We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Shepherd's Rest Inn

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lumbutts Road, Todmorden OL14 6JJ, England
+44 1706 813437
Today
12:00 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 17:00 - 21:00
Wed - Thu 12:00 - 14:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 258: English reviews
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Tried this place due to a recommendation & it didn't disappoint the first time. Pate to start was lovely, however my wife's prawn cocktail whilst ok, was served with brown bread, she hates brown bread. Main course for me was shepherds rest pie which was excellent, unlike the vegetables that were served with it. My wife enjoyed a fish dish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my family booked into the Shepherds for a Christmas treat and preordered from a Christmas set menu. There was a great selection to chose from and the food itself was delicious. There were 5 of us in total and we all left very satisfied, full and merry. The 4 courses were gorgeous and offered a good range of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was amazing, staff were very polite and friendly, excellent price for the quality of the food and service, would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took my family here for my mums birthday in December. The fish bouillabaisse was the stand out starter, closely followed by the Greek salad. The chilli prawns were tasty but not a patch on the fish bouillabaisse- I felt a little cheated watch Catherine enjoy this starter as I glumly ate my spicy prawns. Mains were excellent as usual. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Weathered83
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took our friend here in September 2016 before they left for home in Australia ....the restaurant was busy but we didn't wait too long for a table ....service was friendly and food was good ...great location with a fantastic view

Helpful?
Thank chrisyh2017
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We returned here after quite a long time. The menu choice is exceptional and very good value. The portion size is massive, so make sure your hungry. The meals were well cooked with great presentation. The standards of the service you get is also excellent. It won't be long before we are back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike769953
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Eight of us came for an enjoyable meal on Christmas Eve, however we left extremely disappointed and frustrated by the length of time we had to wait for our food. After giving it the benefit of the doubt following previous similar experiences, we will not be returning. We were booked in at 7.30pm yet we did not receive our starters... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lizlovesluxury
pernod01, Manager at The Shepherd's Rest Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam I would sincerely like to apologise for your experience on Christmas Eve and the long wait that your party had to endure. Unfortunately, it was one of those circumstances where things accumulated and by the time it got to your Christmas Booking we were inevitably unprepared. Whilst I do not like to make excuses, we had a staff... More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely Sunday dinner here,the food was excellent ,the building is lovely with good parking and great views, we would recommend this place to our friends and family,be prepared to wait a while for the food as it is all freshly made and worth the long wait

Helpful?
1 Thank clewsyc
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

it was a nice lunch and children play area was good good veggie selection good kids menu all in all it was a very nice time

Helpful?
1 Thank 393Barbara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

The service was very poor tonight, had to ask Simone to take my order and then still had to wait. The food was not as good as it has been in the past

Helpful?
4 Thank elizabe5h
pernod01, Front Office Manager at The Shepherd's Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review of the shepherds rest but unfortunately we don't have any staff by the name of simone!!! More 

Travellers who viewed The Shepherd's Rest Inn also viewed

Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Shepherd's Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$12
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lumbutts Road, Todmorden OL14 6JJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Todmorden
  • Phone Number: +44 1706 813437
Description
A traditional country inn, with real fires, dog friendly area, beautiful scenic views, traditional home cooked fresh food, lots of parking and real ales

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Shepherd's Rest Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?