We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fishmarket Restaurant

££ - £££
Seafood, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Station Road, Mallaig PH41 4PY, Scotland
+44 1687 462299
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We ate superb mussels and prawns followed by an excellent Scallop and haggis main course. The meal was not cheap but we all felt it was value for money. The staff are friendly and it is a relaxed cafe style ( no table cloths ) restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Wanderer191255
McDonalds Corners, ON
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place deserves its last place ranking in Mallaig. The man running the place does his best to keep it there. The sign on the window advertising for positions to be filled should've been a clue. The poor waitress, while doing a fine job of serving customer, was being constantly criticized by a nasty man(I assume the owner). This was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Little_Atlas
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived in Mallaig by train hungry for a fish lunch. I ordered the "seafood chowder" which amounted to bland, watery broth and chunks of tomatoes, red pepper, and potatoes with 3 very small minced pieces of shrimp. I had 2 spoonfuls and left the rest. The waitress asked how I liked my chowder, and I replied I didn't care... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
fish m, Owner at The Fishmarket Restaurant, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not like our chowder, I find this very strange as its one of our most popular dishes, obviously you have not tasted chowder before there is no tomato in chowder scallops and prawn were in the chowder along with the vegetables, a lovely thick very filling shellfish broth. More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent fish in this unassuming restaurant in Mallaig. The scallops were delicious as was the chowder and both famines were excellent. Gorgeous fresh bread. Straightforward. No frills.

Helpful?
Thank enquiries39
Leyburn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I think we must have caught this restaurant on the wrong day as reading the other reviews they seem ok. We rocked up as a foursome in a brief snow storm just as a couple were leaving a table of six. Because we weren't six but only four we were not allowed to sit at the table. Apparently the two... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClareLeyburn
fish m, Owner at The Fishmarket Restaurant, responded to this review

Having discussed this situation with the waitress it seems as you wanted a window table you were told you were more than welcome to sit at the table for 6, however with the restaurant being so busy if 2 people came in you mite have to share this did not suit you, it was suggested if you waited 5 minutes... More 

Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The fish market is a nice restaurant right in front of the Mallaig pier, and close by the station. The atmosphere is quiet and pleasant, and the service is good. I would have given it 4 stars if it wasn't for the extremely salty salmon I had. It is a pity, as the fish was fresh.

Helpful?
Thank Luobota
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped in on the off chance of a lunchtime table and were promptly seated by the window with a lovely harbour view. We had the most glorious (though a tad pricey) scallops to start, then between us, Cullen Skink, scampi, mussels and langoustines. The quality of the seafood was excellent and they did childs portions of the soup and... More 

Helpful?
Thank VJ_Spencer
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were the only diners in this expensive restaurant, the food was well presented. The staff stood and chatted with each other and with the kitchen staff, not giving a very professional feeling, the room was very cold ,not a good atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank achnacille
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a very busy day in Mallaig as we had travelled from Glenfinnan on the Steam hauled Jacobite Train. We arrived at Mallaig & my main interests were to look round the Harbour, food at Lunch time, purchasing a Daily Newspaper & a Beer. Successful on all counts, but the Lunch of Haddock, Chips & Salad was superb with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrianB321
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
254 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2017

My sister and I were taking a day trip to Mallaig when we were in Scotland, and being on the coast, we thought there would be a good restaurant. We were not disappointed. On the day we were there, the special was a Monkfish Curry that was superior! We both loved it. The curry was not too spicy, and it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank swoodruf

Travellers who viewed The Fishmarket Restaurant also viewed

 
Mallaig, Lochaber
Mallaig, Lochaber
 

Been to The Fishmarket Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Seafood, British, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Mallaig PH41 4PY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Mallaig
  • Phone Number: +44 1687 462299

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fishmarket Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Fishmarket Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?