We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£2 - £20
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (107)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
67
18
9
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
67
18
9
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch burger quiche side salad cullen skink bread fish and chips chicken cake free parking lovely place well worth a visit home baking cafe cream coop pat
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 20 January 2024

Based on previous good visits, my friend and I came here after attending a Trade Show near Fochabers. Service was good, however, the Roots Burger was rancid smelling and tasted bitter and sharp, a good indication that the meat should not be eaten. I informed...the waitress who apologised I did remark that the burger was too gamey and definitely should not have been served. Imagine my surprise at being charged for something that could have damaged my health. Again the waitress said sorry the Chef Patron wanted to charge me as the use by date was okay, oh yeah! Hence this poor review, for the cost of a Burger the cafe's reputation is brought into question, how dumb is that. I am a good home cook and have been for fifty years, I think by now I recognise inedible food and this was. Well done Chef Patron I will be dissing your place for years to come.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J Mathers, Owner at Square Roots, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Hi, By the time the waitress went around to check of everything was alright, at least half of the burger appeared to have been eaten. Upon hearing your complaints about the burger tasting "sharp" and "gamey" it sounded like your issue was with our seasoning...More

Reviewed 6 January 2024

Very rude and shouty lady when we took a tiny chihuahua in to the shop. Advertised as dog friendly but this certainly isn’t . AvoidMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jemma Mathers, Owner at Square Roots, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Hi, I'm afraid we don't advertise ourselves as dog friendly although certain websites may incorrectly advertise this which we have no control over. Could you please provide a link to where you saw this so we can try and get this sorted out? We're sorry...More

Reviewed 14 November 2023

Don't get me wrong ,we absolutely love Square roots! Staff are lovely , especially the lady who seems to always be there. We almost always have the "Trainwreck" it was just the best toastie ever,we have brought friends in for brunch and on our recommendation...they have had them and loved them too.Sadly the menu is different now and our Trainwreck has been changed to a Ciabatta toastie instead It's filling of bacon ,cheese and caramelised onions is barely there at all ,it was lacking in any flavour at all.Please ,please bring back the old one we loved .Also the chocolate sprinkles on Cappuccinos have been replaced with bitter cocoa powder,it totally ruins the coffee. Can we just have things the way we were? Then we will return,or we will have to find somewhere else I guessMore

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2023

Not Dog Friendly although on Dog Friendly Google search. After searching on Dog Friendly site and seeing a dog sign outside we were told dogs not welcome.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2023

As soon as you walk in the door they are rude. The woman continually shouts instead of talking normally. I think there is something wrong with her or maybe she's just a common piece. So we left and got a very sarcastic "bye" Surprised they...have any customers.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2023

Went to this cafe because according to its website it offers "quality produce, freshly prepared and presented with care", and that it works "closely with local farmers and producers, creating a range of dishes inspired by traditional farmhouse cooking with an occasional twist." I was...hoping, then, for some nice breakfast options. Unfortunately, that was not to be. I tried to order avocado on toast, which was on the menu, but asked to add a couple of poached eggs, which I was told couldn't be done. I opted, then, for the vegetarian breakfast - which, when it arrived, featured tinned baked beans, frozen hash browns, and store bought veg sausages and white toast. Since the remaining items were fried mushrooms and a grilled tomato - neither of which, I would imagine, were grown locally - it's hard to fathom what was local or 'farmhouse' about this meal. It was, to me, completely tasteless. My son had the waffles with maple syrup, which were fine, but they were plain - they didn't come with any options, for e.g., like a fruit compote. This cafe also has, sadly, no ambience - we were regaled with a radio station blasting annoying chatter and the latest pop hits. Will be looking elsewhere for local breakfast options.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023 via mobile

Had a lovely lunchtime meal at square roots. The cullen stink and chicken crispy burger was excellent. Good service, friend staff, not long to wait all added to good experience. Will definitely be back soon. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2023

