We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queen's Head Inn

COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Queen's Head Inn
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
The Queen's Head is a popular traditional country inn nestled in the beautiful Chalke Valley. We are now under entirely new ownership and management as of 4th of December 2019 and have finally become a free house. We have 2 cosy, thriving bars, leather sofas, open fires, hops, great local ales and ciders on tap, all the usual spirits (and some not so usual), a well-chosen wine list, delicious homemade bar snacks and a genuine welcome from friendly bar staff. Our restaurant is becoming extremely popular. Our chefs have a passion for cooking and it shows. We have a small seasonally changing menu of entirely home-cooked food made from top quality ingredients from local producers and suppliers.
US$5 - US$23
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Lunch, Dinner
Bar, British
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Highchairs Available
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas fish and chips steak queens head lovely country pub a lovely stay pub food both occasions beer garden local pub fabulous food sunday lunch landlord chef beers roast salisbury
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Wow what a meal. The size was awesome with everyone leaving with full time and the food was so tasty. Proper yum. Everyone was super friendly and we were made extremely welcomed and nothing was too much trouble as we had to doggy bag our...meals. Just super well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Reviewed 3 days ago

This is in response to the two previous bad reviews. have not visited this pub but congratulations on still being open and offering both drinks and food. So many pubs are closing at the moment and those that are open are not able to find...any staff. Pubs these days are all making a loss and the managers/owners are having to do all the cleaning and cooking themselves as there is a shortage if staff. I am amazed that customers are unaware of how difficult life is at the moment. Why give a bad review when perfection is not possible under these very difficult circumstances? I promise to visit this pub very soon and personally say CONGRATULATIONS on still being open and thank you for being a good old English pub.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Reviewed 21 November 2021

The disappointment was the limited lunch menu - starters, only 3 main choices - fish and chips, burger and a veggie dish and a single more expensive special. No dessert menu, presented verbally. Place was cold, but they were taking good covid precautions. Having said...that, we both had fish and chips and it was very very good - hot, good quality and plenty of it. But it was the only dish on the menu that I would choose, so won't be going again for a while. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Not sure what everyone is raving over. At least 2 sets of friends were very disappointed when they visited, so no repeat visits there either. A better menu and we would all go again.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Candida Butler, Owner at The Queen's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Hello Holly. We are guessing that you visited us last Tuesday. Like many people in hospitality we have been struggling with staffing issues this month and instead of closing entirely on a Tuesday we have been running a limited menu on that day, especially at...More

Reviewed 25 October 2021

We live in the Chalke Valley but ended up moving in around lock down and so are just beginning to explore the many pubs in the area. For my birthday we decided to give the QHI a try. The website looked good, the reviews on...here sounded fantastic and the menu ticked the box for what should be a good dinning experience. A limited menu with a few options for each course is a sign that the food should be fresh and well thought out by the chef rather than a freezer full of options. When we arrived there was a good level of "Farrow and Bal"l and the venue looked like it was about to deliver a great meal. It is rare I get things wrong when choosing a restaurant but I did that night, the first clue was the limited number of people in for a Friday night. Service was cheery but about as ineffective as is possible to be. The server didn't really seem to know much about what drinks were available or the menu itself. We put this down to her possibly being very new to the job? I ordered a beer (which was perfect) and a bottle of Honu Estate Sauvignon Blanc, with I carefully pointed out to our server on the wine menu. She appeared with a glass of wine for my wife and my beer. She translated the bottle requested to a glass of house white and eventually the bottle of house white appeared instead. My wife had the local smoked trout which was good. I opted for the Pork Belly with apple tarte tatin. It was indifferent, too much apple with a thin layer of pork and no crackling (one of the listed features of the dish). Not normally given to moaning we moved on, obviously this was the chefs interpretation of the menu description.. The special was Halibut, my favourite fish, and my wife had fish and triple cooked chips. This is where really the food went from average to poor. I am pretty certain my dish was not the delicate flavour and texture of Halibut ( and yes - I have had it many time before , and am also an oceanographer by profession). Whether this was a slip by the server and she meant Hake, which I think it was and would have gone with the cassoulet very well, being more robust, or there was a mix up in the kitchen - who knows. It was overcooked either way. My wife's fish and chips were very poor. Once cooked chips would have been a good start. They were very undercooked and the condition of the fish (more confit rather than deep fried) indicated that the chef didn't have their fryer at anything like the right temperature. It was greasy and tired. Now - at this point the usual response from the owners is "you should have raised this with us at the time". Well - we did. Not given to the English malaise of saying "it was lovely thank you" as the server asks how was the meal as they cleared the table, I did very discreetly point out the issues with the mains. No feedback from the kitchen or anyone else, though we could hear some discussion going on in the kitchen in the background. We decided to cut our losses and depart before the potential of further disappointment with dessert and left. Positives: the bar looked good and the beer was well cellared and I would recommend giving this place a visit for a drink. It is in a lovely area of the country and is well presented. The pub has great promise. Negatives: The food - if a kitchen can't even cook fish and chips then the enticing menu is on the ambitious side. The service - cheery but underwhelming.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Journey47385289686, Owner at The Queen's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2021

Thank you Simon for your detailed review. Let me start off by saying that we are very sorry that you had such a disappointing birthday visit and we will message you privately sometime today to arrange some suitable recompense for you. As you can see...More

Reviewed 12 October 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the Queen's Head in Broadchalke in October as we had an event booked nearby for early the next day. We had a large, en-suite room called 'On the downs' in a separate building from the pub. It was spotlessly clean. We have...stayed at many hotels over the last year where rooms are 'sealed for your safety' but at no time have we stayed anywhere as clean as the Queen's Head. The staff and owner were all really friendly and the breakfast was amazing. I can't remember if I've ever had a Full English breakfast that good. It only cost £95 for the two of us. The family room is slightly more but dogs are welcome in there.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Journey47385289686, Owner at The Queen's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Wow thank you John for your kind review! Our chambermaid will be delighted that all her hard work is being noticed. Likewise our breakfast team. Lovely reviews like yours make all of their efforts feel so much more worthwhile and puts a spring in everyone's...More

Reviewed 6 October 2021 via mobile

Originally, we went to this pub because it was close to the AirBnB we had booked in Broad Chalke. However, we quickly came to love the place. It is a great country pub, with some cosy bar areas, some good beers, but then a small,...but amazing restaurant area. The food is brilliant and hats off to the chef for some amazing dishes. We had planned a visit to a restaurant in Salisbury, but canceled and booked here for a second evening because we liked the staff, beer and food so much. I would happily recommend this place to anyone for a quick pint, a quick bite, or a meal out. We have even spoken about coming back down for a weekend to stay at the pub. If you are in the area, come and try this place, it is mustMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Journey47385289686, Owner at The Queen's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

Thank you so much Kymex for your lovely review! This is why we do what we do...we love to make people happy...it is such a buzz! Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 5 September 2021

Highly recommend, beautiful setting, friendly and efficient staff, service just right. We were a party of six for lunch three courses and all delicious. It is just under two years since we last visited and certainly as good if not better!! Highly recommend a visit!

Date of visit: September 2021
Journey47385289686, Owner at The Queen's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

Thank you Penny for your kind review! Lovely to here you had a good time! We have lots of plans for the future so drop in again soon.

Reviewed 4 September 2021

This pub has massively improved under new ownership. Great beer and outstanding food. A really nice garden at the back and new seating opposite.

Date of visit: September 2021
Journey47385289686, Owner at The Queen's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

Thank you Emma. So kind of you to say! We haven't finished yet so come back and see us again soon.

Reviewed 26 August 2021

We stayed at the Queens Head in Broad Chalke for it’s useful proximity to Salisbury and surrounding villages. What we found was a well maintained and atmosphere traditional pub with a comfortable, themed bedroom with en-suite. The staff were attentive and friendly and the breakfast...was hearty. Special mention for the landlord who managed to source some gluten free bread and Daisy who served our table was helpful and went the extra mile to make our breakfast experience very enjoyable.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Journey47385289686, Owner at The Queen's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Thank you N1C for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 18 August 2021

We booked a table here for supper as we were staying in nearby Bowerchalke. We checked out the menu in advance and sort of knew of what to expect. The food and the service however exceeded our expectations! The tapas and the sharing salad we...had could have fed an army (we were only an army of 2!) and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We would highly recommend eating here, it is so good to see hospitality venues back open and up and running after such a difficult time. Go and support this pub in particular!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Journey47385289686, Owner at The Queen's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Thank you djames for your wonderful review! Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We hope your visit to Bowerchalke was great fun and that we might see you again one day.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Howard's House Hotel
218 reviews
4.66 miles away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
779 reviews
5.04 miles away
Cricket Field House
647 reviews
6.14 miles away
Grasmere House Hotel
782 reviews
6.63 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The White Hart
120 reviews
1.85 miles away
The Greater Good
67 reviews
2.73 miles away
Horseshoe Inn
186 reviews
3.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Fovant Badges
61 reviews
2.27 miles away
The great Yews
20 reviews
4.20 miles away
Dinton Park & Philipps House
24 reviews
4.79 miles away
Oasis Overland
7 reviews
4.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lesley W
3 August 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from CandyattheQH | Property representative |
Hi Lesley, not as such but most dishes can be adapted for a gluten free diet.
27 June 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CandyattheQH |
Hello Jane. I am sorry to say that we have had to change our minds on the opening of our bed and breakfast rooms. On reflection the new Covid19 measures will be so onerous on our staff that we have decided to open up in... More
28 February 2020|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Stay255323 | Property representative |
Hi Ruth. Sorry for all of the confusion! We were stuck awaiting an acceptance of ownership change here on Tripadvisor, our website was (and still is) under construction and our Facebook page had issues. We had no way of... More
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Queen's Head Inn

Yes, The Queen's Head Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Queen's Head Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4