We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tongariro Lodge Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
££££
New Zealand, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
83 Grace Road | Just off State Highway 1 North of Turangi., Turangi 3382, New Zealand
+64 7-386 7946
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent food presented beautifully by very attentive Meri & Danielle. Thanks, Ladies! Awesome meals, chefs! We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank grassykey
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent dining experience with us at the Lodge. So pleased you enjoyed it. Will pass your comments onto Meri & Danielle. Look forward to seeing you back again soon. Thankyou More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017

As we're relatively new to the Taupo area we had our entire family descend on us over Xmas. We'd heard good things about the restaurant, so we decided to take the family there for dinner one evening. What struck us first was the beautiful and relaxing setting, plus the friendly welcome we received. The only problem we had was deciding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Damian B
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent dining experience with us at The Lodge. So pleased that you enjoyed the meal and the Lodge. (the venison starter is definitely one of my favourites) We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Thankyou. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

While visiting the region recently, we decided (on a friends recommendation) to call into the Tongiriro Lodge early one evening. From the moment we drove up the drive way through the cooling green and beautiful tree covered grounds, our experience was delightful. As we entered the lodge it was wonderful to see the photo gallery of previous guests and their... More 

Helpful?
Thank LyallBay36
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, Thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent dining experience with us at The Lodge. So pleased that you enjoyed the meal and the surroundings as well as the service. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge when you are next in the area. Thankyou More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

So we wanted a good meal in Turangi and quite by accident stumbled on this gem hidden away just south. Staff was professional and quickly accommodated our unscheduled walkin. Impeccable service, very quick and attentive in an authentic fishing lodge which has clearly matured from when Zane Grey made it famous. Great rustic feel to the place - reminded me... More 

Helpful?
Thank kpmcn
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for your feedback on your dining experience with us at The Lodge. So pleased that you found us, and that you enjoyed the meal, the ambience and the service. We do hope that you will return when next in this area. Thankyou. More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

We have had a disappointing dinner at this restaurant. We went for dinner here on December 23rd. Maybe not an popular day for going out?? It started great with some drinks in the entrance. Ready for dinner we were seated in the breakfast area!! Not the best place for dinner at all, no atmosphere, while there were already breakfast items... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anjo d
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback on your dining experience at The Lodge. My apologies that it was not to your expectations. We do utilise the Den area for diners when the restaurant is full, some guests actually request it. Obviously this was not what you had wanted. Your comments have been addressed with all... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

We booked in for the Christmas Day dinner, for 7pm. On arrival there were many other people mingling around the entrance loibby and bar area, buying drinks and waiting. I was told dinner started at 6pm, hence my reservation for 7pm, as we wre told we could have a drink in the abr first. The bar wouldn't have been ready... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flicks88
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent food & service, and obviously on this occasion we did not deliver as expected. I have discussed all your comments with the team, and we will endeavour to make sure that this is not repeated. We... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Reserved table for 20:30. Arrived on time but were told our table wasn't ready. We were seated in the lounge with a drink and the promise of a menu. 20 minutes later, when we went to the bar to inquire about a lodging related question, it occurred to the staff we hadn't seen menus yet. They brought them to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat F
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello and Thank You for your feedback. I am so sorry that you had such a disappointing experience in the restaurant. As you can imagine this is not the kind of experience that we want for our guests. Your comments will be addressed with the staff and we will be doing everything to make sure this does not happen again.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Worst service in the southern hemisphere? Took 45 mins to take the food order, 2 hrs for food to arrive and 2hrs 15mins to get a drink! Food was good, if overpriced - but is any meal worth this wait? We literally returned to our accommodation, got a pack of cards and played a few hands whilst waiting.

Helpful?
Thank SGK1000
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

HI, Thanks for your feedback, and I am sorry your experience is not what we want for our diners at all. This is definitely not our normal feedback, I am pleased the food was good, however the wait is unacceptable. I can assure you that your comments have been addressed with the kitchen and restaurant, and this will never happen... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

Lovely, friendly service. Excellent meal. We all had the lamb shank which was full of flavour, very generous in size and delicious. Similarly the entrees were delicious. The wine list was a real treat, some delightful wines we were not familiar with.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank You for the feedback, and so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you at the Lodge again soon. More 

Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016

Thank you all so much We had a great day yesterday and your venue, lunch and treatment of us was fantastic. An interesting thing to note is that my wites Aunty is a Culinary Course teacher and was really impressed with everything. Gordon had a great 80th birthday which is the most important . I would be more than happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank shaynemnz
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, and we are pleased that everything went so well for the 80th celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge when you are next in the area. Thanks More 

Travellers who viewed Tongariro Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Turangi, Taupo District
 
Turangi, Taupo District
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Tongariro Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
New Zealand, European
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 83 Grace Road | Just off State Highway 1 North of Turangi., Turangi 3382, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Turangi
  • Phone Number: +64 7-386 7946

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tongariro Lodge Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?