT, England
+44 1634 832366
Website
Today
11:00 - 19:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 19:00
Fri - Sun 11:00 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Northwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We visited today, the food was okay, the chips weren't quite cooked, I actually had a raw tasting one, the cheesy chips had no flavour , full of oil at the bottom, I think they'd been microwaved so the chips had a soggy oily finish. My drink was okay but had an odd (not nice) flavour at the bottom of... More 

Helpful?
Thank mumlis
CityWallWineBar, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

We are sorry that your visit was not up to standard and we are speaking to the staff involved. Although complaints are rare it is still unacceptable to us that a customer was dissatisfied. We apologise again and please print off this reply as a complimentary voucher to re-visit us and have two main meals of your choice with a... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017

This is a bargain for what you can get - a plate of beef (or chicken or pork) roast with all the trimmings for a fiver! Don't expect anything smart - there is a big loud TV with sports on, but you can't get a better value than here. It is tasty and well cooked. On one of my visits... More 

Helpful?
Thank rbozi
CityWallWineBar, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our business. Our roast dinners are very popular and we're happy to hear you enjoyed it. We will ensure that in the future staff offer condiments at the table rather than you having to ask for them. Thank you again, and hope to see you again soon. More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

After deciding to have some food whilst in Rochester I opted for the roast dinner. What a great plate of food. The meat was well cooked and plentiful and the roast potatoes weren't your average frozen ones they were proper home made roasties. Veg was lovely and fresh and the price was even better. Well recommended.

Helpful?
Thank K1213
CityWallWineBar, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We're happy you enjoyed your meal with us, we try to offer good value whilst using quality ingredients, and we're glad your found that in our roast dinner :) Hope to see you again soon! More 

Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We went in just for a couple of beers on a late afternoon and enjoyed a soccer game. Very friendly staff at the tap and a nice atmosphere made this a great experience. We will be back and check out the food.

Helpful?
Thank Holger R
Bailey R, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for reviewing our business and leaving positive feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Visited this venue after a birthday meal for a few drinks. The bar is nearby the taxi rank so was one of the main reasons we had a drink in here. The bar has a different range of age groups from young to old so you don't feel like you shouldn't be in there. Drinks are very cheap and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank SH05059
Bailey R, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to review our business and leaving positive comments. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I took my family in there for a meal and a drink, the staff were rude, the food was uncooked and horrible, we will not be going in there again.

Helpful?
Thank amandalancingse21
Bailey R, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

Hi there I am very sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. Unfortunately there is no record of a complaint regarding food that week. Please could you contact me directly with more details so I can endeavour to rectify this situation, my email address is donna@geminileisure.com Many Thanks More 

1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Great pub lovley food and drinks well worth the money , straff are very friendly and great with kids will be back very soon

Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
Bailey R, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Been here many times for lunch mainly. Beeing semi retired its a great place to watch the world go by sitting on the patio having a smoke and a pint. So happy they have sky and bt sports on many screens as well. Heaven!. Staff are brilliant to they make me feel special. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Dave K
Bailey R, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our business and leave positive feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Many thanks More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Myself and a group of friends gave The city wall a try despite the rumours of it being a "young persons" place to go! And we shocked! We all had an Amazing evening, despite it being completely packed, we were served quickly and all the staff were interacting well. Music was great! Drinks were priced well and good variety! All... More 

Helpful?
Thank MummyFowler
Bailey R, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review our business. I'm glad you enjoyed your night, we hope to see you again soon! Thank you More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Had lunch here on Sunday. Was a little concerned as it was very empty and was more concerned when, after my partner ordered an all day breakfast, the waitress came to tell us that there were no tomatoes or bread! However, extra sausage and bacon was provided to compensate and we both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. My ham, egg and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jules305
Bailey R, Manager at The City Wall, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your feedback, unfortunately we did have a busy day and unfortunately ran out of a few menu items. I'm glad you enjoyed you meals and the tea :) We hope to see you again very soon Kind Regards More 

Travellers who viewed The City Wall also viewed

 

Been to The City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Serves Alcohol, Seating, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 18:00
Monday
11:00 - 19:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 19:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 19:00
Thursday
11:00 - 19:00
Friday
11:00 - 18:00
Saturday
11:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 120 High Street, Rochester ME1 1JT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Rochester
  • Phone Number: +44 1634 832366
Description
The City Wall is open daily for tea's, coffee's and has a comprehensive lunchtime menu, with daily specials. A lively fun atmosphere at the weekends for all, with Karaoke and DJ's. Come and enjoy our seated patio area overlooking the main high street. There is access to FREE Wi-Fi, we have a pool table and Sky Sports showing all major sporting events. There is disabled access to the venue, a new baby change facility has recently been installed and we are happy to say we are a family friendly venue. We hope to see you soon

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The City Wall staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?