We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clockhouse Restaurant

Is this your business?
££ - £££British, Soups,
Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9ET, Scotland
+44 1807 580378
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (23 reviews)
“seafood chowder” (15 reviews)
“lemon tart” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Soups, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9ET, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Great atmosphere lovely local dishes and drinks. Seven of us had a lovely evening out at the Clock House. We ate here last year whilst on holiday in the area & enjoyed it so much we came back again this year

Thank tracey117te
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We had dinner here on a Saturday evening after hiking in and around Tomintoul. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place had a nice cozy feel. Unfortunately, the vegetarian options were very limited and all containing mushrooms. If you didn't like or...More

3  Thank Jenn G
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We arrived without a reservation and were greeted with a smile and treated very well. We enjoyed the Scottish specialty menu items, including the Haggis (our first try of this dish) and Black pudding... both excellent. Some reviewers are complaining about the Eastern European server......More

1  Thank Richard M
Reviewed 15 September 2017

The atmosphere was warm and cosy, the staff were very friendly, polite and prompt to serve despite being virtually full. We both had steak with a choice of sauce which was very good. The prices are what you'd expect for this quality of food. On...More

Thank Hazel B
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This really is a quirky little gem of a restaurant...cuddly toys in the window...Really? ...Largest bottle of Whiskey in the world plonked bang in the middle of the place just in case you forget where you are! Master of the house Dru McPherson is a...More

Thank nfjwood
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Two thousand lightyears from home. Having just landed and finding Earth's gravity very taxing. This was the first hostelry we entered. Adjusting to the exotic change of air, this was just what was needed for the intergalactic gourmet. To be highly recommended!

Thank Mary C
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Such a beautiful setting for a wonderful meal. Highly recommended. The restaurant has an old aura, as it was once the village store when the 18th century military road was the main highway. The food is sumptuous and not overly priced. Absolutely go there.

1  Thank David C
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I guess some dishes must be ok but the pork steak most definitely was not. The menu has not changed in the last three years. Don't ask for salad dressing unless you are perfectly happy with something close to mayonnaise.

2  Thank Susan S
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We went on Sat night with reservations . We were seated immediately and then waited, 10 mins - nothing . I flagged down the friendly Scottish girl who had seated us -who apologized and stated she was new and couldn't take orders. So I asked...More

Thank navigator153
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Stayed one night in Tomintoul and The Clockhouse was recommended. We were not disappointed. The Chowder was exceptional. In fact all the food was wonderful. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. Reasonably priced. Would definitely go back

Thank Sue S
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Tomintoul Hotels
The Balfour Manor
47 reviews
.04 miles away
Grant Arms Hotel
804 reviews
10.16 miles away
Strathspey Hotel
1 review
10.17 miles away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
340 reviews
10.18 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Glenavon Hotel
99 reviews
.06 miles away
The Coffee Still
10 reviews
.17 miles away
Gordon's Public House
45 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Whisky Castle
159 reviews
.09 miles away
Glenlivet Mountain Bike Trails
51 reviews
2.37 miles away
Cairngorm Treks - Day Tours
39 reviews
.13 miles away
Tomintoul Museum and Visitors Centre
13 reviews
.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane L
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vancatwoman | Reviewed this property |
I completely agree with Ben D. this restaurant is best avoided.
0
Votes
Buffaling
21 February 2017|
Answer
Response from A9CEP | Property representative |
Hello, Thanks for your enquiry. The Clockhouse is only open from April to October. Sorry we can't serve you at this time. Kind regards The Clockhouse Team
0
Votes
Catherine B
9 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from A9CEP | Property representative |
Hello, Absolutely no problem, just let us know when you book and we will be delighted to accommodate your requirements. Kind regards The Clockhouse
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$29 - US$39
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9ET, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Moray  >  Tomintoul
  • Phone Number: +44 1807 580378
Description
A charming 19th Century Highland Inn, located in the highest village in the Scottish Highlands, at the heart of the Cairngorm National Park and the Malt Whisky Trail. The restaurant prides itself on serving the finest local, seasonal produce presented with elegance. We are a small 50 cover restaurant so booking is essential to avoid disappointment.We look forward to welcoming you for good food, good cheer and a very, very large Dram.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;