We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
We are open from the 1st of April until the end of November. This emblematic restaurant, which dates back to 1959, returns to its original splendour, fully restored and adapted with modern technological innovations.
PRICE RANGE
£17 - £51
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Seafood, Barbecue, Spanish
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (455)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
94
21
8
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
94
21
8
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak paella duck pollo meat and fish wonderful meal lovely food ibiza pepe mains sangria euro
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited this area of Ibiza every year for 3 years with friends and we always visit this fabulous restaurant. The food is stunning, the service impeccable and the help for my wheelchair using friend is excellent. We shared 4 starters of Grilled prawns,...Fishermen’s mussels, squid and the best scallops we have eaten anywhere is the world. We had the fabulous meat and fish paella again because it is outstanding. Looking forward to seeing you again next April. Thank you xxMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was absolutely delicious, amazing! We recommend it to everyone who wants to eat here! Lovely waitress, we absolutely enjoyed the food. 👏👏❤️

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2023 via mobile

Very disappointing as a family of 8 we were looking forward to a break from all inclusive and after reading great reviews choose here. The setting was lovely and staff fine but the food for €270 inc one drink per person was poor. We had...one child’s pasta which was ok for a 7 year old, 1 garlic prawn starter with a side of chips for a 10 year old this was probably the best meal of the evening. 4 of us had seafood paella which had a minimal amount of fish and the rice lacked flavour the hotel all inclusive has been better at €35 a head an absolute waste of money the crab was just a decoration I’m sure as none of us had even a teaspoon worth of meat in it. 2 ordered a mixed grill and out came 2 fillet steaks which looked amazing (no idea if they were good) we then waited for their food which was chewy and greasy and not enjoyed at all. The sangria was nice but no fruit in it. Overall and absolute waste of money which is a shame as we were all looking forward to it. Service was good enough.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023 via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful giving recommendations on food and wine. Had garlic prawns and curry croquettes for starters - both were excellent but the star of the show was the wagu beef cooked on the hot stone. It was exceptional and so glad we...followed the waiter’s recommendation. Was a bit dubious reading some of the reviews but couldn’t fault the food or the service. Would definitely go back.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2023

Not one to leave a negative review but this is a joke of a steak house! Overpriced for awful raw food with one terrible waiter with bad attitude who should not be in the restaurant business! 3 steaks and 1 duck magret - all steaks...well done and duck should been medium. 2 steaks well came out well done while one was medium/raw and the duck was burnt on the outside but raw and dripping with blood. Garnish was 2 lettuce leaves handful of rice and side of ready salted crisp. Absolute joke for sides! Female waitress and manager was lovely but one male waiter was rude and despicable - would not listen, overtalked myself and family and was a **** in other words. Future recommendations I would advise visiting this steak houseMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2023 via mobile

The Steaks are amazing! I mean amazing! Came here despite reading a mixed bag of reviews but all in all an amazing place to eat at. The ambience was nice, the food was amazing but could have staff that were a little more attentive. I...suppose this can be a good or a bad thing. When we first arrived we couldn’t find a staff member in sight but after a while someone came out surprised to see us. (It was early, 7pm) for locals I guess that’s early. Sat down and waited a little longer than usual for drinks to come out. As it was early and we were the only ones there food came out quite quickly (Tbone steak & Lamb chops) My steak was a little under for medium Rare, but when I said this is was taken back given a few more minutes on the grill and it was perfect. Overall if your a steak lover, Meat eater or fancy cooking your own food on a rock? Then this is one of the best places to go to. Food 5* Drink 5* Restaurant 4* Staff 4*More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2022 via mobile

Greeted by a miserable looking waiter who told us the only tables available were inside even though outside was virtually empty and still a few empty when we left. As we were the only ones at the time dining inside, we felt a little ignored....When paying the bill, we had to go outside as the card machine wouldn't work indoors. Paella was very poor for a so called Spanish restaurant. The three that opted for the paella all left some on their plates and in the large paella dish. The vegetarian dish was just about average. I'm just glad that I chose the fillet steak. It was perfect. At least they had one satisfied customer out of the 6 of us. No gracias or adios when we were leaving the restaurant.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MIQUEL, Propietario at El Gallo Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2022
Google Translation

Hola Frankr07. Siento que su experiencia en nuestro restaurante no le haya resultado satisfactoria, aunque la verdad en este caso...More

Reviewed 7 August 2022

So dissatisfied with the service we received at this restaurant tonight. We were constantly up and down asking for the basics for our table. And when our orders finally did come they were flung at us. I asked the waitress if the restaurant had a...problem with us, because their bad treatment felt almost personal. Normally while we are paying our bill we would be offered a small drink on the house, but not on this occasion. Nobody bothered to say goodbye, or thank us for our custom We grew up going to this restaurant. We were never treated like this. Not like the old days with Pepe and Maria. Sad to say we won't be back.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MIQUEL, Propietario at El Gallo Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022
Google Translation

