We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rowley's

££ - £££European, British,
Church Street, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1RY, England
+44 1246 583880
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (29 reviews)
“steak” (34 reviews)
“sea bream” (8 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Street, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1RY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 575 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Came here last week for a family meal. Were made very welcome and the staff were excellent all round. The food was absolutely delicious, with the only slight let down being the chips, which weren’t great. Otherwise, it was all outstanding. Really recommend it (maybe...More

Thank Els2110
Reviewed yesterday

You enter into the bar area to a warm welcome and can sit in the bar where you can order your meal. The chef has the highest aspirations and the young staff are doing their best to be understanding, accommodating and communicative - they will...More

Thank Michael O
Reviewed 4 days ago

Delightful setting, excellent menu and friendly, professional service. We chose starters of smoked salmon with gooseberries and horseradish yogurt plus Jacobs Ladder Derbyshire beef with lamb rump for mains. Delicious and beautifully presented. Very good value even though we were too full to take advantage...More

Thank Sally S
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Have always been a fan of this place for food, excellent friendly service and good quality food. Have never had a bad experience hear but lately I do feel the food isn't a good like the homecut chips are not homemade, use to get the...More

Thank Sarahmoo1
Reviewed 6 days ago

Fantastic meal and could not fault service. A smoked salmon starter was superb. Unfortunately the sea-bass (stonebass) was not available and had been substituted with hake. I decided to go for the cod with a hazelnut topping. Excellent, but the truly scrumptious rump of lamb,...More

Thank Bill F
Reviewed 1 week ago

After eating here 2 months ago I wrote a review headed “Excellent food at a reasonable price but questions about service”. The management commented “… We are currently in training mode … lost some long term staff … I am sorry you were a little...More

Thank PercyVeerance
Reviewed 1 week ago

Liked the food very much, but it is really more of a local pub, and therefore very noisy inside. Slightly spoilt by the locals smoking literally just outside the door - meaning that smoke was filtering into the room making it very unpleasant for non-smokers....More

Thank Peter M
RowleysVillagePub, General Manager at Rowley's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Peter M, I am glad you see us as a local pub because that is exactly what we are. A local pub serving delicious food by passionate staff. We want our customers to enjoy themselves at Rowley's Village Pub, though not at the expense...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff are friendly and very attentive. I chose the chicken for main which was very tasty and the strawberry and white chocolate desert that I could of eaten again! Would highly recommend

Thank Leanne M
RowleysVillagePub, General Manager at Rowley's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Leanne M, Thanks for taking the time to review Rowley's. 5* that is what we like to see! All the best, Tom Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Each time I visit Rowleys the service is excellent! The menu is varied and the food is of the highest standard.Add to this extremely reasonable prices and classy surroundings Rowleys is a great place for that special meal! Highly Recommend

Thank MrStorer
RowleysVillagePub, General Manager at Rowley's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello MrStorer, Thank you for this brilliant review. It means an awful lot to our team when we get repeat customers enjoying themselves time after time. Hope we see you again soon, Tom Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came to Rowleys after a day on the Chatsworth estate wanting a good meal. We weren't disappointed. The starter of black pudding brioche with a fried duck egg was fantastic. My mains was lamb with new potatoes and fresh vegs. The lamb was the...More

Thank Dobdotcom
RowleysVillagePub, General Manager at Rowley's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Dobdotcom, I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to the area, especially so for a special occasion. Edensor is a beautiful village to stay in and we are only a two minute journey around the corner. Thank you for taking the time...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Baslow Hotels
Cavendish Hotel
780 reviews
.29 miles away
Fischer's Baslow Hall
477 reviews
.34 miles away
Hassop Hall Hotel
529 reviews
1.92 miles away
Bagshaw Hall
457 reviews
3.25 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Fischer's at Baslow Hall
626 reviews
.37 miles away
Charlie's Bistro
274 reviews
.09 miles away
Il Lupo
481 reviews
.33 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop
615 reviews
1.12 miles away
St Peter's Church
18 reviews
1.54 miles away
Monsal Trail
1,286 reviews
2.72 miles away
The Rutland Arms
7 reviews
.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
15kathryn15
8 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from RowleysVillagePub | Property representative |
Hi Folks, Yes we do have a carpark although as other TripAdvisor users have mentioned it is a little small. We have unfortunately no way to expand as we are surrounded on 3 sides by a Church and Graveyard. There is plenty... More
0
Votes
Kitty T
22 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Michael F | Reviewed this property |
Hi. If I was you I would ring them and tell them your needs, they are very accommodating and I am sure they will make every effort to meet your needs. It is worth it. Honest!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 18:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Street, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Baslow
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 583880
  • E-mail
Description
Rowley’s Restaurant and Bar sits on the edge of the beautiful Chatsworth Estate in the pretty village of Baslow. Our passion is fresh, seasonal food using local ingredients in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. The bar is a great place to meet up with friends, open from 10 am serving Fairtrade coffee. Call in at any time for a glass of wine, hand crafted beer from a local brewery, or join us for a light lunch or an informal dinner. Rowley’s boasts three contemporary dining areas, ideal for lunch, supper or dinner. We will look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing