We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hearthside Dining Room

) #3 of 5 Restaurants in Keene ££££ , American
1045 Settlers Line, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada
+1 705-295-4591
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good33%
  • Average5%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (11 reviews)
“steak” (3 reviews)
“juice” (2 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Canadian, American
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1045 Settlers Line, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Service was very slow! Overpriced for what you got. Very bland meal and small portions, only protein no vegetables, no starch. Not impressed at all. Would not recommend.More

2  Thank Bonnie I
Greg E, Owner at Hearthside Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Bonnie, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. We value for feedback and I'm aware we had a strained meal service on the night of your visit. We are introducing some new team members to our operation and we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We are 3 sisters looking to enjoy a nice meal out but were very disappointed. Meal was overpriced, small and took forever. We will not be back. Table cloth had stains ,food was not enough to satisfy even us Senior Ladies.More

1  Thank barbguerin
Greg E, Owner at Hearthside Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Barb Guerin, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. We value for feedback and I'm aware we had a strained meal service on the night of your visit. We are introducing some new team members to our operation and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's really too bad. The location on the lake is beautiful, but the food and service - just terrible. I was never offered tea or coffee. Our plates were never cleared from our table so we just stacked them up. My kids went to get...More

Thank Nogal_3
Greg E, Owner at Hearthside Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello and thanks Nogal for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you didn't find good value in your brunch experience. I personally inspected the Father's Day Brunch service several times from the first seating to the latest and have to say your feedback was a...More

Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is our favourite restaurant in the Peterborough region. On winter nights, there's a welcoming log fire in the hearth; in summer you have a view over Rice Lake and its islands. The menu offers variety to suit the adventurous as well as the more...More

Thank Jock_Mackay42
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had a reservation for four on a Saturday evening at 7 o'clock. The restaurant was quite busy and after being seated we were ignored for ten minutes. When the server finally acknowledged us she handed us the dinner menus but no wine list. After...More

Thank sunset07
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

My family and I ate here on a Friday night for my parents anniversary. We were told we needed a reservation but the restaurant wasn't full so they seated us. Some of my family had dietary restrictions so they allowed us to also order off...More

Thank Erin B
Reviewed 13 August 2016

My wife and I ate here a couple of times while we stayed at the resort. The food is local, fresh, and tasty. Steaks are well seasoned and well cooked. Fresh vegetables. Good Canadian wines on the menu. All the desserts were delicious. Would definitely...More

Thank Stephen T
Reviewed 27 January 2016

The breakfast and brunch that we had in the dining room was excellent. We did the "couch potato" special that included breakfast, dinner and brunch.

1  Thank heathermZ6375KI
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Hearthside Dining at Elmhirst Resort is a beautiful cottage resort snuggled on the shore of Rice Lake just off Settlers Line. Unfortunately our GPS suggested we take Settlers Line all the way from highway 7 rather than taking county road 2 from Keene to Settlers...More

Thank 243Furby
Greg E, Owner at Hearthside Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Thanks very much for your posting! We were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Hearthside Room at Elmhirst's Resort. Great to hear you were celebrating the New Year in style with ice wine from our all VQA wine list as well....delicious. Settler's...More

Reviewed 18 November 2015

The atmosphere is welcoming and comfortable with an upscale ambiance. The serving staff are professional, presentation wonderful and the meal perfectly prepared wonderful dining experience

Thank CrawdadJCW
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Muddy's Pit BBQ
107 reviews
2.79 miles away
Old Railroad Stop Hiawatha
14 reviews
6.75 miles away
Boathouse Cafe
20 reviews
7.02 miles away
Banjo's Grill
75 reviews
8.58 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lang Pioneer Village
60 reviews
3.50 miles away
ZimArt’s Rice Lake Gallery
16 reviews
10.50 miles away
Rice Lake
22 reviews
5.36 miles away
Peterborough Lift Lock
433 reviews
10.35 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John M
9 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Greg E | Property representative |
Hello and sorry for the delay in replying; I just saw the notification. Thanks for your inquiry. We do indeed offer a Sunday Brunch Buffet at $27.95 for adults and $14.95 for kids aged 3 to 12. Reservations are recommended... More
1
Vote
Fred P
22 December 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Greg E | Property representative |
Thanks for your inquiry. There is not a formal dress code for the Hearthside Room. We strive to offer a refined lakeside dining experience but invite the guests to choose the attire they are most comfortable in...
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$31 - US$50
Cuisine
Canadian, American
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Friday
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1045 Settlers Line, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada
    (Settler"s Line and Lakeview Road)
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Otonabee-South Monaghan  >  Keene
  • Phone Number: +1 705-295-4591
  • E-mail
Description
We're locavores! Central to the Elmhirst experience is locally-sourced food. Farm-to-table freshness is a key ingredient in our seasonal culinary creations. We raise our own chickens, cows, ducks and turkey right on the resort, and our plentiful gardens offer us our very own herbs, honey and vegetables. Partnerships with local farmers and producers allow us to round out our extraordinary offerings. Join us in casual elegance at our Hearthside Dining Room. In addition to breathtaking views of the lake, we offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. We're renowned for our Sunday Brunch, featuring freshly-carved roast beef with fresh vegetables. Our guests come from far and wide for our desserts made in-house by our very own pastry chef.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing