We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The freshest ingredients sourced from the best local suppliers. A relaxed, waterside atmosphere where you can sit back and relax. Service that's memorable for all the right reasons, come and experience it for yourself. Please note in the winter season we do close on all day Monday & Tuesday, Wednesday lunch and Sunday evening (excluding holidays)
PRICE RANGE
£8 - £45
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Seafood, British
FEATURES
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Live Music, Dog Friendly
Reviews (2,046)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
2,024 results
Traveller rating
1,021
398
229
213
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,021
398
229
213
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza mussels seafood sea bass sardines sunday roast pudding beef visited amelies fish of the day lovely restaurant lovely evening relaxed atmosphere an evening meal overlooking the harbour conservatory cornwall
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Really good food at a reasonable price. Waitress was great We booked without reading the reviews as we’d been to Porthleven before but couldn’t get a table as they were fully booked. I nearly cancelled after seeing the reviews as it was for Daughters birthday...but things must’ve changed It really was great and we’ll go again ….oh and they let dogs in so added bonus for usMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We just had an incredible Sunday Lunch today; the food was superb; never ever had 7 vegetables with my roast beef, albeit I asked for Cauliflower cheese as an extra side. The quality and portion size is a testament to the chef who is clearly...passionate about locally produced food with great cookery. Olivia and Immy were great hosts; tentative to our needs and informative of the orgins of the family pictorial history in the restaurant. We loved their passion and dedication to offer continual plates of great food throughout service. Olivia and Immy were amazing hosts; warmth and genuine hospitality from the onset. Well done to the chef, the unsung hero 🥰 and the team for an exceptional experience. We will be back on our return in JuneMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Wow! Had a beautiful meal here tonight and the service was superb. Olivia was our waitress and was very attentive, professional and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely atmosphere, gorgeous food, would highly recommend. Thank you!!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous food, location, live music and great service. We were served by Olivia, who was super helpful and ensured we had everything we needed. The Sunday lunch was superb, high quality meat and deliciously cooked veg which was a little different to the normal. Great...wine list too. Would 100% recommend.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate here by chance at lunchtime.lovely location. Good variety of options on the menu. Special mention to Olivia who was extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a wonderful 4 generation girlie lunch today . Olivia was amazing with my 82 year old mother and also my 3 month old granddaughter and charming throughout. The food was lovely as always.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful dinner and great service from Olivia, we had the fish special and linguini - very tasty - and the croquettes to start were exceptional!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An amazing meal in beautiful surroundings. Our waitress Olivia could not have been more attentive and helpful when we were unavoidably late. The menu was delicious and a great relaxed atmosphere. Thank you!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jack Veal, General Manager at Amelie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi emmyb357, Thanks for taking the time to review amelie! Thanks very much for your kind words, we're so pleased you had a fabulous evening and were able to enjoy the menu and atmosphere despite having the minor issue of being a little late! We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very rare child free night out at Amelie and we weren’t disappointed! Our waitress, Olivia, was friendly, knowledgeable and super efficient! The food was absolutely amazing and we loved every second of it! That you so much! Definitely will be visiting again!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jack Veal, General Manager at Amelie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi lucyjH8797PS, Thank you for taking the time to review Amelie! We're pleased to hear that your child free evening was worth the wait and we're pleased to here Olivia couldn't be more helpful. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. team Amelie

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful meal, Liv and Tegan were great hosts. Dog friendly. Amazing seafood linguine and fresh Hake. Excellent service. So friendly and welcoming.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jack Veal, General Manager at Amelie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi steve s, Thanks for taking the time to review Amelie! We're pleased to here you had an enjoyable experience with us. We're always happy to welcome our four legged friends into the restaurant. I'm pleased to hear that the seafood linguine was a winner,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing service from our attentive host Olivia. Nothing was too much trouble, she lit our candles, she stoked the fire for us, and made us a delicious negroni. Top cheffing by Adam, fried olives with a harissa mayo is a must.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jack Veal, General Manager at Amelie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi robeC3891QX, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Amelie. We're super pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us! The crispy olives have been going down so well and were glad you agree, Adam is one of our...More

Reviewed 30 November 2023

We came tonight after we saw they had a new menu. I had the Lamb and my partner had the Seafood linguine, both cooked to perfection. Awesome service too.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2023

We visited Amelie at the start of November after having a brilliant time here just over a year ago. What I can say is this was a completely different staffing team with very poor customer service skills, a different and non existent atmosphere compared to...a lovely vibe on our previous visit, dry and tasteless food, cold fries and we left feeling utterly disappointed! I don't know what has forced the change but it has gone severely down hill. we tried to flag down the waitress on the evening to discuss our complaint but she was too busy leaning on the bar laughing at her phone and we decided that a swift exit was more desired and to chalk this down as a place not to visit again on our travels to Porthleven. Absolutely gutted....More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2023

Oh my word. How does this place stay afloat? Apathetic staff, overpriced menu and appalling food. Tempura prawns with the shell on? Apparently it’s an Italian delicacy. I’ve spent many a holiday in Italy and am yet to see this on a menu. Whoever told...the chef/management that this is a thing must be laughing their socks off (I’m guessing this was added to the menu on or shortly after April 1st). It was also extremely unpleasant to see the chefs outside during their break, smoking! Im guessing there is little chance they wash their hands after having a good old puff. I don’t understand the positive reviews. Much better places in the harbour to eat. On a positive note, the restaurant occupies an enviable location in the harbour. What a waste. Avoid!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2023

Looks very nice from the outside but don't be deceived. Food & Service terrible, not to metion overpriced. Staff really don't care. The food was below average. Very unpleasant to be eating your dinner while at the same time watching the chef outside smoking.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
An Mordros Hotel Self Catering Suites
201 reviews
.14 miles away
The Angel Hotel
97 reviews
2.22 miles away
Polurrian on the Lizard
1,489 reviews
5.11 miles away
Mullion Cove Hotel & Spa
1,573 reviews
5.37 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Twisted Currant
754 reviews
.12 miles away
Porthleven's Harbour View Cafe
380 reviews
.05 miles away
The Square At Porthleven
1,424 reviews
.10 miles away
Kota Restaurant
1,053 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Porthleven Harbour
348 reviews
.08 miles away
Four Crows Gallery
52 reviews
.09 miles away
The Customs House Gallery
27 reviews
.08 miles away
The Shipyard Market
6 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
837clarea
22 October 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KarenMarshall | Reviewed this property |
Had delicious seafood at Amelie’s as well as many others including Kota, Kota Koi and The Square in August. My top tip is slightly hidden gem, Seadrift Restaurant in Fore Street. Very reasonable and very, very delicious! The... More
1
Vote
173JaniceS
10 September 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JohnmDavies | Reviewed this property |
Well i dont what to say my experiences here have always been good food good attention by the staff and wonderful view
0
Votes
Curious52335401380
14 May 2020|
Answer
Response from MrsMouse85 | Reviewed this property |
Hello, when we last went to Porthleven which was just before Christmas last December I am afraid to say that there had been a fire at Amelies which had led to it having to close down. It appeared to be having a complete... More
-3
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

AMELIE, Porthleven - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Amélie

Yes, Amélie is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Amélie is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4