We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Osteria Monacelle

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Via Pietro Vincenti 4/6, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
0831 334212
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

My husband and I stumbled across this osteria when wandering around Ostuni. We took a chance on it and were so glad we did. The meal was a highlight of our trip to Puglia. We started with the stuffed artichokes and we knew after the first bite that the whole meal would be one to remember. They were the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank missjdelaney
Dario D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you so much for this kind feedback! We are very happy that you enjoyed our dishes and hope to have you with us soon again. Best regards More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We often come to Puglia and had always good food, some times amazing. This is the first time we were really disappointed by the food. Positives: kind service and is nice to see the kitchen. Location is OKish, honestly any place in Ostuni had an amazing location. They also suggested a local wine. Although the wine was average, is good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glynis P
Dario D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your review, your feedback is vitally important for us. We are sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy our food and our wine, even if our Chefs are constantly trained to give the best experience to our customers. We hope to see you again in the future Kind regards More 

Bari
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016

Good value quality and service. Typical pugliese food done well in a nice environment in the centro storico of Ostuni. Anti pasti very good and a little bit different. the mains again where very good although the home made pasta with the baccalà was a little thick. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Andre R
Dario D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Andre, Thank you for your review. It is glad to know that you enjoyed our location and our dishes. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

how can I describe with words a spectacular selection of regional tastes? How can I share with the TA folks the atmosphere of this family runned OSteria, warm, friendly, professional. I go to Ostuni 5-6 times at year and I ALWAYS reserve a table in this restaurant. Don't miss it

Helpful?
Thank IWOL
Dario D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed our dishes and hope to have you with us soon again. Best regards More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

It was our second choice (first was Tempo Perso which was chiuso) but we were pleasantly surprised by the family atmosphere and excellent food. They adjust the menu to your liking (i did not want smoked cheese) and make sure to ask about wines not on the menu we had a Tignanello 2008 for only 80 euro. It would have... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarthaMcCully
Annalioce, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Martha, thanks a lot for these kind words! We are so happy that you appreciate our cuisine and we hope to have you with us soon again. Best regards Anna Lioce More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Tonight I tried this restaurant, I felt very happy with my choice ! I enjoyed the evening with an authentic, very tastful and good menu: Octopus pasta and as main course a lamb in a aromatic sauce with artichokes. And not to forget the very friendly service. Well - deserved 4 points for a very good performance !

Helpful?
Thank Cruaxel
Dario D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you so much for this kind feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our dishes and hope to have you with us soon again. Best regards More 

Canterbury
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

The food was very good and all traditional local fare which we enjoyed. The young waiter was keen but new, he made some mistakes, but we all have to start somewhere. The interior was very warm and intimate.

Helpful?
Thank Gary805
Annalioce, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Gary, thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We are very careful to use the best local ingredients and we are delighted that you enjoyed our dishes. We hope to have you with us soon again. Best regards Anna Lioce More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Authentic and welcoming - all dishes were fabulous including an octopus pappardelle and stunning vegetarian dishes.

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Annalioce, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you for sharing your opinion, we really appreciate and we are delighted to read that you loved our dishes so much. We hope to have you with us soon again. Best regards Anna Lioce More 

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

We two senior Canadian women dined there tonight. Normally we share a half liter of white wine but tonight the choice was a bottle of white or a pitcher of rose wine. We opted for the rose wine not wanting a full bottle of any kind. My pasta with eggplant and hers with zucchini were excellent . Desserts were good... More 

Helpful?
Thank babsToronto
Annalioce, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Babs, thanks a lot for sharing your opinion. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our dishes, always prepared with ingredients from local farmers. About the wine, we are sorry you read that you didn't enjoy it: our wine is an organic one and the taste depends on the preservation method. We hope to have you with us... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Visited for dinner last night having read excellent reviews and we were a little disappointed, the antipasto was amazing but the mains were bland. My husbands tuna steak was over cooked. I had the fillet strips with tomato cheese and rocket and it was literally that, beef cooked through (would have been better rare) in a wet almost poached way... More 

Helpful?
Thank cathxman
Dario D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Osteria Monacelle, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy our dishes. The food we serve is always fresh and our Chefs are constantly trained to prepare the best traditional receipes. The wine is home made and we are sorry you didn't appreciate. We hope to have you with us soon again. Best regards More 

Travellers who viewed Osteria Monacelle also viewed

Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
Ostuni, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Osteria Monacelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$37
Cuisine
Italian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Wine and Beer
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Via Pietro Vincenti 4/6, 72017, Ostuni, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Puglia  >  Province of Brindisi  >  Ostuni
  • Phone Number: 0831 334212
Description
Osteria Monacelle: a place that is home to the art of cooking Our Osteria is in the heart of Ostuni, close to the pre-classical civilization museum. Tradition, culture and passion for good food are mixed into our original dishes, rich of antique flavors, memories and history. We only cook local food, using original ingredients from the Apulian agriculture and cuisine, because we strongly believe in the quality and in the authenticity of our beautiful region.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Osteria Monacelle and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Osteria Monacelle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?