We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horse and Farrier

££ - £££, British,
7 Bridge Street | Cowpasture Road, Otley, Leeds LS21 1BQ, England
+44 1943 468400
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (10 reviews)
“black pudding” (4 reviews)
“burger” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Bridge Street | Cowpasture Road, Otley, Leeds LS21 1BQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a walk here on a Friday evening with dogs and decided to try the food too. The beer is a very decent pint of Taylors Boltmaker - nothing finer! The atmosphere is really relaxed & friendly, didn't matter that we weren't a 'local' Food...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank carronk
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed over for just one night. Room 2 was well appointed with tea and coffee facilities, plenty of storage and small tv. The bathroom was modern with small corner shower. This room is located at the front of the Inn and the very busy road...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank smallluxuryitem
MarketTownTaverns, Marketing Coordinator at Horse and Farrier, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Hi there Jayne G Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay at the Horse & Farrier, however we would like to discuss this further and would be grateful if you could email me at feedback@hb.im with the date you...More

Reviewed 30 October 2018

We loved the staff, breakfast was always fresh, coffee was ready, and the meals were quite good. The pints and food were above average price in Otley, but It did keep the pub from filling with day drinkers etc. WE have spent a decent amount...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank airyhillstudio
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

The beer is very expensive but usually well worth it. Sometimes the service is poor due to a lack of staff. A new member of staff two weeks ago was too busy having a chat with a customer to bother serving.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jscoates
MarketTownTaverns, Marketing Coordinator at Horse and Farrier, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi there jscoates Thank you for contacting us, although I am disappointed to learn you did not receive the high standard of service we aim to achieve. With this in mind, I would be grateful if you could email me at feedback@hb.im with the date...More

Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We popped in for a quick drink after a walk. Having been happy with the food on our previous two visits. The pub is a little bit tired looking but often the staff are friendly even if they’re busy. On one occasion we had to...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank NicolaClaire2014
MarketTownTaverns, Marketing Coordinator at Horse and Farrier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hi NicolaClaire2014 Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Horse & Farrier. I am sorry to learn of your experience as we always look to do our best to make sure all our customers...More

Reviewed 25 September 2018

The pub was fairly quiet when we arrived but soon got packed out, we ordered straight away to avoid the rush but waited for ages for our food. I'd asked for my starter to be served as a main so i could eat with the...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PumpkinOnura
MarketTownTaverns, Marketing Coordinator at Horse and Farrier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi there PumpkinOnura Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for your poor experience as it is not inline with our usual standards. I'm sorry your request for your starter to...More

Reviewed 22 September 2018

We were visiting family and needed a room for two nights at fairly short notice. The room we were allocated was the family room, and as a couple we found it spacious clean and comfortable, with no noise disturbance. The attentive young staff had juggled...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 24123john
Reviewed 12 September 2018

My husband and I thought we would try Sunday lunch here last weekend based on all the good reviews on tripadvisor and the fact that we like the other pubs owned by the same group. We were both disappointed on entering, the pub looked tired...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Alison P
MarketTownTaverns, Marketing Team at Horse and Farrier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Hi Alison, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at The Horse & Farrier. Firstly I'd like to apologise about the confusion on food hours - this is something I will look into, could you please provide me with...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018

Needed a pub with food that offered a dog friendly venue - this fitted the bill. The food was good and beer excellent. Staff were very good though seemed to be short handed so a bit rushed. Food service was on the slow side -...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Philip W
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Came hear Saturday afternoon,my husband got a bolt maker beer ,and it was flat and cloudy ,on telling the lady behind the bar she just said it was condensation from being cold ,I’ve worked in this industry for 24 years and know what I’m talking...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JetsetLeeds
MarketTownTaverns, Marketing Coordinator at Horse and Farrier, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hi there JetsetLeeds Thank you for contacting us with your feedback, although I am sorry to hear of your experience. Here at The Horse & Farrier, we go to great efforts to ensure our beer quality is always maintained to a high quality and apart...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
2,066 reviews
1.27 miles away
Travelodge Leeds Bradford Airport
519 reviews
3.00 miles away
Premier Inn Leeds / Bradford Airport Hotel
1,066 reviews
3.13 miles away
Britannia Leeds Bradford Airport
1,246 reviews
3.26 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Salami & Co
117 reviews
.07 miles away
M'deena Moroccan Restaurant
368 reviews
.08 miles away
Nam Jai Thai
138 reviews
.06 miles away
Little Corner of the World
73 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wharfe Meadows Park Otley
108 reviews
.41 miles away
Otley Courthouse Arts Centre
34 reviews
.05 miles away
Kirkgate Arcade Shopping Centre
46 reviews
.10 miles away
Otley Parish Church
19 reviews
.19 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
yvetteday
24 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Andy10142 | Reviewed this property |
Public car park at rear of pub. Post a review of your stay so we can see if they have invested in a vacuum cleaner.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Bridge Street | Cowpasture Road, Otley, Leeds LS21 1BQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds  >  Otley
  • Phone Number: +44 1943 468400
Description
part of the Market Town Taverns group
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing