We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sutton Wharf Cafebar

Is this your business?
Sutton Cheney Wharf Wharf Lane | Sutton Cheney, Sutton Cheney CV13 0AL, England
+44 1455 213838
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good38%
  • Average17%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (12 reviews)
“salad” (9 reviews)
“jacket potato” (4 reviews)
Closes in 20 min
10:00 - 16:00 Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sutton Cheney Wharf Wharf Lane | Sutton Cheney, Sutton Cheney CV13 0AL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Over the last year we have made several visits to the Sutton Wharf Cafe. It’s a really friendly place with a welcoming ambience. They welcome well behaved dogs and muddy boots. A fairly recent change in the menu has meant a more restricted choice during...More

Thank Andy and Kath M
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Disappointing!! We went for a breakfast this morning and could not be more disappointed. £1.50 worth of food for £8.50!!! The £8.50 full English breakfast consisted of 1 tiny sausage, 1 small piece of bacon, 1 hash brown, a table spoon of beans, 1 small...More

1  Thank missattitude9
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

First visit. Not disappointed. Very busy, but it was a Sunday morning. Parking is a problem. Had soup and bread. Delish, but a bit more soup wouldn't go amiss would it?.

Thank LucaMano
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve visited this place lots over the summer months and found it excellent. Great after a good dog walk and duck feeding. Love the fact they did treats for dogs too and sold duck food! On our last visit in January they were quite busy...More

Thank StoneleighBarbie
Sutton W, Owner at Sutton Wharf Cafebar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

I am disappointed that your experience on your last visit did not reach your expectations. I am shocked that you experienced 'rude serving staff''. Also that your order was incorrect. Its very difficult to trace which staff as I don't know when you came and...More

Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We’ve been here several times before but won’t be rushing back anytime soon after our experience last Saturday. Only one option from the children’s menu was available and when it arrived it was poor quality and over cooked. We ordered a couple of panini, distinct...More

Thank little_tigerlilly
Sutton W, Owner at Sutton Wharf Cafebar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

I too am disappointed that your experience didn't reach your expectations. On checking with our chef he said that the only 'Smaller Appetite' item not available was the chicken goujons. These are homemade and, as a reason and not an excuse, we had been very...More

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Visited this cafe for breakfast as we have done many times before following one of our regular Sunday morning walks with our grandson to be told they no longer did individual breakfast items only full breakfasts, not quite sure why??? not everyone wants a big...More

Thank Linda C
Sutton W, Owner at Sutton Wharf Cafebar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

I am disappointed that your experience did not reach your expectation on your last visit. Yes we used to sell breakfasts as individual items as you rightly said. However we had lots of unhappy people as to have individual items, a breakfast ordered that way...More

Reviewed 16 February 2018

Had a really lovely lunch here on Friday 16th February. We had jacket potatoes and soup, all delicious. Plenty of choice on the menu. The staff are a real asset to this café, all very pleasant and chatty which makes the experience so much better....More

1  Thank clive h
Sutton W, Owner at Sutton Wharf Cafebar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for your comments

Reviewed 4 February 2018

We've frequented here for years as it's dog, muddy boots and family friendly. We've always found it really homely and reasonably priced to give value for money. However, it has changed subtly over the years and we now find it has become over-priced, more restaurant-like...More

Thank natb512
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

We purchased 4 cups of very poor quality coffee and a piece of fruit cake for the excessive price of £16.75!!!! When we checked the menu we found the coffee was £3.60 each. We could have accepted the price if the coffee had been good...More

Thank Nicola H
Reviewed 4 January 2018

In the past have had some lovely food here but after visiting again this week I won't be going again. Very limited Xmas menu with many items on it not available. The Quiche was burnt and inedible, took it back and asked for a replacement,...More

1  Thank David S
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Sutton Cheney Hotels
Ambion Court Hotel
65 reviews
.99 miles away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
4,569 reviews
2.46 miles away
Premier Inn Leicester North West Hotel
436 reviews
3.08 miles away
Travellers Inn Mallory Park Hotel Leicester
135 reviews
3.44 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Hercules Revived
404 reviews
.75 miles away
Dog and Hedgehog
738 reviews
.96 miles away
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
211 reviews
.98 miles away
Hercules Revived
43 reviews
.86 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bosworth Battlefield Heritage Centre and Country Park
861 reviews
.63 miles away
Hawkwise Falconry
31 reviews
.78 miles away
St James' Church
11 reviews
.87 miles away
Richard Golding at Station Glass
19 reviews
.95 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Linda C
6 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from meigh | Reviewed this property |
yes
0
Votes
Richard M
23 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Susan M | Reviewed this property |
They do allow muddy boots and dogs!! We take our dog there.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 16:30
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
09:30 - 16:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sutton Cheney Wharf Wharf Lane | Sutton Cheney, Sutton Cheney CV13 0AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Sutton Cheney
  • Phone Number: +44 1455 213838
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing