We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway House

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
The Halfway House & The Halfway function suite are currently closed, the business closed on 5.1.19 and transferred ownership on 6.1.19. The business is set to undergo major refurbishment work and will reopen Mid May 2018. For queries please contact Greene King.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
200
111
54
23
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
200
111
54
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger garlic bread sunday roast yorkshire pudding fries beef soup function suite the price fix menu wedding venue wedding reception light bite new management the pub family meal hollins hall two courses
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
What did you think of The Halfway House?
Click to rate
1 - 10 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2019

We found this place after a seven mile walk and boy were we glad we did! Very welcoming and happy to serve us with soft drinks. After looking at the menu we decided to eat and were asked which table we would like. The was...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Cardiff Jo M
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent experience, I do remember serving you at the time, we were running a reduced menu as we were closing the business on 6.1.19 but pleased our chefs could cater for your dietary needs. We have now...More

Reviewed 18 December 2018

The venue and staff were all excellent, looking after our needs from a 4 year old grandson to us older folk

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Bob M
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2019

Thank you for your review of The Halfway House, we look forward to welcoming you all again soon after refurbishment works finish later on in the year as the business is now closed to allow this. Kind Regards Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

We love coming to the halfway house the staff are so friendly and attentive,the food is excellent and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank shipleypaul
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Thank you for a fantastic review regarding your experiences here at The Halfway House, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Located 5 minutes away from Shipley, Bradford, the Halfway House is a fabulous family-friendly pub/restaurant, serving traditional fare at very affordable prices. Very pleasant atmosphere, welcoming log fire. Excellent staff. Booking recommended, especially at this time of the year. Lovely canal side location.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jackie M
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Thank you for your review of The Halfway House, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Brilliant place! Lovely food, lovely service and lovely decor! We enjoyed a pint of Saltaire Blonde by the fire post-meal too! We will definately come again!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sarah M
Halfway House B, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of The Halfway House! We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 7 December 2018 via mobile

We booked my mums 50th here on a Sunday after it been recommended. On arrival we all got our drinks at the bar whilst waiting for others to arrive then when all had arrived we got show to our table. As we were a big...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Nicole2701
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2018

Thank you for taking your time to review The Halfway House. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable experience, Our Sunday lunches are served with Roasted Root vegetables, Green cabbage & leeks along with Roast Potatoes, was it a case of you felt the...More

Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Came for our 33 year anniversary, the food was great and plentiful, the ambience was fantastic and all the staff were lovely and attentive? Would 100% recommend to anyone whether it be couples, families with kids of all ages or large groups & parties

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mobile27357476140
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Thank you for your review of The Halfway House. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspect of your dining experience, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Halfway House again soon. KInd Regards Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Four of us went for a lunchtime visit. The place had a good ambience. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. I had the fish cake £6.75 which suited my small appetite with tarragon hollandaise, green peas and broad...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Jacquie-chorley44
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Thank you for taking your time to review The Halfway House. I am pleased that you all enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many Thanks Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 4 November 2018

This is a very smart place with excellent staff. The food should have been good, unfortunately the chef had a VERY heavy hand with the salt which ruined the pie I had, should have sent it back. Three of us had pies and all said...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank june102015
Halfway House B, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Dear June I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with our latest batch of pies that have been made, after speaking with my kitchen team I can only apologise that the dish was not to your liking. Had you sent it back we...More

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We love this place usually but haven't managed to go for a few months. Went again recently and it was even better than normal. We will keep coming back.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank alexhV8765ZV
Halfway House B, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Thank you Alex for taking your time to write a review of The Halfway House, I hope you liked our new Autumn menu. We Look Forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Gordon Inglis General Manager

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Ibis Bradford Shipley
1,026 reviews
1.22 miles away
Hollins Hall Hotel & Country Club Leeds
1,277 reviews
1.26 miles away
The Highfield
132 reviews
1.44 miles away
Homeleigh Hotel
59 reviews
1.61 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 82 nearby restaurants
Pickles Deli
104 reviews
.74 miles away
Mimmo's
87 reviews
.77 miles away
Baildon Fisheries
62 reviews
.67 miles away
Angel
37 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 22 nearby attractions
Denso Marston Nature Reserve
16 reviews
.88 miles away
The New Inn
5 reviews
.09 miles away
Saltaire Brewery
50 reviews
.79 miles away
Funopolis Play Centre
125 reviews
.94 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dianne B
17 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Gordon I | Property representative |
Hello If coming from Halifax I would think you need to get a bus to Bradford Interchange, then the air port bus either from Bradford or changing at Shipley. We have a Baildon Train station nearby or Shipley which you can... More
0
Votes
mjkkenny
29 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gordon I | Property representative |
Hi Mj Kenny our House wine is priced at £15.95 per bottle, if we can be of any further assistance please contact us on 01274 584610
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing