We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheatsheaf

Handcross Road, Plummers Plain RH13 6NZ, England
+44 1444 400472
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good19%
  • Average9%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (6 reviews)
“banoffee pie” (3 reviews)
“fish and chips” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, International
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Handcross Road, Plummers Plain RH13 6NZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really well kept beer. I had the Hogs back TEA. Perfect condition. The hot sandwiches are a complete meal with side salad and chips. We couldn't finish ours. And only £7.35. Very friendly staff and lots of novelties in the pub to provide conversation points.

Thank F1roger
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

I had a wonderful Sunday afternoon in this country pub. The Sunday Lunch was fantastic and being served by the lovely Claire was the highlight of my week! Will be back again soon!

Thank Christopher M
Reviewed 3 November 2017

wonderful welcome in this lovely pub. Spotless toilets, smoking area, outside bar with children's play area. Great Venu for weddings and parties. Little stage area for bands. Would be a good idea to book if eating inside.

Thank 545leeessex
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Visited on a whim whilst driving through. This place is rammed in the Summer months due to a large family garden, but I'm pleased to say on an Autumn Saturday it was nice and quiet so we finally got to try. All of us were...More

Thank Ja5on5tephen5
JANETTE C, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad you had a lovely time with us on Saturday and you all really enjoyed your meals, look forward to you return.

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Right well it was my suggestion to try this pub as I drive past it almost daily and in the summer has the most beautiful front, I had always just wanted to enjoy the gardens with a drink on the summer but never got round...More

Thank Hannah F
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday as the weather was good and we heard it had a nice garden, which is true, it has a great garden for the kids to play, but we had to wait 1:30 hours for our food! The food wasn't that...More

Thank Mamen R
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Sunday was a very busy day where the waiting time for food varied between 20 minutes and 1.5 hours throughout the afternoon. Customers were made aware of the waiting time when placing their orders as we cook our food to...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Lovely garden for kids and lots of seating outside. A group of us stopped here for lunch on a Sunday after passing and it looked like a good pub. However, the food was awful and one of the worst pub meals we have had. I...More

Thank Olivia035
Management response:Responded 13 September 2017

Thank your for your review, although we are confused as you had eaten half of the lasagna before deciding it was cold. After receiving a completely new dish you decided you did not like our home made lasagna that is made on the premises.

Reviewed 23 August 2017

I too ignored the bad reviews after a friend visited on a Sunday recently without having booked and they moved tables around in the outside area for her to accommodate them. She said her meal was lovely. I thought we would give it a try....More

Thank J25
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that your friend recommended yourselves to our pub and that you ignored the bad reviews and enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us. Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 12 August 2017

We were so pleased we ignored the negative reviews as we found the pub so delightful and quirky. The large garden is well kept and has a good play area for the children.The patio area is surrounded with colourful shrubs and there is plenty of...More

Thank ChrisNorM
Management response:Responded 19 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and ignored the negative reviews.

Reviewed 3 August 2017

17 arrived having booked, hot food on cold plates when told staff "will tell chef", no effect hot pudding on cold plates. Have emailed twice no response. Generally portions small for price. Not sure if will return.More

3  Thank Paul W
Management response:Responded 6 August 2017

Sorry we believe you have written your review on the wrong Wheatsheaf, we have not had a booking for 17 for lunch and we have not received any emails from yourself. There are 3 establishments called The Wheatsheaf in the area. Please feel free to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Plummers Plain Hotels
Cisswood House
392 reviews
1.87 miles away
South Lodge Hotel
1,683 reviews
2.32 miles away
Roffey Park Institute
6 reviews
2.94 miles away
Cottesmore Golf and Country Club
201 reviews
3.02 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion
581 reviews
1.60 miles away
The Half Moon
316 reviews
1.63 miles away
The Jolly Tanners
108 reviews
2.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kissingate Brewery
9 reviews
1.10 miles away
Nymans Gardens and House
842 reviews
1.70 miles away
Mud Mania
44 reviews
1.75 miles away
High Beeches Garden
70 reviews
2.67 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wheatsheaf staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Handcross Road, Plummers Plain RH13 6NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Plummers Plain
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 400472
Description
A welcoming and friendly, family run business, located on the country outskirts of Horsham. Our pub offers all, from children's huge outdoor play area and football pitch, to a comfortable seating area under the pergola, where the outside bar will provide you with all your food and refreshment needs. Inside, our characteristic and quirky style is sure to make you feel at home, so sit back and relax next to the open fire in the winter months. Also, be sure to get a surprise hello from the unusual popular friend at the bar, our African grey parrot named Smirnoff. We cater for every day eating, to buffet events such as children's/adults birthday parties and christenings. Please call our restaurant for more information and bookings.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing