We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clockhouse Restaurant

££ - £££British, Soups,
Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9ET, Scotland
+44 1807 580378
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (29 reviews)
“seafood chowder” (19 reviews)
“ham” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Soups, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9ET, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our dinner was amazing! Special mention must go to the Drunken Fungus (wild mushrooms, gnocchi, spinach - very rich, but so decadently delicious) and the seafood chowder (yum!!). My only regret was not making a note of the amazing wine we had. The staff are...More

Thank lizo572017
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Very friendly, lovely atmosphere both in the bar and restaurant. Excellent food, sticky toffee pudding to due for!

Thank Chisi76
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

The food was amazing and the staff was friendly. The special when we came was seafood chowder - beat I ever had (I even eaten it at Boston, USA)! I would recommend the restaurant. It was so good we came out of our way to...More

Thank Gavin T
Reviewed 27 October 2018

the restaurant was very unique, it looks like a homemade food. before you get the table you receive a menu that when you are waiting, you can choose what you want to eat. when we were visiting the restaurant there were only 1 table occupied...More

Thank ISRAEL B
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We were passing thro at just before 11am. We saw the inviting sign and the door opened. We were beckoned in. A lovely welcome awaited within. First we were taken aback seeing the way huge Whisky bottle ( 105.3 l) a talking point writ large....More

Thank Journey603115
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

On a family golf vacation we were driving north from St Andrews to Inverness. We stopped to eat and enjoyed The Clockhouse Restaurant a lot. The service was excellent and we had a very nice table and meal. We would return. Many others came in...More

Thank Pat R
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful meals, great service and people who go the extra mile a must visit type of place well done Irene and staff.

Thank Elaine K
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We visited with family, making a party of six adults. Service was friendly, food was delicious, beautifully cooked fish and meat dishes. Restaurant was reasonably full, but service was still swift. Good ambience.

Thank EnglandNorth
Reviewed 19 September 2018

A very nice find in a very cute town. Unexpectedly cozy, with an attractive atmosphere. Both food and service were excellent!

Thank rowporkchop
Reviewed 5 September 2018

There are four restaurants/pubs in Tomintoul and the Clockhouse was the best in our opinion. I had the Haggis balls to start which was well presented and tasty although I thought the portion was a bit mean. For the main meals I had the Salmon...More

1  Thank Graham_Anita
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Grant Arms Hotel
861 reviews
10.16 miles away
Strathspey Hotel
1 review
10.17 miles away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
366 reviews
10.18 miles away
Ben Mhor Hotel
156 reviews
10.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Glenavon Hotel
108 reviews
.06 miles away
The Coffee Still
10 reviews
.17 miles away
Gordon's Public House
45 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Whisky Castle
174 reviews
.03 miles away
Cairngorm Treks - Day Tours
58 reviews
.13 miles away
Glenlivet Mountain Bike Trails
57 reviews
2.37 miles away
Tomintoul Museum and Visitors Centre
20 reviews
.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AL11NDS
22 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from grianan2016 | Reviewed this property |
Can you please explain why I have been asked to answer this? I am not attached to the restaurant, I only posted a review because I had had an excellent meal there as a visitor to Tomintoul.
0
Votes
Jane L
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vancatwoman | Reviewed this property |
I completely agree with Ben D. this restaurant is best avoided.
0
Votes
Buffaling
21 February 2017|
Answer
Response from A9CEP | Property representative |
Hello, Thanks for your enquiry. The Clockhouse is only open from April to October. Sorry we can't serve you at this time. Kind regards The Clockhouse Team
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$45
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9ET, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Moray  >  Tomintoul
  • Phone Number: +44 1807 580378
  • E-mail
Description
A charming 19th Century Highland Inn, located in the highest village in the Scottish Highlands, at the heart of the Cairngorm National Park and the Malt Whisky Trail. The restaurant prides itself on serving the finest local, seasonal produce presented with elegance. We are a small 50 cover restaurant so booking is essential to avoid disappointment.We look forward to welcoming you for good food, good cheer and a very, very large Dram.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing