We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$50
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
211
68
23
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
211
68
23
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch beef cakes potatoes poached eggs auction house yorkshire breakfast tennents viewing bistro wedding presentation
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arriving at Tennant's cafe, I arrived late to meet some friends arriving through the ‘Please Wait To Be Seated’ entrance. As there was a couple in front of me, I was eager to get to the table to see my patient friends, so went...directly to the table. After 20 minutes waiting at the table, and watching several servers walk past to serve other people, we gestured to a passing waitress. When she did eventually come over, she said and I quote ‘Just sitting here doesn’t mean you’ll get served you know, if you don’t follow the rules, then how do we know you’re here?’ Then proceeded to walk off. My response ‘but we are here! Three people who aren’t invisible’. God forbid you don’t follow the rules, otherwise be expected to be chastised. Unfortunately this was my first ever visit and I’ve recently moved to the area. Definitely won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Garden_Rooms_Director, Director at The Garden Rooms at Tennants, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to write this review following your recent visit. My apologies for the way in which this was perceived, we ask that people wait to be seated upon arrival (as per the sign which you acknowledged but chose not to follow)...More

Reviewed 10 April 2022

Poor quality. Asparagus wrapped in Parma ham, poached hens’ egg, hollandaise sauce was poor. Asparagus raw and poached egg un- recognisable and also almost raw! What vegetables there were served in very small measuring pots and as for the Baked Alaska! Someone needs to go...back to school. Browned meringue on top of a pot full of liquid! Not what I expected of Tennants.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Garden_Rooms_Director, Director at The Garden Rooms at Tennants, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to write this anonymous review following your recent visit. We always receive excellent feedback regarding our food, particularly Sunday lunches; my sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your lunch. Please do remember to speak to a member of the...More

Reviewed 21 February 2022

Prawn cocktail starter and roast beef dinner were of quality I would expect from a good pub/restaurant. Staff were friendly and efficient. They fell down on the dessert, however. Described as "white chocolate and cranberry bread and butter pudding, blackberry crumble ice cream" I honestly...couldn't see or taste any white chocolate. I didn't do a forensic test on the cranberries but they looked awfully like raisins to me. The whole was covered in custard and was basically stodge - a big disappointment. No ice cream, either.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 15 February 2022

Very impressed. The food was delicious. Service attentive but not obtrusive. A lovely setting to enjoy a relaxing lunch.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 December 2021

Enjoyed an excellent festive evening meal and lunch in the bistro. The food was well presented and faultless. Customer service was friendly and professional. The Leyburn brass band were superb as always, and the event extremely well organised with covid considerations. Well done Tennants.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

A proper full English breakfast for a very reasonable price. Beautifully cooked, (stunning fried Egg!!) complements to the chefs and staff for the impeccable service!!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 21 November 2021

Our last visit to the Garden Rooms for Sunday lunch two years ago was a great success and warranted a 5* review. A return visit for my birthday however was a major disappointment. Although service throughout was efficient and swift - the food was a...long way from the quality of our first visit. To start with although the pickled onions was an interesting accompaniment to my prawn starter, presentation was poor as everything was crammed into a bowl which made it difficult to eat and enjoy. More disappointments followed with our Sunday roasts as responses to the beef and chicken were mixed and there was a general consensus that the steamed vegetables contributed to the whole meal having a feeling of blandness. We wanted our desserts to redeem the meal but it didn't happen. For my lemon posset the shortbread was OK but the posset though lemony was just goo and I did not have the desire to finish it. The Garden Rooms was busy throughout with other diners and remains popular, but in future we are likely to take our custom elsewhere.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 November 2021 via mobile

The welcome and service was fantastic and the food was lovely and presented very nice ( afternoon tea ). How sad that the room had no atmosphere at all. But the main issue was the constant trolleys and beer kegs being moved passing very close...to are table also it’s great having a open kitchen but we were unable to talk for the sound of the food mixer beating away.. Felt very let down as it was a treat for a friends birthday.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 November 2021 via mobile

Breakfast this morning. I had eggs benedict and my husband had a full Yorkshire breakfast, both were excellent. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Always worth having a look at the displays in the main building.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 October 2021

I booked a table for 2 at 12 noon in the cafe. Our order for coffees and 2 x sausage, yorkshire pudding with veg, and 2 small desserts was taken promptly shortly after 12. The cafe quickly filled with other diners, and we watched as...people who came after us were getting their meals served. (We only had the coffee and cakes delivered). As time passed , and our stomachs rumbled, my husband managed to ask one of the staff if there was a problem as we had waited nearly 40 minutes for our lunch. A different member of staff came to apologise, and explained there had been a mix up somewhere. We waited a bit longer a I was a little bemused to see the chef(?) leave the kitchen and head off in the direction of the restaurant. He returned a few minutes later with what appeared to be a frozen Yorkshire puddings and some veg ( I may be mistaken) Eventually, after nearly an hour our lunch arrived. What a disappointment. Broccoli and cauliflower in an alternate circle around a medium Yorkshire pudding , 2 sausages and some onion gravy. Only lukewarm too. We eat fairly regularly at the cafe, and took our daughter and grad-daughter there for lunch only 2 weeks ago. On that occasion my daughter selected the Sausage and Yorkshire Pudding meal, it looked much more appetising than the meal we had today, which is one reason why we opted to try it. I hope our next meal at Tennants cafe is much better!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The White Swan Hotel
515 reviews
1.53 miles away
The Blue Lion
634 reviews
2.96 miles away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
790 reviews
6.96 miles away
The King's Head Hotel
1,362 reviews
7.39 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Black Swan Leyburn
444 reviews
.60 miles away
Sandpiper Inn
711 reviews
.53 miles away
Chambers Coffee House
256 reviews
.58 miles away
Posthorn Tea Room & Cafe
359 reviews
.62 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Leyburn Shawl
125 reviews
.68 miles away
Harmby Waterfall
97 reviews
.46 miles away
St Matthew's Leyburn
11 reviews
.52 miles away
War Memorial
8 reviews
.64 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Garden Rooms at Tennants staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Garden Rooms at Tennants

The Garden Rooms at Tennants is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5