We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sage Cafe Restaurant

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cnr Surf Parade & Queensland Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
+61 7 5538 9938
Website
Today
07:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,171: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Thank you so much to Alice for providing us with great food recommendations, giving us constant service with a smile and for even giving us tip on the best bits of the Gold Coast (we've just arrived here on holiday) - you really made our first day :) x

Helpful?
Thank Emily T
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Emily T, Thanks for joining us for breakfast and for your lovely compliments for a Alice. We hope we get to see you back at Sage during your holiday. Kind regards, Justine Clarke Marketing Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The worst ribs I've ever had. They lacked any sort of taste and the meat was stringy and tough. The salad is better bought in a packet from a 7-11. Will never return.

Helpful?
Thank Marty B
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Marty B We are very sorry to see you didn't enjoy your meals at Sage. It is very unusual for us to receive bad comments regarding the food quality; as you can see from the other reviewers comments, but we appreciate you letting us know your thoughts. Kind regards, Justine Clarke Marketing Manager More 

Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great service with a smile, food was awesome Veg out👍. Thanks Courtnie. If you're hungry. DO IT !!!!

Helpful?
Thank Greg p
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Greg p Thanks for your great comments! Come back and see us at Sage Cafe soon :) Kind regards, Justine Clarke Marketing Manager More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place for breakfast - good value $10 breakfast special. Service is friendly and efficient. Great relaxed ambiance.

Helpful?
Thank jax1601
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear jax1601, We are grateful for your wonderful review of our breakfast - see you back at Sage soon! Kind regards, Justine Clarke Marketing Manager More 

Green Point, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food and perfect service from Courtney. We were so impressed we have booked for dinner. Thank you for the great referral Courtney

Helpful?
Thank jollygoodhomeser2016
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear jollygoodhomeser2016, Yay! Twice in one day - we love it! We're happy to see Corrtnie took such good care of you :) Kind regards Justine Clarke Marketing Manager More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant with 25% off voucher from hotel. Asked as we were seated if we could use it. Come the bill and no discount. Told only applies at night but this is not mentioned on voucher and the discount menu is different and slightly more expensive. The food is mediocre pub fare but totally unimpressed with the restaurant's refusal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Vicki T, Thank you so much for your comments - we are so sorry you had a disappointing experience with us at Sage with some conflicting information and your feedback has highlighted some issues with our discounting system that we have taken immediate steps to rectify. Thank you again for giving us valuable feedback and the opportunity to improve... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant is quite ordinary. Meals are ok. They advertise $10 breakfast as all other cafes around. However when we've got the bill it was $18. And apparently it was all our fault. $8 wold not break my purse but I hate to be taken for a ride. Beware.

Helpful?
Thank Boris_K52
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Boris_K52, Thanks for your review - yes we do offer a $10 breakfast special, however apparently when you ordered you asked for the big breakfast (we understand now you meant the breakfast special, however the big breakfast is something else entirely and is listed on our breakfast a la carte menu for $18). Your review has highlighted to us... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Best Cafe 2016 award is astonishing. On a week's stay at Broadbeach tried Sage the first morning. Ordered the Breakfast Brushetta - eggs, avocado, tomato, onion etc. & coffee. Coffee was excellent & the 2 poached eggs were beautifully cooked but the few pieces of avocado were miniscule - almost non-existent. At $15.90 - sorry - that's a rip off.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Knightley2013
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Knightley 2013, Thank you for taking the time to review us - I will pass on your feedback regarding the size of the avocado portions to our chef. In terms of comparisons to other venues, we too have several salads we serve at lunch that are only $16.90 but the food costs on these salads are not the same... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing food with fantastic service by Ruby. It was a busy night and the food was still served in a timely manner. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone

Helpful?
Thank Ghassibe
JustineC1, General Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ghassibe, Thankyou for your compliments - we greatly appreciate the feedback! Kind regards, Justine Clarke Marketing Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very ordinary restaurant. Not enough staff. Manager used bad language to his staff. The food was below average. We had to ask for a drink every time and then wait forever to get it.

Helpful?
Thank Woodruf
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Woodruf, Thank you for your feedback regarding the service in the night you visited us st Sage recently. It's unfortunate but true, that very occasionally restaurants get caught out with staff calling in sick and service can then suffer. We apologise you were let down that evening but would love you to give us a second chance to make... More 

Travellers who viewed Sage Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Gold Coast, Queensland
 

Been to Sage Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$31
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Bar, Pizza, Seafood, Grill, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 00:00
Monday
07:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 00:00
Thursday
07:00 - 00:00
Friday
07:00 - 00:00
Saturday
07:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Surf Parade & Queensland Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Gold Coast  >  Broadbeach
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5538 9938
Description
WINNER – Australia’s Favourite Family Restaurant 2010, 2012WINNER – Best Café Restaurant 2009 & 2012STATE WINNER – Best Café Restaurant 2007WINNER – Best Licensed Restaurant 2005, 2006 & 2007Open from 7am till late, 7 days; Sage Café’s menus feature traditional favourites mixed with contemporary flavours and we specialize in high quality steaks and fresh seafood. Sage’s steaks are Meat Standards Australia certified and are 90 day aged and grass fed. With it’s northerly aspect, Sage Café Restaurant is one of the few venues that enjoys full sun all day, making it the perfect place to enjoy a leisurely breakfast or lunch and has a bustling pace enhanced by the action of the open kitchen.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sage Cafe Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Melbourne Australia
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sage Cafe Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?