We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

We Three Loggerheads

££ - £££
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ruthin Road, Gwernymynydd, Mold CH7 5LH, Wales
+44 1352 810337
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 339: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The food was good with a good choice too. The staff are extremely polite and really are lovely youngsters but have obviously had no training, which is a shame. Serving hot food can be dangerous and must be served from behind people with warning, not across people, especially with a sizzling platter. Bottles of wine should be opened at the... More 

Thank Gilli910
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit overall Staff are told to serve hot food from behind and should always state the obvious with a sizzler i.e. That it's hot!but human nature means that new young staff are prone to forget. We will reiterate this to everyone We always open a bottle of wine at the bar but we will take this... More 

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

my partner and i visited we three loggerheads for an afternoon meal, we were seated at the only table for two near a draughty window and were then left for 15 minutes before we decided we should ask for a menu ourselves, we were not asked if we wanted to order any drinks while we were looking at the menu... More 

Thank 46albert
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Firstly any tables by our windows cannot be draughty as they are all completely sealed units that do not open and each window has a radiator below it so should not emirate cold! It seems better service could have been offered and maybe a little extra training for new staff. However I am surprised that you felt your food quality... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with family, after buying a groupon voucher. The pub itself is gorgeous, and the menu is fab. We were served by a dark haired boy, who was absolutely lovely. The only thing I would complain about is when the pub got busy the service was extremely slow (understandable) but no one apologised about this. Would definitely go again, but... More 

Thank Pookey321
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Sometimes we get caught out with staff as it is very difficult to predict how busy we are going to be. We take walk ins as well as pre booked tables and occasionally we under estimate how many covers we will do. Apologies should always be offered if we become busy and things slow down so I do apologise for... More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had arranged with friends to go here as we had another of those groupon vouchers. The place is like a tardis !!! you cannot see the restaurant from the road and it was a big surprise !! after taking our drinks order we browsed the menu...........ordered our food, it was hot and tasty.......everybody enjoyed their food and the beer... More 

Thank Steve B
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

It is a hidden gem! Glad you all had a pleasant meal and that you will return Spread the word about our little tardis! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to this pub with close friends after a walk up Moel Famau. We were tired and were celebrating my friend's 40th. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was tasty, hot and good. The only downside (and the reason not to give Excellent) was our very long wait for the food. It took about 45... More 

Thank Kelly-Ann D
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sorry we were a little slow on service but glad you enjoyed your food Surprised the kids meals were considered small as this is not usually the case. Pleased you took advantage of our kids eat free deal and hope to see you agIn soon More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

as a very large family looking for a family meal on boxing day we booked a table at lunch time and phoned through our order, only to try and add another two family members last minute, the staff were very helpful and added our extra guests. the table had extra little xmas touches, crackers etc which was nice, the food... More 

Thank karenbusby5
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Ah thank you so much for your lovely comments! My only regret is that we were unable to accommodate extra guests you asked for in addition to the extras we already added on, due to us being fully booked but we then had a pre booked table who didn't turn up and didn't even contact us! This meant your family... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We dined here for a late lunch on Friday and was really let down. We waited a good while for our starters. Nachos where the cheese had dried up and the smallest chicken wings. However food tastes nice! Mains seemed to take forever to arrive and when they did, chilly was fine, chicken and chorizo pasta was beautiful, however I... More 

Thank TheTyrrell-Parkes
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Sorry you felt let down after your visit to us. Service might have been a little slow but we as a small pub did 184 covers before 6 with reduced staff due to illness which happens this time of year unfortunately. We always serve 5 wings per portion but I do apologise if the cheese on the nachos was over... More 

Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called on a Saturday afternoon after being unable to get a table anywhere in nearby Mold. The restaurant was very busy but there were a few tables in the bar area which is brimming with traditional Welsh charm. There was plenty to choose from on the menu from sandwiches, baked potatoes and light bites to full mains. We opted... More 

Thank Laura L
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your food and that the wait wasn't too long even though we were busy. The bar is quaint and traditional but the vaulted restaurant is amazing Hope you book with us again to experience it for yourselves More 

Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nine from our family booked Christmas lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed the choices we had made. The meal started with canapes & Bucks Fizz, then our starters, followed by a lovely refreshing sorbet before our mains. Some had turkey others beef. All most enjoyable with excellent, friendly waitress service. Desserts were a delight. I went for the Christmas pudding which... More 

1 Thank bordoli
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Everyone worked hard to make sure that everyone had a great time. The kitchen staff and front of house put in 100% effort which paid off even down to our edible flower decoration! We are so pleased that you felt like welcome guests in our home as that's just what we like you to... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Christmas lunch. Delicious roast dinner, one of the nicest I've had in a long time. Service was good - attentive but unhurried, at a relaxed pace so we were able to chill out and enjoy lunch without feeling rushed at all. Very good value compared to other places at Christmas. Not our first visit, and we'll definitely be back again.

Thank Gareth H
Lynda W, Owner at We Three Loggerheads, responded to this review

We had a great Christmas Day and are pleased you did too! Mouth watering food going out of the kitchen and the boys did us proud! Look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future More 

Travellers who viewed We Three Loggerheads also viewed


Been to We Three Loggerheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
12:00 - 22:30
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ruthin Road, Gwernymynydd, Mold CH7 5LH, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Mold  >  Gwernymynydd
  • Phone Number: +44 1352 810337

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of We Three Loggerheads and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from We Three Loggerheads staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?