Firstly, there is free parking not 100 metres away. Next there was a friendly greeting. The place was really clean, with rustic dark wood tables of varying sizes. The atmosphere was happy and friendly, just like the staff. We started with soup. A mistake as...it was a main course portion. He naturally had Cullen Skink. Creamy, fishy potatoey- OOh. I had the special of the day, pea and ham. Gorgeous tasting, served with a big crunchy crouton in the middle. I have to remark on the bread, which really is my only negative. We got two half slices of white cut bread, and a little pat of very cold butter. Not my style really. For mains he went for dirty burger. A nice thick chilli burger with jalapeño, onion ring and salad stuff in a toasted bun. Served with a little basket of very moreish chips. I wanted to try something I'd not had before so went for buttermilk chicken on a waffle. We had homemade waffles at the hotel in Tombstone on our way to The OK Corral, and this one was nearly as good. The chicken was beautifully moist and the batter crispy and well seasoned. I ladled it with the maple syrup served with it- a mistake as it was too sweet for my taste, but hubby loved it. I wanted to stop at coffee, but him indoors approached the cake counter. Allways a mistake. He came back with two portions of millionaire's shorty. I tried hard but could only make it thru a third, but he finished mine as well. Lovely goey chocolatey fudgy biscuity calorie laden cake. Worth every inch on the hips! The coffee was maybe the best part of the meal, which is not a criticism of what we ate. The nicest coffee we have had, which includes those in US. And the price? with two bottles of fizzy water, less than £40More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2023 via mobile

Excellent selection of home cooked cakes and delicious milkshakes. Lovely atmosphere inside but my 13 year old thought there could be more decorations like plants to make it more 'rooty'.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2023

We had our first visit to Square Roots yesterday and were very impressed. Service by the receptionist/cashier/waitress Naomi was superb, friendly and very efficient, and she keeps the place spotless with table and floor cleaning after each customer group leaves. The food was excellent. My...wife, Pat, had 'small portion' fish and chips but still could not eat it all and the batter on the fish was the best we had found anywhere. I had the Square Roots burger, which is BIG, and the whole thing was top class with the burger freshly made, thick, really tasty and great consistency. We shared a sticky toffee pudding for afters, 1 portion with 2 spoons and it was both delicious and totally adequate for the 2 of us. Prices are very reasonable. We will definitely be going to this restaurant again and taking family members when they visit.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2023

The food was amazing. The presentation superb. The service was amazing and the ambience was just right. My family and I will definitely go back. Try out the chicken fillets - honestly just amazing.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2022

Had our lunch here recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lovely little place, staff very friendly and food excellent, huge portions, reasonable prices. Obviously very popular with locals so that is a good sign. Planning on going back next time we are in the area

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2022 via mobile

Excellent Quick Lunch. Visited in Aug, arrived just before it got really busy, the ladies behind the counter were friendly and welcoming, toasted sandwiches were delicious, service was speedy and efficient.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2022

Four of us enjoyed two sessions in the pleasant and friendly Square Roots cafe during a day in the pretty Highland town of Keith. We enjoyed the wide choice of teas and coffees in mid-morning and returned for excellent sandwiches at lunchtime, washed down by...Fentimans drinks. Well worth a visit to this location in an impressive square.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2022 via mobile

When I arrived at Square Roots it was very busy with only 2 tables free. Despite this all the staff were smiling, friendly and polite. The whole cafe was spotless and tables were cleared and cleaned as soon as they became free. I had 'King...of the Coop ' which was lovely and fresh. All in all a first class service.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Castle Hotel Huntly
396 reviews
8.35 miles away
Gordon Arms Hotel
148 reviews
8.67 miles away
Fife Arms Hotel - Aberchirder
11 reviews
8.77 miles away
The Craigellachie Hotel
968 reviews
9.53 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Boogie Woogie
247 reviews
.56 miles away
Bengal spice
78 reviews
.08 miles away
The Deli Shop
64 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Strathisla Distillery Home of Chivas
586 reviews
.59 miles away
Speyside Falconry
43 reviews
4.99 miles away
Huntly Castle
292 reviews
8.56 miles away
A2Z Taxis & Tours
16 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
27Scotland
20 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Shirley M | Reviewed this property |
They are open from 10am to 4pm every day
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SQUARE ROOTS, Keith - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Square Roots

Yes, Square Roots offers takeaway services.

Square Roots is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 2.5