We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway House

££ - £££, British,
45 Otley Road, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7PY, England
+44 1274 584610
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (38 reviews)
“prawn salad” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
45 Otley Road, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7PY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went here for a Sunday roast it was really good. The food was so delicious, such high quality and they were also very generous portions. We were very impressed and will definitely be going back.More

Thank Catherine C
Halfway House B, Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Catherine, We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit on Sunday. We have only just recently relaunched our Sunday roasts so it's good to hear it's going down well. We appreciate the time you've taken to review us and let us...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The four of us visited today and had a fantastic meal. The service was excellent and the food was second to none! I had the chicken schnitzel and my wife had the pie; both of which were great. Well worth a visit! Thanks for a...More

1  Thank JonNixon
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We ate here tonight what a gem. I couldn't believe the gluten free menu which was very extensive. I chose fish chips and mushy peas, delicious but chips needed to be made crispy they were a little soggy. My husband had scampi good plate full....More

Thank Daphne B
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you for your review after dining with us this evening. Lovely to chat with you, I am pleased that you were able to choose a meal that you wanted from our new Gluten free menu,we have spent a lot of time developing new menus...More

Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

I'll keep it brief as the review is mainly about the service. We called in about a month ago mid week asked for soup of the day for my starter was told spicey tomato / pepper or something very close, soup arrived it was cream...More

2  Thank Meddlesomeone
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Visited for a lovely lunch on the terrace on a Sunday afternoon . The food was exceptional and it was very clearly cooked to order , none of the microwaveable 2 for one rubbish . Had the pate and scotch egg for starters , very...More

1  Thank MrsH2712
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Hello Thank you for your review. Sunday gone was such a busy day, I am pleased you enjoyed your food and drinks sitting on our Terrace. We are due to launch our new Sunday lunch menu called The Sunday Service on Bank Holiday weekend along...More

Reviewed 13 May 2018

Met family for meal who we had not seen for many years. Meal was ok nothing to write home about. Service was very slow and they did apologise for this.More

Thank Pantominer
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Many Thanks for your review We aim to provide good honest wholesome pub food, I apologise about the wait and pleased my team communicated this to you as from time to time we do need to put a wait on food due to demand. Kind...More

Reviewed 1 May 2018

We recently reviewed this bar / restaurant after a very welcome change in management. However now there has been a new menu introduced and having tried it several times it seems appropriate to review again . We were lucky enough to be invited to the...More

1  Thank ebo27
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Wow Thank you very much for your review and recognising the hard work and effort myself and the team have put into The Halfway House over the past 6 months. We look forward to you visiting again very soon. Kind Regards Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Have been eating here for lunch fairly often for years, we were very satisfied with the food in all that time. Today we were very disappointed to find the menu changed and not for the better. The portions were much smaller, there was less choice...More

1  Thank denise b
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Being regular visitors to the halfway, We were all looking forward to the new menu in which we were fortunate enough to do so today and WOW! Not only was it refreshing to see a new lease of life the new manager has brought to...More

1  Thank SLJerome
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Three of us went for dinner last Sunday. Lovely large dining room, not many people there. The food was good, the price was good, and the staff very friendly, but the service was so slow. How they would cope if it was full I do...More

Thank Simpsand
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience. I am not sure what time you dined but between 12 and 230 the restaurant was full which would of meant a natural delay as we do not just throw food...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Shipley Hotels
Ibis Bradford Shipley
967 reviews
1.22 miles away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1,189 reviews
1.26 miles away
The Highfield
123 reviews
1.44 miles away
Homeleigh Hotel
59 reviews
1.61 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Pickles Deli
93 reviews
.74 miles away
Mimmo's
64 reviews
.77 miles away
Baildon Fisheries
49 reviews
.67 miles away
Angel
35 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Denso Marston Nature Reserve
15 reviews
.92 miles away
The New Inn
5 reviews
.09 miles away
Saltaire Brewery
40 reviews
.80 miles away
Funopolis Play Centre
112 reviews
.94 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mjkkenny
29 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gordon I | Property representative |
Hi Mj Kenny our House wine is priced at £15.95 per bottle, if we can be of any further assistance please contact us on 01274 584610
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 45 Otley Road, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7PY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Bradford  >  Shipley
  • Phone Number: +44 1274 584610
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing