We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (398)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
371
15
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
371
15
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes sandwich lasagna lovely cafe full english breakfast take away lovely friendly staff visiting selby miles
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

We where meeting family half way between Hull and Leeds . Trying to find a gluten free friendly place can be tough but this place ticked all the right boxes . I text before we got there to double check on gluten free options ....My partner who is celiac was over the moon with all the options available to him . Not only was it great food but also very generous portions , none of us left hungry . Our hosts where delightful , we where reassured that contamination was carefully considered , Nothing was too much trouble and all done with a smile . Thank you once again we will be back .More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2023 via mobile

Looking for somewhere for a light lunch and found the reviews of this little cafe. We didn't book but we were able to get in on a Saturday lunchtime although a lot of tables were reserved. A large selection of food available, all prepared to...order. Various toasted sandwiches and panini available and very nice they looked. I had chicken, chorizo and mozzarella with side salad and handmade crisps. They also have a selection of scones and cakes. Would definitely call again if in the area.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2023

This is an amazing coffee shop within Selby town. I have visited a couple of times in the past and have never been disappointed. Today I met with a friend for a coffee and a scone and once again the service was amazing. The coffee...shop is lovely and cozy. The staff are always kind and happy to help in anyway they can. I can highly recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2023

Lovely place, me and my daughter went for dinner, she got her dinner free when I bought from adult menu, so welcoming owners are so lovely, definitely recommend

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2023

I was actually here twice, once for breakfast and once for lunch. Good vegan meals both times. Pleasant staff, superb toilets.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2023

I called at The Little Coffee House on Thursday with a group of cycling friends. I hadn't been for a few years, but I definitely won't be leaving it as long before I go again. Everyone agreed that the food and coffee they had was...excellent and good value. I'm coeliac and the selection of gluten free savoury and cake options was very good. I had a bacon, sausage and mushroom roll and the biggest piece of lemon meringue cake I've ever seen. The cafe was quite busy but we were all well look after by the friend team.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2023

We stopped on our way up to Scotland for a family break. We had the breakfast wraps and they didnt disappoint. Incredible food and a lovely cafe!

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2023

Ordered Traditional Afternoon Tea to take away.Everything was freshly prepared and delicious,would highly recommend and will definitely get again.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2023

Can’t recommend this place enough, we’re the studio next door and Tim and Mandy welcomed us straight away, we go nearly everyday they’re open for our breakfast and sometimes dinner too! Very polite and welcoming, amazing food too and be sure to defo look at...their cakes, yum! The cafe is always full of friendly people and smiles, I’m so happy to see it being so successful and I hope they’re around for many more years to come! Iv also been here with my children too, great family area to just chill and grab a snack. Highly recommendedMore

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Timothy Patrick Baldwin, Owner at The Little Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2023

Hi Shanade Thank you kindly for your 5 star review, we are so pleased you enjoy it with us! Thank you for your continued support Tim & Mandy

Reviewed 1 April 2023

As regular customers of the Little Coffee house I'm really surprised at some of the recent negative reviews as it contradicts our experience of the place. Yesterday my wife and myself were in for our weekly treat (lunch out), I had the full English Breakfast...and it is a regular choice for me as it always looks and tastes appetizing, bit healthier than some as lots of it is done in a Air Fryer so never swimming in fat. The Wife loves their Omelettes, not sure what the secret is but she claims they are the best she has had. The other positive is food is cooked fresh once you order. We also use the place for coffee often and must say the cakes are the best I've witnessed in the area, often the homemade cheesecake my choice. As said earlier we are regulars but consider the owners and staff friends because of the way we always get treated there. We discovered the place over 4 years ago and been using it ever since which we wouldn't if it wasn't as good as the many positive reviews on here.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim B, Owner at The Little Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2023

Thank you you your positive feedback and your continued support, as always we will try to give an excellent service. See you Thursday 👍

Reviewed 26 March 2023

I met a friend here for lunch at their request and did not check the reviews. Overall, service was slow, owners were disinterested in new customers and food was ok but I wouldn’t recommend for the price. After a cold visit, I decided to check...the reviews to see if perhaps it was just my experience. Not only did I read the reviews, I also read the responses of the “owners”. Just by their responses I could tell they have no respect for customers or people in general. On one response, they actually blamed the customer for not speaking up whilst in the restaurant. I can completely understand why this customer didn’t as I myself, was made to feel uncomfortable by the owners with the cold reception; I did not want to interact with them. Really disappointed with the lack of self-awareness in these owners. Not only did we feel unwelcome in their cafe, others have too and rather than accepting the criticism and trying to do better, they blame the customer. I’d also like to point out that the customer you attacked may have a disability such as social anxiety, autism etc. I really would avoid this place at all costs - not worth your effort, money or time. And I am really sorry to the others who have had the same experience I have, especially those who previously reviewed. Such rude responses from the owners!More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim B, Owner at The Little Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2023

We are very sorry and extremely shocked to hear this. We always try to make every effort with all our customers to ensure their visit with us is enjoyable, tasty and overall a great experience. We are a family run business and we always want...More

Reviewed 22 March 2023

I went with my partner for lunch, tempted by the cake pictures on Facebook but wasn’t overly impressed. I ordered a sandwich and a side of chips to share. The chips were soggy and undercooked and the sandwich was underwhelming, I think I’d have got...better in Weatherspoons. Overall disappointed, I wanted to support a small local business and I expected more form somewhere that seems to have such glowing reviews from everyone else.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim B, Owner at The Little Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2023

I am very very surprised to read your comment, it seems very strange to us. We can take criticism if it is genuine!! We take our food presentation to the highest of order and we offer a first class service. I genuinely believe you must...More

Reviewed 10 March 2023

Today, my friend and I visited, intending to stay for lunch, a hot chocolate, and a cake each. Not long after arrival, having discussed the irony of a snow day given the sunny weather, we overheard another customer complain to a man I presume was...the manager that their food had taken 25 minutes to arrive. Instead of apologising, he became very defensive and listed reasons their food took longer than the 15 minutes the customers were quoted. Our order was taken and food served by two lovely ladies. The food was okay. During our visit, the apparent manager was engaged in a conversation across the cafe with 2 groups of apparent regular customers complaining about teachers. While this felt a little unprofessional, everyone is entitled to their own opinion and it was nice to see how the community has been built in the cafe. However, one of the regular customers then pointed to me and my friend and very loudly (across the cafe) tried to belittle us and suggest that, as teachers, we should have felt embarrassed to be there, given the sunny weather outside and the unexpected closure of several local schools. This comment was unacknowledged by the apparent manager, leaving us feeling humiliated and unwelcome. While we wouldn’t expect the him to risk the business of regular customers, an apology or acknowledgement of his behaviour once the customer left would have been nice. To their credit, we were asked before paying if everything was okay with our meal. We said nothing at the time as we felt like any complaint would be handled in the same way as the one we had overheard. Instead, we paid for our lunch and left. This is made all the more disappointing as we have previously recommended the cafe to friends (who are also teachers) for their cakes. We will assume, in future, that this cafe doesn’t value the custom of teachers and shan’t be returning.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim B, Owner at The Little Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2023

Hello Charly I am very bewlidered by your review!? We don't have managers at TLCH Only owners,my wife and myself! with which we have traded here for nearly 5 years. I do not recall the conversation you are making out about teachers? We have lots...More

Reviewed 5 February 2023 via mobile

Best Lasagne, Best cheesecake, best atmosphere, best owner's/staff. Booking definitely recommended! Home cooked food & cake's. Reasonably priced

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023 via mobile

Outstanding hospitality and delicious fresh food cooked to order, we had the full English breakfasts and the quality was outstanding

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Loftsome Bridge Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
52 reviews
6.17 miles away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
787 reviews
6.65 miles away
The Parsonage Hotel & Spa
1,652 reviews
6.84 miles away
Wheelgate Guest House
65 reviews
7.36 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Thai Sunshine Restaurant
392 reviews
.22 miles away
The Olive Branch
376 reviews
.11 miles away
Caramba Brazilian Steakhouse
297 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Selby Abbey
470 reviews
.33 miles away
Selby Park
26 reviews
.32 miles away
Selby Leisure Centre
69 reviews
.16 miles away
Abbot's Staith
11 reviews
.38 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
K3RRY64
10 January 2020|
Answer
Response from D7318ASrachels | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I’m not sure. I posted about lemon cake and clean and friendly cafe. We hadn’t been on a dog walk on this occasion. Sorry.
0
Votes
bw1986
23 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from yorkshirefab2 | Reviewed this property |
Not to my knowledge
0
Votes
susanmW9086LO
27 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from lize335 | Property representative |
Hello Susan, thanks for asking but unfortunately due to our size we are unable to reserve tables, we do have a lot of walk ins over lunch times, usually before 12 or after about 1.45 helps to avoid peak queuing times. We do... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE LITTLE COFFEE HOUSE, Selby - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Little Coffee House

Yes, The Little Coffee House offers takeaway services.

The Little Coffee House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 5
  • Atmosphere: 5