Hola Tara S. Intentamos dar la máxima calidad en el producto, en el servicio y sentimos un gran respeto por...More

Reviewed 6 August 2022 via mobile

We thought we try this after reading some good reviews and it was sadly a big disappointment. Our friends ordered paella which was below average and not severed at our table. My order they got wrong so I had mussels which again was like it...was sitting in sea water. Then they followed us out of the restaurant as they thought we hadn’t paid the bill, which we had. The staff where disjointed and it felt like they just all had a big row. Not going back.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MIQUEL, Propietario at El Gallo Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022
Google Translation

Siento mucho su visita nuestro restaurante no haya sido satisfactoria. No es lo habitual. Agradeceremos vuelva a visitarnos y estamos...More

Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

2 stars as some of the food was good and gave a hint of what it could be like however the atmosphere and service was like you'd just walked in on a family argument. We had to keep asking to be served for the basics...(15 minutes to be asked to get drinks on arrival) then paella served away from the table and not asked if you wanted more. Forgot about my wife's dish and then rapidly served her something different. Local radio station playing (adverts and all) just to add to the 'vibe'. I so wanted to enjoy this place and it looked great when we walked past but it was embarrassing and felt really unwelcoming. What a shame as it has all the potential but felt like they had just given up on the night we visitedMore

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2022 via mobile

better than our old favourite! Came here after a horrendous experience at a similar style restaurant that shall remain anonymous. I was recommended El Gallo Viejo and I wasn’t disappointed! They were so lovely! And the food was incredible! The service from the waiter with...the beautiful smile to melt hearts, earring and curly hair (maybe it was Roberto?) was amazing! Couldnt have been any better! Thank you! and I will see you very soon!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MIQUEL, Propietario at El Gallo Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022
Google Translation

Hola Kaya69. Nos alegra mucho que su experiencia en nuestro restaurante haya sido tan gratificante. Pues ahora que ya nos...More

Reviewed 13 June 2022

Lovely food, steaks are gorgous however we had a few issues. Mains came out before 2 of the starters, so the kids were finished the mains before the adults had finished starters. Then the waitress dropped our bottle of red wine over the table, and...my white dress. She was apologetic which was great, but I feel a discount should have been offered on that bottle as most was spilled, however we were charged in full and my favourite dress is ruined. Saying that I would return as the food was really lovelyMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MIQUEL, Propietario at El Gallo Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022
Google Translation

Hola Lucy. Sentimos los incidentes en el servicio. Decirle que normalmente los platos de los niños salen los primeros....quizás faltó...More

Reviewed 19 May 2022

Absolutely beautiful steak, reasonably priced and fantastic, attentive service. Relaxing atmosphere for our young family of 4. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MIQUEL, Propietario at El Gallo Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2022
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por vuestra amable opinión. Esperamos vuelvan a visitarnos.

Reviewed 7 May 2022 via mobile

After a week of visiting & enjoying a number of high-end Ibiza restaurants, El Viejo was by far the best - quality and choice of food, quality of service, ambience, staff - their combination is 5 star but without the 5 star euro bill. If...you are looking for local, authentic and quality, make the effort to get to El Viejo. Ask for Marco & he will look after you.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MIQUEL, Propietario at El Gallo Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2022
Google Translation

Nuestra filosofía es conseguir la máxima calidad tanto en el servicio como en la calidad en el plato a unos...More

Reviewed 2 May 2022 via mobile

Visiting with a disabled friend, the kindness and help offered was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and the premises are superbly disabled friendly. As a party of 5, we all had different starters and all were stunning. We enjoyed the sangria -declared the best...we had all ever tasted. For main, we shared a meat and fish paella that was also fabulous. A truly welcome wonderful evening. Thank you for a great experience and hopefully see you again next year xMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MIQUEL, Propietario at El Gallo Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2022
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por vuestro amable comentario de parte de todo el equipo. Nuestro empeño en hacer las cosas bien y...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Camelina Suites by Intercorp Hospitality Group
285 reviews
.04 miles away
Hotel Bahia Playa
131 reviews
.17 miles away
Ses Pitreras
156 reviews
.18 miles away
Occidental Ibiza
3,754 reviews
.22 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Magon
163 reviews
.18 miles away
Don Quijote
29 reviews
.05 miles away
Cafeteria Pirana
152 reviews
.71 miles away
Isla De Bes
5 reviews
.63 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Port Des Torrent
270 reviews
.09 miles away
Mirador Sa Talaia
11 reviews
.46 miles away
Sea Horse Scuba Diving Centre
283 reviews
.04 miles away
Take Off Ibiza
101 reviews
.59 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Newing22
6 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mike P | Reviewed this property |
We were literally staying a few hundred yards away -so if you are much further away I would be inclined to maybe ring them when you arrive on the island.
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

EL GALLO VIEJO, Sant Josep de Sa Talaia - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about El Gallo Viejo

Yes, El Gallo Viejo offers takeaway services.

El Gallo Viejo is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5