We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The Stag on the River is one of the top destination pubs in Surrey, ideally located in the quintessential village of Lower Eashing, just off the A3 providing close links to Godalming, Guildford, London and Portsmouth. Owned by award-winning pub company, Red Mist Leisure, this remains one of their flagship pub sites, which underwent a full internal and external refurbishment in 2021 enjoying new layouts, furnishings, lighting, and interior design updates added to the garden, restaurant and bar, public toilets and its 7 boutique en-suite bedrooms, which are located above the pub. The pub enjoys a beautiful and well-equipped pub garden for alfresco dining in all seasons alongside warming log fires
PRICE RANGE
£14 - £26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,690)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,687 results
Traveller rating
892
440
182
118
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
892
440
182
118
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger fish and chips pie mash bread sunday roast pudding the pub lovely location car park lovely lunch booked a table mist specials wey pubs rooms
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a table for tow to celebrate my husbands 75th birthday. Our table was booked for 2.30. We arrived early and let them know. We sat at the bar and had a drink but we could see there was an empty table for two...in the window. We were told that it was booked. At 2.30 a couple came in and were shown directly to a table. We asked why we had not been shown the table as we had been waiting for 20minutes. Eventually we were shown a table which was in a very narrow position right at the base of some steps, so every time the staff would have passed we would have run the risk of having something spilt down our necks or being bumped into. We said we did not like the position of the table and asked for some where else. We were told there was no where else even though the table for two in the window was still empty. We left. Very disappointed especially as this was for my husbands birthday which they knew when I booked.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guide3837325630 Thank you for leaving us with your feedback on your experience. I am sorry to read that it was not a positive one. I am sorry to read of the challenges with seating you at your booking time. Sunday lunches are always extremely...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the fourth time I’ve stayed here and eaten dinner here. Each time has always been really enjoyable. Staff are always attentive and friendly and the tasty food always presented beautifully. The menu changes seasonally although I’ve noticed some dishes remain , I’d imagine...due to their popularity. The stag is always my choice when in the area and I’m looking forward to my next stay already.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. We are delighted to read your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future Best regards, Ricardo

Reviewed 24 January 2024 via mobile

Throughly deserves all the positive comments and five stars left by other reviewers... Visited on a Tuesday night, 10 or 12 tables with other guests... The waiting and bar team were quick, very polite and provided excellent individual service to all diners... The menu is...small, interesting, with a daily 'specials board' selected from local producers. Our meals were OUTSTANDING... Fabulous food, cooked and presented beautifully... Great value for money, @£35/head is not inexpensive but we thought the quality and ambience more than justified the price...More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear theeuo Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time spent at the Stag on The River and look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Ricardo

Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

We live locally and have been regular customers for many years. The current staff are very welcoming however the service was slow, everything we would have chosen from the menu had sold out. So we ended up with a tasteless & dry focaccia (£6.45!) a...burger - served on an ice cold plate with an underwhelming salad & a starter sized fish cake main. We won’t be taking up this offer againMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Spagirls911 thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to read that it was not a positive experience. Sincere apologies for the issues experienced on the day. We always aim to deliver the best service and food...More

Reviewed 19 January 2024

From the outside, the pub looks idyllic, even the interior was lovely, staff welcoming and really attentive, however the food is of such low standard it really ruined the meal for us and has put us off returning. We had a simple brunch menu and...everything was even burnt to a crisp, unseasoned or stone cold, a real shame!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sabstravels1 thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Sincere apologies for the issues experienced on the day. We always aim to deliver the best service and food to our guests and it is also frustrating to all of us...More

Reviewed 16 January 2024

We had a table for 6.30 for 10 people. Took the order. Starters came out everything was fine. Main course was treble. My partner had the chicken and ham pie with chips and veg. The pastry for the pie was so hard it could be...eaten, gravy came out cold, a couple of minutes later his veg came out, they were having a laugh, out came half a carrot on a wooden board. I had a burger and chips. The plate came out ice cold, and I mean ice cold, the bun was so cold l thought it had come straight from the fridge. My grandsons had chicken burgers. The buns were burnt so was the chicken. I didn’t ask the others. Desserts. Our friend had Chou with ice cream, same the pastry was rock hard. We asked to be credited with the meals that couldn’t be eaten,which was done. We definitely will not be going back. We were told it was bad, but we thought we would give them a try. Wish we had gone else were.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Wendybl8147CO thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to read that it was not a positive experience. Sincere apologies for the issues experienced on the day. We always aim to deliver the best service and food...More

Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

My wife and I booked a table at the Stag for a nice meal and as we hadn’t been in a while. The waiter was lovely and friendly and served our drinks. My wife was a little disappointed as the Monkfish was not available, and...as she doesn’t eat meat she ordered the twice baked cheese soufflé as a starter and the smoked haddock croquette (on the menu as a starter) as a main, as most other options were meat or cooked in beef fat. Unfortunately the soufflé was cold and quite anaemic and had to be re cooked. I had the scotch egg which was very nice, followed by haddock and chips. The fish was tasty but a little greasy. We had to wait a while for our food. We hadn’t been here since the change in ownership to the Grosvenor Group, and very much like my experience at The Queens Head, this experience was not as we expected. The attention to detail in the cooking should be paramount, unfortunately it seems this has been lost since the change in ownership and management. We have now found another pub in the area we prefer, and not in the Grosvenor group. Sorry.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Dear seanc553 Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I am sorry to read that it was not a positive visit and i apologize for the issues experienced, mainly on the food side. We always strive to deliver the best...More

Reviewed 7 January 2024

We had a delicious Sunday roast. Couples lunch for my partners birthday and Wow!!!! The meats are cooked superbly, lots of different varieties of vegetables, unlimited roast potato's,yorkies and not forgetting gravey! There was definitely plenty to go around. The puddings were yummy sticky toffee...is a 10 thumbs up!!! What a wonderful lunch and beautiful warm setting. Its one of of our favourite pubs and we would always recommend as we always have a fab time! Perfect as well for kids and dogs. Staff are all wonderful!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Dear 672oliviaa, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I am pleased to read that it was a positive experience and I thank you for the kind words. I will be sure to share that with the team. I look...More

Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

This was a venue decided on as it was halfway between families. And what a good choice it was! Food and service were excellent in a relaxed and convivial atmosphere. Old world charm near the river Wey.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024
Google Translation

Dear Solent_ranger

Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

We had lunch as a family in this beautiful country pub and restaurant. Service was excellent but food was disappointing with small portions and not as expected. The burger was sadly thin and fries portions small. Onion tart was small accompanied with salad dressing. The...chicken and ham pie was delicious but small portion of accompanying mash potatoes. Baked Alaska advertised as containing sponge but not in it at all. I had crumble and custard but the custard was served in a tiny jug which was half the size of the jug containing milk for our coffee. Good size crumble which was delicious but the custard was insufficient to even cover the top of the crumble. The thimble size custard jug was too narrow to even scrape the custard out which remained on the sides of the jug. We will return to this friendly pub and hope we have better luck with our food.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

Serves the smallest scoop of ice cream I have seen in my life, although the flavour was OK. Perhaps there was no spoon and they only had a thimble. Can’t say this for the avocado on toast which was tiny tasteless and expensive all at...the same time, in spite of the unusual raw slices of chili served on top. The secret ingredient needed might be salt (plus pepper, olive oil and a better avocado)More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2023

Absolutely delicious food and they were really good for gluten free options too. I had the risotto and it was the best I've had in years, just so tasty. Lovely atmosphere and friendly service. We'll definitely be coming back.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Dear I2206SUIlaurah Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I am pleased to read that it was a positive experience and i thank you for the kind words. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 9 December 2023

Was invited to join friends for lunch at The Stag. Was a bit disappointed they had chosen here as last visit in the summer was average at best. The current winter menu is very fancy, impressive even but perhaps trying too hard and definitely taking...the Stag well away from your typical pub grub venues. Each dish from all the courses sounded very busy with lots of tastes and textures. What I chose was not entirely convincing, but actually not that bad, tiny smoked haddock croquettes (grated parmesan dusting a bit redundant) to start followed by chicken breast and 'nduja sausage spread on toasted sourdough (but really drowned in an over spicy tomato and mascarpone sauce) and ending with a dry choux bun with a scant cream filling and crunchy sticky toffee topping that could remove fillings. The wine we had however was very good. Service was pleasant and efficient despite the restaurant being full. The bill was expensive for a lunch.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear Whinbrook Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your detailed feedback. I am pleased to read that the experience was better than expected and happy you enjoyed both the food and service provided on the day. I look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 8 December 2023

Don't bother coming here if you're vegan or with vegan friends. They used to cater for many tastes and needs (veggie, gf, vegan, the lot!) Sadly, no more. Caroline rang a week in advance to ask if they could do anything and they assured her...that they'd email the kitchen so we could all eat. When we got there today nothing had been arranged. Huge disappointment.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Dear 776elag Thank you for your feedback on your last visit. I am sorry to read of the disappointment and my sincere apologies for not having the specific dish requested for the day. The Stag on the River does cater to all dietary and our...More

Reviewed 4 December 2023

We popped in here for dinner early on a Saturday evening as they were prepping for a large local booking so we thought it might mean a bit of a wait for our food to arrive. We were wrong. The courses came when we were...ready and the food ... was excellent, delicious tastes and textures. We enjoyed drinks on arrival and a bottle of Malbec that we were allowed to take home with us as we couldn't finish it with our meal (nibbles, starter, mains and a shared baked Alaska dessert). Service couldn't have been better as well, so we will definitely be back again, this time with family and friends.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo Mimoso, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Dear TheOneAndOnlyRHM Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback on your last visit. We are delighted with your kind words and happy that you had an enjoyable time at the Stag on the River. I look forward to welcoming you...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Stag on the River
388 reviews
.00 miles away
The Charlton Boutique Hotel
20 reviews
1.24 miles away
Kings Arms And Royal Hotel
175 reviews
1.58 miles away
Godalming Hotel
388 reviews
2.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Eliza's Tea Rooms
103 reviews
.84 miles away
Squires Garden Centre
119 reviews
.89 miles away
The Refectory
882 reviews
.92 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Secretts of Milford
112 reviews
.85 miles away
St Peter's Church
7 reviews
1.04 miles away
Milford Golf Club
19 reviews
1.08 miles away
Godalming Museum
68 reviews
1.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sidney D
28 April 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steven P | Reviewed this property |
There website has all the answers you require
0
Votes
Liz C
23 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SOTR | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for your enquiry, yes we do cater for wakes of this size. Could we please ask you to call the pub when convenient on 01483 421568 and ask for Claudia or Emily. Many thanks
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE STAG ON THE RIVER, Godalming - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Stag on the River

Yes, The Stag on the River is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Stag on the River is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4